We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nona

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Cajun & Creole, French, Seafood, Sandwiches
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
279 E. Broad St, Athens, GA
+1 706-353-7065
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Mon - Wed 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thu - Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Continuing an Athens tradition in Creole and Cajun fine dining. What...
Continuing an Athens tradition in Creole and Cajun fine dining. What began in 1985 as Harry Bissett's New Orleans Cafe, lives on at NONA. Located across from the University Of Georgia's historic North Campus, is the most pleasant spot downtown for lunch or dinner. NONA features three distinct dining areas: the Bayou Room, the Atrium Balcony and the gorgeous upstairs Dining Room. Enter the restaurant through the warm and welcoming old style bar and sit in an atmosphere capturing a feel of Jazz and Mardi Gras. NONA offers dishes inspired by the rich culinary traditions of Louisiana. Delectable dishes prepared with only the finest of ingredients daily. Sample Oysters Rockefeller and Bienville, Shrimp and Grits or Sherry Crab Soup. Feast on delicious entrees such as the French Quarter Filet or Chicken Rochambeau. Chef William Shay and his accomplished staff offer daily specials that suit the most discriminating palate. Weekends are unique with our New Orleans inspired Brunch served Saturday and Sunday and are not to be missed. Be sure to check back often to learn of upcoming events and celebrations. We look forward to serving you!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 66 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Delightfully Different

Had a great date at this downtown eatery. The place is deceptively large, as a long corridor connects two distinct sections, a front area with the bar & high-top tables & flat-screen TVs; and the back with more formal seating traditional tables & chairs with tablecloths. Our server was very... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 2, 2015
Sonrisa1908
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Had a great date at this downtown eatery. The place is deceptively large, as a long corridor connects two distinct sections, a front area with the bar & high-top tables & flat-screen TVs; and the back with more formal seating traditional tables & chairs with tablecloths. Our server was very attentive and made helpful menu suggestions. The seafood gumbo was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your outstanding review! Feedback from first time guests is especially important to us as we’re thrilled to hear you found our Eggplant Pirogue just as delicious as we do. We look forward to seeing you more often! More 

Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I loved the last meal I had here, so ordered it again, beginning with the Happy Hour special of $1 oysters. Of the dozen, six were definitely "small," and three were so tiny they could have fit in a teaspoon with room to spare. When that happened at another restaurant a block away, they apologized and gave me two to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

My family, and I came here the other week to eat out. The food was great, but we did had an mix up with my order. I ordered a grilled fish plate but it came out fried. I ended up eating it anyways because the service was pretty slow, and after being there many hours I just wanted to hurry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Marian, We are sorry to hear that your experience at our restaurant was not up to par. We appreciate your feedback on the service as we are always looking for areas to improve upon. We apologize again for the mix-up, and we hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in the area. More 

Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

My experience was mixed in almost every category. The location is of course great. It is a bit disappointing that the outdoor area is so small. No more than 4 people can sit out there. Not much they can do about that though. Inside atmosphere is very nice. Has a NOLA feel to it, especially in the back room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Took a large group for dinner during a business meeting while in Athens. The service was excellent and food was even better. They were able to accommodate our group as if we were a table of 4. Will return again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Dear Unclejed13, Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We appreciate your business and you taking the time to write a great review for us. We hope to see you again soon! More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

While perusing downtown Athens on Labor Day, we decided to pop in to NONA for lunch. Our quick lunch ended up taking far too long. We waited and waited for our food for at least 45 minutes. I ordered the red beans and rice and my husband ordered a sandwich. Not sure what could have taken so long, but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Dear Deewestbrook, We are very sorry to hear about this poor experience that you have described. Normally our service is prompt and attentive. We are sorry that you were not informed of the portion size that you ordered during lunch. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and if you decide to give us another try we will do everything... More 

Eatonton, Georgia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

NONA is the same location and management of the former Harry Bissett's NOLA cuisine. An outstanding menu with great daily specials. Had a wonderful lunch with a cup of gumbo and half an oyster Po Boy for the bargain price of $10. GM, Neil Smith, was there when George Davis had Harry's and is very visible in the daily operation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NONA279, Manager at Nona, responded to this review

Dear Travelers31024, Thank you for the great review! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we hope we will see you again sometime soon. More 

Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We ate dinner here after moving our child into his dorm. The view from the top floor over the front of North Campus was great and the décor was nice. The creamy garlic dressing on the salads was great but my iceberg wedge should have been much colder instead of room temperature to put it in the 'excellent' zone. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Dear 2D1B, Thank you for your valuable input. We appreciate your business and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals overall. Stop back and see us again the next time you are visiting your son! Thanks for the review. More 

Atlanta USA
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nice building - super location - ask for upstairs if you want a quieter table. Oysters were good - so was the seafood medley - swift service. It does have a nice bar downstairs for casual gatherings - give it a try and I think you'll be pleased you did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Dear Expattraveler100, Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we hope we will see you again soon! More 

Canton, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This restaurant is outstanding the filet mignon was well seasoned, potatoes delicious, the French onion soup was out of this world and the service was phenomenal. You're missing out if you don't try this spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NONA279, Owner at Nona, responded to this review

Dear HThomas7, We are so pleased to hear that you loved the French Onion soup and the Filet Mignon! Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Travelers who viewed Nona also viewed

 

Been to Nona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 279 E. Broad St, Athens, GA
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Athens
  • Phone Number: +1 706-353-7065

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 25
  • Cuisine: Cajun & Creole, French, Seafood, Sandwiches

Description

Continuing an Athens tradition in Creole and Cajun fine dining. What began in 1985 as Harry Bissett's New Orleans Cafe, lives on at NONA. Located across from the University Of Georgia's historic North Campus, is the most pleasant spot downtown for lunch or dinner. NONA features three distinct dining areas: the Bayou Room, the Atrium Balcony and the gorgeous upstairs Dining Room. Enter the restaurant through the warm and welcoming old style bar and sit in an atmosphere capturing a feel of Jazz and Mardi Gras. NONA offers dishes inspired by the rich culinary traditions of Louisiana. Delectable dishes prepared with only the finest of ingredients daily. Sample Oysters Rockefeller and Bienville, Shrimp and Grits or Sherry Crab Soup. Feast on delicious entrees such as the French Quarter Filet or Chicken Rochambeau. Chef William Shay and his accomplished staff offer daily specials that suit the most discriminating palate. Weekends are unique with our New Orleans inspired Brunch served Saturday and Sunday and are not to be missed. Be sure to check back often to learn of upcoming events and celebrations. We look forward to serving you!
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nona staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?