We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ristorante Villa Portofino

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Italian, Seafood, Pasta
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
101 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
+1 310-510-2009
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 267 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 148
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great food

Excellent, plentiful food and good service, but can get quite noisy inside. Recommend reservations and an outside table if the weather is nice.

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
AKtravel53
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Excellent, plentiful food and good service, but can get quite noisy inside. Recommend reservations and an outside table if the weather is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Italian cuisine on the island. It wasn't bad, but it also wasn't anything special. Priced more like Olive Garden so manage your expectations accordingly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

The planning of my 40th Birthday to Avalon had taken months with the most important night being at Ristorante Villa Portofino. A table for twelve was booked months in advance, we then confirmed it, reconfirmed it many times ensuring that we had the "private section in the wine cellar". The owners/managers confirmed everything (private area) every times. Obviously I (we)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

On my most recent trip to Catalina Island I dined in style at the Restorante Villa Portofino. The food and service was outstanding. From appetizers to the main course to desserts everything was delicious. They also had a very large selection of wines and cocktails. Thank you for a great experience. My Italian Grandma Mazzola would be proud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We requested prior outside seating and they went out of their way to accommodate. Bartender Patrick was excellent, very personable and professional and he made our night with the great conversations! Food & service was excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Here's the good , raspberry martini is awesome ! The people are nice . But this is a review on a place to eat and the food was extremely disappointing , and I usually think my food is phenomenal after a martini ! I ordered the chicken parmigiana . There was no breading on the chicken . Tasted more like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jennifer A, Owner at Ristorante Villa Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Lena, It is personally frustrating for my entire staff and me when any customer has a less than positive experience in our establishment. I’m truly sorry that your experience didn’t meet your expectations however I am glad that you liked the Raspberry Martini and found the staff friendly and accommodating. As far as the chicken parm goes…we use the... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Our restaurant experience went from poor to terrible... We had a 7:45pm reservation, only to be told they were very busy upon arrival and were finally seated ~8pm in a back corner table where every other (nicer table) was empty. After waiting another 15 minutes, I had to go 'find the hostess' to ask if we were going to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jennifer A, Owner at Ristorante Villa Portofino, responded to this review

I have no idea the date this reviewer was in the restaurant, I don’t know who served them, what they ordered or if they voiced their dissatisfaction to a manager while they were there because they never mentioned any of those important details in the review. I have no way to corroborate the turn of events with my staff or... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Great food and nice wine list. We had our 22nd wedding anniversary dinner there and it was truly a special event!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Seafood with pasta is my favorite Italian dish. However, the one on the menu was described with a white sauce. I asked the waiter if it would be possible to substitute a spicy red tomato sauce, and he was happy to take the request. When it arrived, it was spicy with fresh tomatoes, but it was still a white sauce.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malibu, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Catalina Island and the Ristorante Villa Portofino is always a must for a great meal. On our last visit, the week before July 4th, we were seated on the patio enjoying the Scallops over Risotto and sitting at the table next to us was non other than Jack Johnson having dinner with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Portofino also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Ristorante Villa Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 101 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Catalina Island  >  Avalon
  • Phone Number: +1 310-510-2009

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 35
  • Cuisine: Italian, Seafood, Pasta

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ristorante Villa Portofino staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?