We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ox Yoke Inn

$$
American, German, Bakery, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
4420 220th Trail, Amana, IA 52203
+1 319-622-3441
Website
Today
9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: You hungry? Famous for American and German food served "Family Style...
You hungry? Famous for American and German food served "Family Style". Hearty and light portions including chicken, hand cut steaks, roast beef, sauerbraten, wiener schnitzel cutlets, Amana made brats, pork chops, catfish, sandwiches, salads, homemade soups and desserts...Including rhubarb custard with meringue topping, chocolate and coconut cream pies. Pies to Go. Children's and Carryout menus. Local, American and imported wines, beers, and cocktails. Serving daily Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Banquets and on Sundays a Four Entree Brunch Buffet. The Ox Yoke Inn is "An Amana Colonies Tradition Since 1940." It's main dining rooms were built in 1856, and is a National Historic Landmark. Five generations of the Leichsenring family have owned and operated the restaurant.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Large groups
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 241 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 87
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Rhubarb custard pie with meringue puts this rating to 4 star

The pie, specifically rhubarb custard with meringue, puts this rating to 4 star. Otherwise I would rate Ox Yoke Inn between average and good. The fried chicken was very delicious but read the menu carefully. We have never spent $17 for a 4 piece chicken and not have the chicken breast. The menu... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 19, 2015
Randy N
,
Iowa
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Went with family and very disappointed. Draft beer is good food is good. Service really bad. Had a large group (14) but we asked for 12. Some people arrived early and they would not seat them because our ENTIRE group was not here. They said it was due to the difference between 12 and 14? Really? They couldn't add 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The pie, specifically rhubarb custard with meringue, puts this rating to 4 star. Otherwise I would rate Ox Yoke Inn between average and good. The fried chicken was very delicious but read the menu carefully. We have never spent $17 for a 4 piece chicken and not have the chicken breast. The menu says additional charge for additional breast which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill L, Owner at Ox Yoke Inn, responded to this review

Hello Randy N. I want to apologize for not including a chicken breast with your family style chicken dinner. If you were told that,"we were out of chicken breasts" that could not be as we ALWAYS have chicken. We may not of had any prepared as we do prepare to order. Please respond with your mailing address to bill@oxyokeinn.com so... More 

Windsor Heights, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

1st I want to explain I have been eating here for years and wanted my kids to enjoy the same kind of I grew up on .... The food was god awful ... The gravy tasted like watered down out of the jar flavored corn starch ... Food was very bland at best .. I had hot roast beef ...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill L, Owner at Ox Yoke Inn, responded to this review

Hello Scot W. If the date of July 2014 that you visited is correct I am puzzled as to why the nine month delay in submitting your review. Regardless I do want to apologize. If you would please respond with specific information regarding the exact date and time that you were here it would be helpful to try to prevent... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

It was a lenten Friday and we had to have fish. The pollack was very good and the portion was generous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alliance, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This is a family style restaurant. Awesome selection of made-from-scratch items. Was very impressed by the dessert tray, and the service. No questions were left unanswered, and waitress made suggestions according to your taste. Superior quality authentic German food is the experience of a lifetime. Definitely a place to stop again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This is one of the better places to eat when in this area. The food is prepared almost perfectly and the choices are great. Nothing beats homestyle cooking and this is one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Top Contributor
902 reviews 902 reviews
506 restaurant reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Saying the food is "German" is a stretch. A nice enough place in Amana. Service was OK and so was the food. I would characterize the quality as "diner-ish".

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirksville, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We went here for Valentine's Day, and had steak and shrimp, with the traditional family style side dishes. Lots of delicious food, quiet atmosphere, in a historic building. Very reasonable prices, too. I have gone here before and have always had great experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Took my family to the Ox Yolk, for lunch. It wasn't very busy that day, so we were seated right away. The service was bad, at best. We ordered our meals family style, and were given cottage cheese, lettuce salad and bread to share. For or meals we ordered, two weiner schnitzel, and one catfish dinner. The catfish was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill L, Owner at Ox Yoke Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the unsatisfactory service and food. So that we may prevent this from happening again some specific information would be helpful. If you would take the time to respond with the following information: What month and day were you here? Your server's name as they wear name badges and it is printed on the upper left... More 

Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

My husband and I were here this past weekend during "Winterfest". We've been to Amana several times but usually not at the right time to stop and have a meal. We decided we were going to go hungry and make a point to stop at the restaurant. The decor is nothing to write home about. We were seated in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Ox Yoke Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4420 220th Trail, Amana, IA 52203
  • Location: United States  >  Iowa (IA)  >  Amana
  • Phone Number: +1 319-622-3441

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 23
  • Cuisine: American, German, Bakery, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine

Description

You hungry? Famous for American and German food served "Family Style". Hearty and light portions including chicken, hand cut steaks, roast beef, sauerbraten, wiener schnitzel cutlets, Amana made brats, pork chops, catfish, sandwiches, salads, homemade soups and desserts...Including rhubarb custard with meringue topping, chocolate and coconut cream pies. Pies to Go. Children's and Carryout menus. Local, American and imported wines, beers, and cocktails. Serving daily Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Banquets and on Sundays a Four Entree Brunch Buffet. The Ox Yoke Inn is "An Amana Colonies Tradition Since 1940." It's main dining rooms were built in 1856, and is a National Historic Landmark. Five generations of the Leichsenring family have owned and operated the restaurant.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:30 am
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ox Yoke Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?