We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belize City, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 54 Restaurants in Belize City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Description: Convenient location on the pier of the Belize cruise ship port. Downstairs offers great cocktails and light snacks, the upstairs is a full restaurant offering the best of Belizean cuisine. Conch, shrimp, fresh fish. Everything is made fresh daily. A great place to spend the day, to relax, or get up dance and party with us.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    79
    44
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

Resturant/bar sits right on the Bay where the cruise ships are tendered in. Excellent location right on the water with a excellent view. We didn't eat here just had drinks. People we talked to that did eat said it was good. Service however was slow! When we were ready to leave I had to chase our waitress down to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Very late review but went there a couple of years ago and it was had such a fun vibe!! Food and drinks were great. Nachos were delicious. Plan to go back this year!! Hope they erased my name on the wall....because I'm going with a new boyfriend:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 NEW

Worst margaritas ever. Limeade and some alcohol (not tequila). Lousy, over-priced food. Below average service. I hate to give this place even one star. Go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Well you must have been having a bad day. Our margaritas are made with either Suaza, Jose, or Fandango, with plenty into it. The happy hour margaritas, (2 for $8.00) are always only lime, since we sell so many of them we can not take the time to blend them. If you didnt like it all you had to do... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

This was our third cruise to Belize City and our third trip to The Wet Lizard. We went early so they were not crowded. We had nachos and a couple of other dishes. The food is always good when we are there. I bought a t-shirt and when I got home I realized it is too small. Usually a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Third time, great, thanks for always stopping in, Be sure to say hello next time, I love returning guests. you can email me at thewetlizard@hotmail.com and I'll be happy to get you a larger t-shirt. Hope we see you soon, and thanks again for taking the time to write a review, and see you again. Laura More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stopped at the Wet Lizard to have a drink while waiting to go back to our Cruise ship. The location was great. Right off the beach and right next to the port. The staff was slow to respond to us and took awhile to get drinks and our ticket. They were friendly, but had they been more attentive we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping in and I am sorry they didn't attend to you as they should. We are in the processes of reshuffling everything, I promise you, they will make sure you have an amazing time on your next visit. Laura More 

Washington
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Stopped for lunch after being tendered to Belize from Carnival Glory. Food was ok. Free wifi was what we were really after. The staff was pleasant, but it was typical island hard sell to get you to buy drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Hi Mike Thanks for stopping in, The wait staff (just like states restaurants) make their living off of tips, and they are working in a bar / restaurant. They of course are going to try to get you to eat and drink while sitting at the tables. If you are just there using the wifi, none of us make any... More 

Kirkland, Illinois
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We were recently in Belize on a cruise and we spent the day at the Wet Lizard. Our group of friends spent the day there as well. We went to the bar along the pier. It was super busy that day because there were 4 cruise ships in Belize that day but we still had a great time. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting a review. Glad you enjoyed the pier bar. Yes, when there are 4 ships in sure do get slammed, but that is a good thing, and makes for a fun festive environment. Glad you enjoyed the coconut shrimp, the fisherman we use has been bringing us some good sized ones, and the cooks are creating... More 

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

What a fun pier side watering hole so many things left behind by travelers .. From names to under ware plastered all over ,. What fun with ice cold belikin to start the journey of what Belize can be .. Always a good crowd... Lots of great people watching and if absinthe is on your shopping list this could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

What? you didn't try the absinthe? lol So happy you stopped in and had a great time. It is a good spot for people watching for sure. Especially if you are at the tables upstairs overlooking the board walk. Come on back and join us again, and have a great time exploring Belize. Laura More 

Kodak TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Out of all the places we have been in Caribbean this has got to be the worst EVER! We went here while on one of Carnival's cruise ships. The food was not eatable!!!!! It tasted awful, we sent it back, they brought more and it was just as bad if not worse. We did not eat it it was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food. We actually have been told our conch fritters and coconut shrimp are the best people have tasted around the Caribbean, and the salsa is amazing. . Sometimes the guests want things to be the same as they are used to and if it is different, they don't like it. I am the... More 

Sevierville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I wish we had our time and money back. This place first of all is recommended by Carnival Cruise lines, because they pay the $ to be on the shopping map...so we thought it would at least be decent. Big mistake! After an hour and a half, we got under cooked fried shrimp am mystery meat hamburgers. No one ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review

Sometimes when cooking the shrimp the batter is not cooked to dryness, it is still soft and tasty and the shrimp is never under cooked, only 2 minutes in the fryer and bang, it is done. Sorry you didn't appreciate one of most popular shrimp dishes. Also, unless you got the "godzilla" slider which as the menu states is a... More 

Travelers who viewed Wet Lizard also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Wet Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wet Lizard

Address: Belize City, Belize
Location: Central America  >  Belize  >  Belize District  >  Belize City
Average Prices: USD 10 - 15
Cuisine: American, Caribbean, Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wet Lizard and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Grand Rapids, Michigan
25 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wet Lizard staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?