We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Picton Restaurants

Barn Cafe

48 High St, Picton 7372, New Zealand
+64 3-573 7440
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Café, New Zealand
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Called in for lunch for my wife and I as well as our 5 Grand Kids. Were made to feel very welcome, Good varied menu, food arrived quickly and was quite delicious. Only quibble I have is the lack of craft beer available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Great breakfast menu, handy to gateway motel. Would reccommend DA's breakfast.also awesome place for dinner. Nice atmosphere and great staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We love your comments and hope to see you again soon More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

I echo the mediocre, couldn't wait to leave sentiment. I too went bc of my motel referral and 10% discount and the lateness of the ferry. i would have paid full price at the sea breeze cafe if i had known had bad the service would be and how average the food was. upon arrival at the cafe, i was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience and we will be reviewing the behaviour of the staff member in question. Once again, we would reiterate that in such cases it is best to express your views and concerns to management at the time of the incident. More

Knebworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

On a wet, miserable Saturday night awaiting the next day's ferry, we were looking forward to dinner here on the basis of the reviews and its rating. Furthermore our motel key made us eligible for a 10% discount. We reserved a table and forewarned that there was a large birthday party booked in, chose our time accordingly. Sadly our expectations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience was so bad. In a case like yours, and as a guide to others, it is advisable to make your vies known immediately so that we can do something to remedy the situation. We appreciate your comments, and will investigate. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We both had Blue Cod and it was gorgeous. Nice friendly waitress who was very helpful in getting us more lemon for our fish. He had to have dessert and tho it was small it was very tasty (I stole a mouthful) This is a family eatery not an upscale restaurant. I would like them to turn off the terrible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your meal. The blue cod will be waiting for your next visit. More

KERIKERI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a wonderful roast meal the night we arrived in Picton and then on our last day of our holiday, whilst waiting for the Ferry we had a delicious lunch. Hope they are still there, next time we visit the South Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback. It gives us great satisfaction to know we have doen a good job. Look forward to your next visit. More

Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Late night meal for arrival time, 10% discount on showing our room key, but lady serving was a bit not so obliging, felt like was rushing us out the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have taken note and have instructed our staff on the proper approach to customers. More

Cromwell, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very good value for money with a good choice of food. This is not an upmarket restaurant but the staff were friendly and there is plenty of room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal - see you again soon. More

picton nz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Last Monday week the Picton Walking Club partook of lunch at the Barn, but I elected to have a brunch. Now while I have to be honest and say I have had better brekkies the mushroom sauce was really smooth, and Gina (mine host) always puts plenty on one's plate, and a good cup of coffee to wash it down.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

It is always wonderful when a customer shows their appreciation. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon More

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The meals were very good and the Café was very clean and tidy, the service was very good also. Blue Cod was cooked to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina W, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Please call in next time you are in Picton. More

Travelers who viewed Barn Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing