We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mr. Smith's of Georgetown

$$
Georgetown
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3205 K Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Mr. Smith of Georgetown)
+1 202-333-3104
Website
Today
11:30 am - 3:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Fri 11:30 am - 3:00 am
Sat 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, the friendliest saloon in town...
Welcome to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, the friendliest saloon in town! Located in the heart of the historic district, our restaurant, lounge and piano bar has been serving up only the best since 1965. As you enter you will see an Antique Bar with several patrons being served and entertained by one of our friendly bartenders. Also, check out the Sing-a-Long Piano Bar with live shows four nights a week. We offer a daily Happy Hour from 4 to 7 pm, seven days a week. We also offer a full menu of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood entrees, as well as weekend brunch & Bottomless Champagne every Saturday & Sunday. Our homemade food at reasonable prices, served in a casual atmosphere with excellent service, has made us a favorite for 50 years. Visit our website for a schedule of events and specials, then come by Mr. Smith's of Georgetown today!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 105 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average pub food

We arrived as a group of four after kayaking. The beer special was good. We all ordered the burger special. They tasted okay, but not exceptional considering the price. Not awful, but not a recommendation.

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
JackandResh
,
Pasadena, California
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Bar scene
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

We arrived as a group of four after kayaking. The beer special was good. We all ordered the burger special. They tasted okay, but not exceptional considering the price. Not awful, but not a recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldens Bridge, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Mr. Smith's moved from M St. around the corner by the harbor. I'm a long time fan and the desserts are delicious. Service is prompt, price are fair and service if friendly. The ambiance is casual and comfortable. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Metz, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Good place during my trip in Washington near the potomac river. Good food and the staff is very pleasant. I recommand this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We were a large group looking to find a place to grab a few beers and kill some time. The bar was nice looking and the downstairs was kind of full, so they let us go upstairs. The upstairs bartender was just rude! I guess her shift didn't start till later but you would think they would love the business.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan A, Owner at Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, responded to this review

Barley, I'm sorry you had a bad experience when you came to our place last month. I'm surprised to hear that our upstair bartender was rude. She's always in a good mood and very friendly. As you mentioned in your review, 7 pm is the time the bartender gets in and starts setting up the bar, so I'm guessing she... More 

Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

This restaurant was Chadwick's and had been recommended to us as a good place to have crab cakes. We ordered crab cakes, were told they were out and then came back in a couple minutes and said they did have some. They arrived undercooked, too much "filler"...they took them back and cooked them more but they still "fell apart"...too much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan A, Owner at Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, responded to this review

Elaine, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with us. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal considering the crab cakes are still one of our most popular menu items. We will take your suggestions into consideration so we can improve our menu. If you change your mind, we'd love to have you back and give us another try. Respecfully,... More 

Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Two of us stopped here after a 14 mile bike ride on the C&O Canal towpath. This location used to be Chadwick's which was a frequent stop after similar rides; it was always a reliable, if not spectacular, choice. Sadly, the place is now dreadful. Since being taken over it has a kind of tired appearance; it is obvious that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan A, Owner at Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, responded to this review

Bob, I appreciate your review. We take everyone's concerns seriously. We recently took over this location, and we've been working hard to improve its appearance. It may not look like it, but most of the regulars from the old restaurant have noticed the change, especially the cleanliness, and have praised us for it. As our business improves, we'll definitely add... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Just returned from having lunch at Mr Smiths now located on K St and Wisconsin( former Chadwick's).We happen to be just walking by so we decided to stop in and check it out. We already have dinner reservations so we didn't want to eat so much.We decided we would split a bowl of the onion soup and we both had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan A, Owner at Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Bornabrit, Thanks for your comments about your last visit. We certainly take all comments seriously, and we strive to improve our menu offerings. Please make sure you ask for me or any of our managers on your next visit, and we'd love to treat you and your husband to a glass of wine or a cocktail when you order... More 

North Potomac, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 via mobile

Went to visit Mr Smith's for lunch on a whim. I was expecting that it would still be located on M Street with an outdoor patio to eat at. It has moved. We ordered Angus burgers as well as a veggie burger. The burgers were not cooked as ordered but were very good otherwise. The staff was prompt, attentive bringing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan A, Owner at Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, responded to this review

Ed, Thanks for your comments about our service and quality of your meal. We take your imput very seriously. I'll ask our chef about the Garden Burger, and we'll make any necessary changes. Next time you stop by Mr. Smith's, I'd love to treat you to a new and improved Garden Burger. Thanks again for your comments. Mr. Smith's owner More 

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

First time at the new location Business, family combined. Was very expensive and geared more to the college crowd. They would not honor coupons from internet. Atmosphere was nice but cost kept us from staying for the piano bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Attended a rehearsal dinner buffet here last week. Lovely place and really friendly attentive staff, food was a buffet but we'll done and good choice of beers. Pianist appeared later in the evening in the downstairs bar which was nice and lively.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Mr. Smith's of Georgetown also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3205 K Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Mr. Smith of Georgetown)
  • Location: United States  >  District of Columbia (DC)  >  Washington DC>  > Georgetown
  • Neighborhood: Georgetown
  • Phone Number: +1 202-333-3104

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Bar scene

Description

Welcome to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, the friendliest saloon in town! Located in the heart of the historic district, our restaurant, lounge and piano bar has been serving up only the best since 1965. As you enter you will see an Antique Bar with several patrons being served and entertained by one of our friendly bartenders. Also, check out the Sing-a-Long Piano Bar with live shows four nights a week. We offer a daily Happy Hour from 4 to 7 pm, seven days a week. We also offer a full menu of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood entrees, as well as weekend brunch & Bottomless Champagne every Saturday & Sunday. Our homemade food at reasonable prices, served in a casual atmosphere with excellent service, has made us a favorite for 50 years. Visit our website for a schedule of events and specials, then come by Mr. Smith's of Georgetown today!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Monday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 3:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mr. Smith's of Georgetown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?