We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lawns

Certificate of Excellence
$$
International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Plot 34, Impala Avenue | Kololo, Kampala 70881, Uganda
256-414-250337
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Lawns blends the urban landscape with décor of country side...
The Lawns blends the urban landscape with décor of country side restaurant, with foods selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game meat - Impala, Kudu, Ostrich, Springbok, Crocodile, etc. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side!
read more
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 184 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 78
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great food, great ambience!

Went with girlfriends last night for happy hour and to celebrate a life achievement with friends. Ordered the crocodile tail in advanced. Service was attentive. Great space - quiet, tastefully decorative, beautiful green garden. Cocktails were great and good sized. Crocodile tail was fantastic... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 19, 2015
Christine A
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Went with girlfriends last night for happy hour and to celebrate a life achievement with friends. Ordered the crocodile tail in advanced. Service was attentive. Great space - quiet, tastefully decorative, beautiful green garden. Cocktails were great and good sized. Crocodile tail was fantastic. Tried several of the starters. The kudu cubes wrapped in bacon, bacon and cheese stuffed naan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive response. Next time, please do not forget to try Hunter's Sabre. It is one of the most popular dish on our Menu. Looking forward to receiving you soon. More 

Kampala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Had dinner here with my boyfriend and a friend. I used to hear good things about this place but I was disappointed. Our waiter did not seem to be very attentive. And it looks like he forgot to serve us and attended to another table. Our order took ages! Most of the things we wanted, we had to call in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind feedback. Your point well taken about the service staff not being attentive. Our sincere apologies for the same. In regards to non availability of Smoothie, we use imported Vanilla Yogurt to make our smoothie. We do not make locally made Yogurt or inhouse Yogurt. Unfortunately, our supplier had run out of stock of Vanilla Yogurt.... More 

Denton, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

As you have probably read, The Lawns specializes, or at least is known for, game meats. Yes, they do have, although not everything every night--that is the nature of serving game meat. The prices are a bit above average for nice dining in Kampala, but still not expensive by Western standards. We have had good service, good food, a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sao paolo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I liked this place but others seem to be giving it mixed reviews. Someone told me they know two people who caught malaria here! But don't let that put you off.... I had springbok for the first time ever here and it was delicious. The service was good, the weather pleasant, the company good. It's worth coming to - just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to receiving you again & again. More 

Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I really want to say only good things about this cozy place. In several ways it has the potential to be a favorite hang-out - they even have patience with our rowdy kids running around chasing rabbits on the lawns... but then there's the iconsistency of quality and service... It seems like every other time I go here everything is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and candid feedback. We admit of having extremely busy day when you visited us. However, that should not be an excuse for poor service or overcooked croc fillet. My sincere apologies for your poor experience. I wish to invite you once again (on the house) and hope to change your impression about Lawns. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

My husband suggested we went for lunch here on recommendations from his colleague. I was a bit disappointed as felt it didn't live up to the hype and amazing place/,meal I expected. Portions were small, several options not on the menu (even though we weren't even going for the game meat) and service was nothing special. It is expensive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am not sure which particular dish you ordered, and found portion size small. However, we specify very clearly in almost all the Menu item description - the quantity of meat that will be served. For eg., 12 oz, 8 oz, etc. in each menu item description. We deliver exactly same quantity of meat what... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Excellent variety of meats and superb fillet steak. Wonderful compound and lawns but not much view. Good service, efficient kitchen, not much by way of recommendation from staff to customer, e.g. how to have each game meat cooked. Would you eat crocodile rare? Don't do it - medium to well is best, or you'll be chewing for hours.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback, and have taken note of service staff not being able to guide you. More 

Entebbe, Uganda
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I was there for dinner once. It is a rather large 'african' style place. Reputations say it is a good meat place. I had steak and it was not special. Not bad, rather average. Decor is good quality but the restaurant is big and it is difficult to create a cosy atmosphere. The bar area is better, not so large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. Next time you visit our restaurant, please do try some of our game dishes - which are unique for Uganda, as we are the only restaurant in Uganda serving game meat. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The majority of people in our group were not able to order their first preference. No kudu or springbok apparently for more than 6 months. It made us wonder why they still appear on the menu. I ordered the crocodile in white wine sauce. Whilst it was tasty, it was more like white wine sauce "soup" with a few pieces... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response. In regards to limited availability of Game meat options, we are constrained by the fact that we import all our game meat from South Africa. Game meat hunting is seasonal, and at times there are restrictions on game meat exports from South Africa because of health concerns. As a result, at times we do run... More 

Kampala
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We were there for dinner. Not all drinks available, even the "simple" ones like Dry Martini! Food was nothing special, meat was dry, kept too long on the grill! Ordered some side dish, it arrived when we were "two bites away" from finishing our dinner. Just forgotten! When it finally arrived - it was burned! Staff did not have idea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and criticism. We take this positively, and gives an opportunity to weed out problems in our organization. Inspite of all our efforts and strict training program in place, at times a new server ends up serving a customer in absence of supervisor. In your case, the server was new and was still undergoing training.... More 

Travelers who viewed The Lawns also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Plot 34, Impala Avenue | Kololo, Kampala 70881, Uganda
  • Location: Africa  >  Uganda  >  Central Region  >  Kampala
  • Phone Number: 256-414-250337

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 20
  • Cuisine: International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Description

The Lawns blends the urban landscape with décor of country side restaurant, with foods selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game meat - Impala, Kudu, Ostrich, Springbok, Crocodile, etc. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side!
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lawns staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?