We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plot 34, Impala Avenue | Kololo, Kampala 70881, Uganda
256-414-250337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 196 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lawns blends the urban landscape with décor of country side restaurant, with foods selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game meat - Impala, Kudu, Ostrich, Springbok, Crocodile, etc. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side!
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    76
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

My husband suggested we went for lunch here on recommendations from his colleague. I was a bit disappointed as felt it didn't live up to the hype and amazing place/,meal I expected. Portions were small, several options not on the menu (even though we weren't even going for the game meat) and service was nothing special. It is expensive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am not sure which particular dish you ordered, and found portion size small. However, we specify very clearly in almost all the Menu item description - the quantity of meat that will be served. For eg., 12 oz, 8 oz, etc. in each menu item description. We deliver exactly same quantity of meat what... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Excellent variety of meats and superb fillet steak. Wonderful compound and lawns but not much view. Good service, efficient kitchen, not much by way of recommendation from staff to customer, e.g. how to have each game meat cooked. Would you eat crocodile rare? Don't do it - medium to well is best, or you'll be chewing for hours.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback, and have taken note of service staff not being able to guide you. More 

Entebbe, Uganda
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I was there for dinner once. It is a rather large 'african' style place. Reputations say it is a good meat place. I had steak and it was not special. Not bad, rather average. Decor is good quality but the restaurant is big and it is difficult to create a cosy atmosphere. The bar area is better, not so large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. Next time you visit our restaurant, please do try some of our game dishes - which are unique for Uganda, as we are the only restaurant in Uganda serving game meat. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The majority of people in our group were not able to order their first preference. No kudu or springbok apparently for more than 6 months. It made us wonder why they still appear on the menu. I ordered the crocodile in white wine sauce. Whilst it was tasty, it was more like white wine sauce "soup" with a few pieces... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response. In regards to limited availability of Game meat options, we are constrained by the fact that we import all our game meat from South Africa. Game meat hunting is seasonal, and at times there are restrictions on game meat exports from South Africa because of health concerns. As a result, at times we do run... More 

Kampala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We were there for dinner. Not all drinks available, even the "simple" ones like Dry Martini! Food was nothing special, meat was dry, kept too long on the grill! Ordered some side dish, it arrived when we were "two bites away" from finishing our dinner. Just forgotten! When it finally arrived - it was burned! Staff did not have idea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and criticism. We take this positively, and gives an opportunity to weed out problems in our organization. Inspite of all our efforts and strict training program in place, at times a new server ends up serving a customer in absence of supervisor. In your case, the server was new and was still undergoing training.... More 

Kampala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Bad food and terrible service. The food is typical of many restaurants in Kampala-- little value for the money. The service is slow and the staff is rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable feedback. Its our sincere endeavor to keep our Menu updated, recipes consistent & service excellent. While we have been successful in our efforts so far, we do not rule out one-off incident wherein we could not meetup your expectation. If you would be kind enough to give us specific feedback, like what you ordered and who... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Usually the lawns is excellent, but today we were really disappointed. The portions were way too small (more like appetisers than meals) & the mint sauce was runny. Worth giving them another chance as it's been really excellent before, but today we're going somewhere else as we're still hungry. Hope it's just a glitch, as it's a nice location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your valuable feedback. If I am not wrong, you had ordered Grilled Lamb Chops. We admit that we have problem with our lamb chop sizes from our supplier, and have taken up this issue very seriously. We assure you that such glitches will not be repeated with any of our customer. We wish to... More 

Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This is a very beautiful place with huge green areas! The exciting twist to this place is their wide range of game meat dishes. I would, however wish they could cook their meats a bit more à la commande and thus give you the opportunity to actually have the meat medium or medium-rare as opposed to just well-done... Service is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

We thank you for your valuable feedback. I am not sure which game meat dish you tried. However, there are some game meat dishes which is cooked in tandoor oven, where unfortunately meat will be cooked to medium to well-done. However, all other game dishes which is cooked on barbeque, we do give option to our customer to decide how... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Amazing choice of delicious meals and fabulous variety of meat! Tempted by the full tail of crocodile, but since it's marinated overnight and takes 2-3 hours of cooking I decided against it... But seriously, the atmosphere, the quality and variety of meat available and the staff are all amazing. Must visit place in Kampala!

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your positive response. Whole Crocodile tail is a delicacy - MUST TRY.. if you like Crocodile meat. In you next trip to Kampala, please do remember to give us order 2-3 hours in advance, and we assure you that you will be pleasantly delighted. See you soon. More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

After trying to go to a movie in Kampala which was cancelled we decided to make the most of being in the City for the evening from Entebbe and used our TripAdvisor APP to find restaurants near by .. The Lawns came up high on the list and was spot on. The service was wonderful - catering to all our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your positive feedback. Hope to see you more often. More 

Travelers who viewed The Lawns also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns

Address: Plot 34, Impala Avenue | Kololo, Kampala 70881, Uganda
Phone Number: 256-414-250337
Location: Africa  >  Uganda  >  Central Region  >  Kampala
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 6 - 20
Cuisine: International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lawns staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?