We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mehak

$$
Downtown / Chinatown
Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian, Pakistani
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
817 7th Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001 (H St. NW)
Gallery Place Chinatown Metro (Green, Red, Yellow) Metro Center Metro (Blue, Orange, Red) Mt Vernon Sq/7th St-Convention Center (Green, Yellow)
+1 202-408-9292
Website
Today
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: For the authentic Indian Tandoori experience, Mehak is the place to go in...
For the authentic Indian Tandoori experience, Mehak is the place to go in DC. Our menu is filled with North-Indian curries, kababs, biryanis, tikkas, vindaloo and roganjosh, so there's always something for everyone. Our baked breads are unlike anything you've had before, cooked using an original char-broiler tandoor.
read more
Good for:
Casual Dining

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 38 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 4
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Veg Samosa so greasy my wife was sick after meal!

Popadoms had a 1 inch layer of grease on the bottom edge, chutneys/dips were very odd compared to Indian where they had been cut in half and sat on a plate being stored. The level of grease on the samosas would suggest they were frozen, fried in oil bath that was too cold or fried twice. The... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed November 29, 2014
Andy B
,
Bangor, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Casual Dining
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Popadoms had a 1 inch layer of grease on the bottom edge, chutneys/dips were very odd compared to Indian where they had been cut in half and sat on a plate being stored. The level of grease on the samosas would suggest they were frozen, fried in oil bath that was too cold or fried twice. The mains were bland... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

I'm shocked to hear this, Andy. The quality of the food you described is definitely not up to our standards, and I'll be looking into this immediately. I'm not sure if you said anything to your server, but even though we should get it right the first time, we're always willing to fix this kind of situation in the moment.... More 

District Heights, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

To be honest, I wasn't expecting a great experience because of the 3-star rating. My SO and I walked in on a Saturday night, and it was practically empty. We got to sit at the table near the window. Chinatown on a Saturday night is the best people watching. The server took our order, and he gave us some great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poonam D, Manager at Mehak, responded to this review

Thanks Taheerah B. We are greatful to you for taking the time to write a raving review. We would love to see you again. More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Whether you're a tourist, a government worker or returning for a visit to the Mecca, don't miss this jewel of an Indian restaurant in the heart of Chinatown. It's what you expect and want in an Indian restaurant. Soft, succulent Tandoori chicken-spicy Chana Masala-crispy appetizers. When I want Indian that I know what to expect and I'm not looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

We'll take you any day! Thanks for the recommendation and kind words. I'm glad you enjoy the Tandoori Chicken and Chana Masala and am honored that you consider us a jewel. Hope you can come back and dine with us again soon. Best wishes, Kitty - Owner More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This Indian restaurant is very poor quality and there is no Indian food taste. Please do not visit this place and waster your money. They serve previous day food. Not much varieties and the food quality is very poor. I don't recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants Indian quality food. It is very worst than Roadside fast food shop.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I have had Indian food almost everywhere in USA, this goes down as the worst I have ever had. 1.To begin with it had Chicken drumstick pieces in Murg boneless curry. No spice.No salt. And no taste. $16 for this. 2.Chicken biryani had raisins and to top it, rice was almost missing. Biryani was bland too. $15 for this. 3.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

I'm truly distressed to hear this -- I sincerely hope you addressed your concerns with your server. In this case, we would have done everything we could have to make this situation right. I want to emphasize that this doesn't sound like us at all. Making sure food is delicious, fresh and memorable is always top of mind. I can't... More 

Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

If you don't have time, then this is a good spot for Indian food. However I wouldn't take anyone there for a first taste of Indian food because that is just going to disappoint them. The location was ok...I guess in the middle of Chinatown for an Indian restaurant. In the middle of our dinner, we heard construction noise. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

Thank you for following up with this feedback! We really appreciate what you have to say about the meal and the service. It is a bit disappointing to learn you weren't more impressed with the food itself, but I will be sure to pass this information along to the kitchen. I know we can knock it out of the park... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. These guys served stale "Chhole" in buffet lunch. In addition to that, upon complaint, Manager behavior was rude and obnoxious. She said "food is absolutely fine because she is a CHEF and she knows better than anybody". On top of that, she has charged heavily for that junk food. CAUTION: Customers do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I would classify this as "mid-range munchies". Took a date there recently because I've had the food before and thought their Lamb Vindaloo was pretty good. I went last month and there were maybe 3 chunks of lamb and 2 chunks of potato in the vindaloo. Mostly just sauce. Rice very dry. Mediocre service. I'd frequent Indique or Jyoti again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

It's a shame to hear we didn't knock your socks off, Adam. I think with your helpful feedback we can definitely serve you up a 5 star meal next time around. I hope you decide to give us another shot soon! Best, Kitty - Owner More 

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Unhygenic food, unfriendly staff, super expensive, small portioned and flavourless food, AND TO OUR DISMAY THERE WAS A RAT!! They even charge $2 for pickle and $3 for onions. The service was so bad that we had to ask for water thrice and the indian guy was behaving as if he was doing us a favour by FINALLY GETTING WATER.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

Though it wasn't easy to read, I want to thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We take cleanliness extremely seriously here, and hold ourselves to the highest standards in that regard. I would truly appreciate knowing more about the incident in question — feel free to give us a call at: (202) 408-9292. Sincerely, Kitty -... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This review is based on Mehak's (Chinatown) take away lunch service: Ordered the lamb curry special for $6.99 and was mortified by the miniscule portion of lamb curry that was given with an astronomical amount of rice. (See picture posted). I've tried take-away lunch specials at numerous restaurants around the Chinatown area. All are priced around 5.99 - 7.99--but none... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PK D, Owner at Mehak, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the quality and quantity of the food you received for your lunch in November. We hate to hear that a customer was dissatisfied with any aspect of their meal, so this review is troubling to read. The first mistake I can understand — they happen. But to have the exact same... More 

Travelers who viewed Mehak also viewed

 

Been to Mehak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 817 7th Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001
    (H St. NW)
  • Public Transportation: Gallery Place Chinatown Metro (Green, Red, Yellow) Metro Center Metro (Blue, Orange, Red) Mt Vernon Sq/7th St-Convention Center (Green, Yellow)
  • Location: United States  >  District of Columbia (DC)  >  Washington DC>  > Downtown / Chinatown
  • Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
  • Phone Number: +1 202-408-9292

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 24
  • Cuisine: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian, Pakistani

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining

Description

For the authentic Indian Tandoori experience, Mehak is the place to go in DC. Our menu is filled with North-Indian curries, kababs, biryanis, tikkas, vindaloo and roganjosh, so there's always something for everyone. Our baked breads are unlike anything you've had before, cooked using an original char-broiler tandoor.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mehak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?