We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Picton Restaurants

Barn Cafe

48 High St, Picton 7372, New Zealand
+64 3-573 7440
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Café, New Zealand
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    52
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Wanted a good solid breakfast, so popped into DA's and had the full breakfast, whilst my partner had the pancakes. both very good as was the coffee. Service fast and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Great, quick breakfast - delicious pancakes, good coffee and best of all nice quick service- which is what we needed this morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments. When you get the chance, come and see us for lunch or dinner More 

Picton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

A visiting grand daughter didn't want to go to a pub for a meal and was quite particular about her food choices...so, we went to the Barn. Excellent choice.mwe all found something interesting and yummy on the menu. The service was prompt, cheerful and helpful. We were more than happy with our choice of eating establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

Loved your comments. Makes it all worthwhile for the effort we put in. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Called in for lunch for my wife and I as well as our 5 Grand Kids. Were made to feel very welcome, Good varied menu, food arrived quickly and was quite delicious. Only quibble I have is the lack of craft beer available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your visit, Kook forward to seeing you again. When you come again, please come and ask us about your choice of beers. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Great breakfast menu, handy to gateway motel. Would reccommend DA's breakfast.also awesome place for dinner. Nice atmosphere and great staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We love your comments and hope to see you again soon More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

I echo the mediocre, couldn't wait to leave sentiment. I too went bc of my motel referral and 10% discount and the lateness of the ferry. i would have paid full price at the sea breeze cafe if i had known had bad the service would be and how average the food was. upon arrival at the cafe, i was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience and we will be reviewing the behaviour of the staff member in question. Once again, we would reiterate that in such cases it is best to express your views and concerns to management at the time of the incident. More 

Knebworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

On a wet, miserable Saturday night awaiting the next day's ferry, we were looking forward to dinner here on the basis of the reviews and its rating. Furthermore our motel key made us eligible for a 10% discount. We reserved a table and forewarned that there was a large birthday party booked in, chose our time accordingly. Sadly our expectations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience was so bad. In a case like yours, and as a guide to others, it is advisable to make your vies known immediately so that we can do something to remedy the situation. We appreciate your comments, and will investigate. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We both had Blue Cod and it was gorgeous. Nice friendly waitress who was very helpful in getting us more lemon for our fish. He had to have dessert and tho it was small it was very tasty (I stole a mouthful) This is a family eatery not an upscale restaurant. I would like them to turn off the terrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your meal. The blue cod will be waiting for your next visit. More 

KERIKERI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a wonderful roast meal the night we arrived in Picton and then on our last day of our holiday, whilst waiting for the Ferry we had a delicious lunch. Hope they are still there, next time we visit the South Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback. It gives us great satisfaction to know we have doen a good job. Look forward to your next visit. More 

Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Late night meal for arrival time, 10% discount on showing our room key, but lady serving was a bit not so obliging, felt like was rushing us out the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have taken note and have instructed our staff on the proper approach to customers. More 

Travelers who viewed Barn Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Cafe

Address: 48 High St, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-573 7440
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
Average Prices: USD 8 - 23
Cuisine: Contemporary, Bar, Café, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barn Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?