We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zentan

1155 14th St NW, Donovan House, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 379 4366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 2,644 Restaurants in Washington DC
Reserve with OpenTable
Zentan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Hours:
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: Thoms Circle
Transit: McPherson Square/Farragut North
Description: Zentan is your DC destination for Modern Pan Asian Cuisine. Our ambiance is perfect for social events, dates, meetings and celebrations and is rivaled only by our chef inspired, seasonal cuisine and handcrafted cocktails. Our sushi is sustainable, flown in fresh and crafted into cold plates and maki’s you won’t find anywhere else. Iffy about raw food? Not a problem! Our extensive selection of Modern Pan Asian cold and hot plates are sure to satisfy any pallet. Each dish is served from the kitchen as soon as it’s prepared; just think Asian Tapas! Here are a few dishes to whet your appetite: Myazaki Beef Hot Rock (cook it yourself, japanese river rock) Peking Chicken (bao buns, black garlic hoisin, cucumber) Maguro Crudo (goat cheese, fuji apples, pumpkin seed oil) Shagalicious (crab salad, cucumber, miazaki beef, tempura ebi, crispy leek)
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    106
    78
    34
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Colony
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

Small bite restaurant, very good food, 14 year old - mac and cheese girl at and like the beef tongue and the beef cheek. She jokes she liked the pink chicken too... It was the skin that was pink not the meat. The bar here is very nice. quiet compared to the rooftop deck bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Love to hear you and your daughter were adventurous eaters while at Zentan! Thank you for all the kind words! More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Went there with some friends and had some sake and food. They have a menu like a tapas restaurant. I considered this place an asian tapa restaurant where you order small dishes that you can share amongst friends. They have a large selection of sake as well. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

We are very grateful for your kind words about our food and beverage selection. Hope to see you again soon! Be sure to check out our facebook page for menu updates! More

Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I can't wait to eat here again. It was amazing food. The service was great, too. The price was very affordable for the quality of food. I recommend the pasta and the tacos. Amazing!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Manager at Zentan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks! They will certainly be shared with our staff. More

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I honestly cannot say too much, as I only had a salad at the bar when I was staying at the attached hotel. However the menu choices were very appealing and lots of Sake options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Manager at Zentan, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and that the menu enticed you! We hope to see you back again soon! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The waiter knew when we arrived that we were on a limited lunch schedule and heaved slower than a slug. He had no urgency and ruined restaurant week for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Manager at Zentan, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that! We understand that many people during lunch are on a tight schedule and we try to accommodate as best we can. We hope that you come back and give us another chance to impress you! More

Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to Zentan because it was walking distance from my hotel. My first impression was that it is a good looking restaurant. We were seated right away and the staff is very pleasant. But this is when it becomes "just okay" I wasn't crazy for the food and the small plates. The service was good and the drinks were great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Manager at Zentan, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our ambience and that our staff was polite and accommodating! We're sorry to hear you didn't love your meal but hope you'll come back and see us again! More

Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went after work for a going away meal. Tried quite a few different rolls. Was tickled that the names were after James Bond. Try the 007 and Goldeneye. The butter cod was a surprise for me. Great service as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! Hope to see you in the future for sushi and sake! More

NC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I eat here quite a bit, because of convenience, but have a few small issues - - breakfast is a rip off. The buffet isn't great and not worth the $19. They charged my kid $10 for the buffet for his box of raisin bran and a croissant.....cheaper than just ordering off menu. Coffee is average, but not worth $5/cup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

It is unfortunate to hear that you did not see the value in your breakfast experience. In the future if you have issues with your bill please ask to speak with the AM Supervisor. Thank you for your kind words we will be sure to recognize Chris and Aaron for their excellent customer service. Looking forward to seeing you soon! More

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Interesting menu, excellent flavors. Happy hour was very good. Would definitely go back for full dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive words! We look forward to having you at dinner! More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Came here late night, around 10 PM. Waited about 10 minutes for a bartender to come over with menu (we were seated in front of the bar, wasn't that crowded) and then had to flag them down again to take our order before the kitchen closed about 15 minutes later. Was there a full 30 minutes before we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tabetha Z, Supervisor at Zentan, responded to this review

We apologize for your wait at the bar. We strive to provide a consistent product and that includes a level of service that can provide memorable and positive experiences for our team. I will be passing along your comments to the team so that we may grown and produce a stronger product. Thank you for your honest feedback! Best, Tabetha... More

Travelers who viewed Zentan also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zentan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zentan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing