We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boll Weevil

Certificate of Excellence
Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Ninth St, Augusta, GA 30901 (Reynolds Street)
(706) 722-7772
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our approach to dining is to provide a totally unique, high quality...
Our approach to dining is to provide a totally unique, high quality experience with fresh breads, home baked desserts, and great tasting, chef prepared dishes at casual dining prices.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 288 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 121
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Food is great, but the DESSERTS are AMAZING

The Boll Weevil is the place to go for a great casual meal followed by outstanding desserts (they are HUGE). I have never been disappointed at the Boll Weevil.

4 of 5 starsReviewed September 1, 2015
Mchumphries72
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Families with children
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

The Boll Weevil is the place to go for a great casual meal followed by outstanding desserts (they are HUGE). I have never been disappointed at the Boll Weevil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

I love this place for its cakes. But i really didnt care for the food. But definitely the cakes are great

Was this review helpful? Yes
BollWeevil30901, Owner at Boll Weevil, responded to this review

Hello James H, We are thrilled to hear that we are your go-to shop for cakes! However we are disappointed to hear that you do not care for the remaining dishes we offer. Would you be able to inform us as to the dishes you had sampled? As we are continuously striving to improve our business we would like to... More 

McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Cold beer is a good thing, but cold food isn't. We had both at this restaurant. The place was not crowded, but it took 45+ minutes to send out some salmon and a soup and salad dish. The Greek salad dressing tasted like water. The other food had decent flavor, not great, but decent and probably would have been ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BollWeevil30901, Owner at Boll Weevil, responded to this review

Hello Charlie M, It is devastating to hear that your recent experience with us was such a negative one. We do realize that it is imperative for the food to arrive to the table hot, if applicable, and it is unacceptable in our eyes that the dish did not arrive to your table as hot as it could have been.... More 

ann arbor, mi
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

My wife and I made a special trip to the Boll Weevil on our current trip to GA. The reviews said it was the best pie place in the area. If that is true, Augusta has fallen on really hard times. We were seated a table at which, literally, there was a dirty broom leaning against my wife's chair. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BollWeevil30901, Owner at Boll Weevil, responded to this review

Jermil, I would like to sincerely apologize about your visit. As a long standing downtown business it is upsetting to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that all of our reviews are from actual customers that visit us. We have been here for over 20 years and our customers and their feedback are very... More 

Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Love eating here. The salmon croquettes and grits are delicious, but nothing and I do mean nothing tops there strawberry cream 7 layer cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Found this little place at lunch time and what a treat! Diverse menu with a gourmet vibe but still down home friendly. Price was actually less than I would have expected for the quality of food and unique menu. Accessibility is not as good as might be needed for some with very limited mobility but there may be another entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

I go here with friends, family, and alone just for the desserts. It can be hard to get a table and it's sometimes cramped, but the pastries are worth the wait. Key lime, chocolate creme, pecan, you cannot go wrong here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville SC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Very slow, decent food, was served cold stale old coffee with our desert. It was not very busy, very slow service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BollWeevil30901, Owner at Boll Weevil, responded to this review

Hello Brad N, It is upsetting to hear that your recent experience was a negative one due to the level of service you received. All staff members have been trained to provide exceptional customer service but we do apologize if such service was not offered to you. Would you be able to provide us with the day and time you... More 

Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

Tried the Hummingbird cake this visit. Luscious mildly spiced cake with bits of pineapple throughout and mountains of cream cheese frosting. Have to be honest, scraped off a huge pile of the icing because it was too sweet for me with all that was served. Restaurant is in a historical building in the old part of town. Happy to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

My wife and I stopped by for desserts to top off a date night. This place is a nice find for Augusta. The peanut butter pie was very good and will fill you up! My wife had the tiramisu and it looked nothing like any tiramisu we had ever seen. My wife even had to ask if she had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Boll Weevil also viewed

 

Been to Boll Weevil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 10 Ninth St, Augusta, GA 30901
    (Reynolds Street)
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Augusta
  • Phone Number: (706) 722-7772

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Sandwiches, Delicatessen

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business

Description

Our approach to dining is to provide a totally unique, high quality experience with fresh breads, home baked desserts, and great tasting, chef prepared dishes at casual dining prices.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boll Weevil staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?