We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zentan

1155 14th St NW, Donovan House, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 379 4366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 2,626 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: Thoms Circle
Transit: McPherson Square/Farragut North
Description: Zentan is your DC destination for Modern Pan Asian Cuisine. Our ambiance is perfect for social events, dates, meetings and celebrations and is rivaled only by our chef inspired, seasonal cuisine and handcrafted cocktails. Our sushi is sustainable, flown in fresh and crafted into cold plates and maki’s you won’t find anywhere else. Iffy about raw food? Not a problem! Our extensive selection of Modern Pan Asian cold and hot plates are sure to satisfy any pallet. Each dish is served from the kitchen as soon as it’s prepared; just think Asian Tapas! Here are a few dishes to whet your appetite: Myazaki Beef Hot Rock (cook it yourself, japanese river rock) Peking Chicken (bao buns, black garlic hoisin, cucumber) Maguro Crudo (goat cheese, fuji apples, pumpkin seed oil) Shagalicious (crab salad, cucumber, miazaki beef, tempura ebi, crispy leek)
Reserve with OpenTable
Zentan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    104
    75
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

I eat here quite a bit, because of convenience, but have a few small issues - - breakfast is a rip off. The buffet isn't great and not worth the $19. They charged my kid $10 for the buffet for his box of raisin bran and a croissant.....cheaper than just ordering off menu. Coffee is average, but not worth $5/cup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

It is unfortunate to hear that you did not see the value in your breakfast experience. In the future if you have issues with your bill please ask to speak with the AM Supervisor. Thank you for your kind words we will be sure to recognize Chris and Aaron for their excellent customer service. Looking forward to seeing you soon! More

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Interesting menu, excellent flavors. Happy hour was very good. Would definitely go back for full dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Came here late night, around 10 PM. Waited about 10 minutes for a bartender to come over with menu (we were seated in front of the bar, wasn't that crowded) and then had to flag them down again to take our order before the kitchen closed about 15 minutes later. Was there a full 30 minutes before we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is the 1st thing you notice. The ambience, lighting, and music definitely put you in a relaxed mood. The waitress was the nicest and most helpful as she pointed out he chef's favorite dishes. Our group of 9 tried 10 different plates. None of them disappointed at all. Everything was outstanding. The ceviche was to die for as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

It sounds like we really knocked it out of the park with your experience! Thank you for the awesome words from atmosphere to maki! I look forward to sharing your comments with the team! Hope to see you on your next trip! More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We liked the upbeat atmosphere. Te Japanese Maki was very good, and it is a little different from the ordinary Japanese food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Chef Nguyen and her team strive to produce the most inventive and tasty dishes for Zentan, and we love to hear when guests have a fantastic evening thanks to our food! Thanks for the kind words! Look into our exclusive Omakase dining by calling 202.379.4366 for an even elevated unique dining experience. More

California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

There is great care put into this menu. It is what I would call Asian Fusion with an emphasis on Japanese and sushi. Great care is put into the dishes. If you are a traveler looking to try something new, then this is the place. My 11 year old son, however, could not find his usual favorites and had difficulty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We work tirelessly to provide attentive and specialized service, and I am thrilled to hear you got just that! Hope to see you and your loved one in again on your next trip into the city! More

North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We love Zentan !! Our second visit, we looked forward to their specialty maki rolls. We weren't disappointed The firecracker and the fire dragon were both unique and delicious. Combinations you can't find anywhere else. Spicy tuna to fresh eel to the sauces, each has you wanting more. Appetizers were fun and delicious. The edamame was lightly salted and steamed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Happy to hear your sushi and service at Zentan both succeeded your expectations! Thank you for the very kind words we look forward to having you in the future! More

Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

When you've had a busy day of meetings and walking back and forth to hotel- and have to prepare for the next day's meetings after dinner-- you want a meal, not a 2-bite "small plate" or a series of them. Here, you have to keep ordering (and waiting) until you have created a meal. If you're just socializing and out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you are "'over" the small plate trend. Please keep us in mind for your next social group get together! More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had lunch here and found the food very good. The food was delicious and the portions ample. A friend of mine and I split a calamari entree and the Firecracker bento box. For 2 women with average appetites, this was more than enough food. Servers were attentive and helpful. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your service and your bento box with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! More

Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our expectations were low before the dinner. I can not say much about the restaurant, welcoming staff and the service but the food; sushi, sashmi and asian/japanese dishes, was very very good, indeed. This closed the gap with the not-so-good parts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

We are very grateful for the wonderful words you said about our food. I will be sharing your review with the team. Thank you for your honesty and with your helpful comments we are able to improve. We hope to see you again soon! More

Travelers who viewed Zentan also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC

Been to Zentan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zentan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing