We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bromsgrove Road, Belbroughton DY9 9XU, England
01562 731928
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Description: Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Bell -...
Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Bell - Belbroughton offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 459 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 104
    Excellent
  • 123
    Very good
  • 89
    Average
  • 86
    Poor
  • 57
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
If you're not in a hurry.....

We live 10 minutes from the Bell and have visited twice in the last 2 weeks. First visit was Sunday lunch and the food was excellent but the service very slow. We went for dinner last night and experienced the same problem. Again the food was good but the service slow. The problem seems to be the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
David P
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited this evening. We found the staff courteous and friendly, beer good, but they are not being supported by the catering staff, as parts of the lamb was completely unchewable, I had to spit it out, and the accompanyment was bagged, processed, not fresh, over garliced and not good. Two of us had the lobster bun - very disappointing and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zlate
Dudley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here many times because of its relaxed atmosphere so decided to catch up with old friends and have a bite to eat. Booked online through the Bell website which was quick and painless.Service was great and the staff really friendly. Food took a little time to arrive but considering the place was packed with diners this was to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely location and building, shame about the overpriced food and slow service. One meal was just inedible (the cost of which was, however, refunded with no argument) and the other two meals were cold. Apologies were made, but stating that the restaurant area has to take priority over the bar area (where we ate) isn't acceptable when you are charging... More 

Helpful?
Thank colliecrazy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my family have regularly visited the Bell as we have never had a bad experience and have also enjoyed the staff the atmosphere and the food, however yesterday I can honestly say I have never been so disappointed in a restaurant and so disgusted in the management. Myself and my family came to the bell yesterday to celebrate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura-Marie K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We live 10 minutes from the Bell and have visited twice in the last 2 weeks. First visit was Sunday lunch and the food was excellent but the service very slow. We went for dinner last night and experienced the same problem. Again the food was good but the service slow. The problem seems to be the kitchen. There are... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Bell is a beautiful building and really well presented with great décor, but the food is so disappointing these days. The prices are high for the quality of cooking and the modest quantities; although we were regulars for many years, the last two visits have been so disappointing. I have an oversweet and sickly vegetarian pie and the desserts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill F
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

first time visit to this lovely restaurant...bit of a way from where we live but it was well worth it. Ambiance is very good, soft lighting and candles..essential for me as i love the atmosphere they create..easy listening music in the background..decor and cleanliness all way above expectations Lovely 2 course meal...steak and pork belly...was delicious...I would recommend paying a... More 

Helpful?
Thank baggiebev
BellBelbroughton, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Thank yiu baggiebev for your wonderful comments. We spend a lot of time and energy on ensuring that our pub looks and feels great for all of our guests and ensuring that we get the best quality of foods from our suppliers. It sounds like we would be perfect for you for Valentines day if you can make a trip... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In its favour it is a lovely pub with plenty of atmosphere, but then it always has been. This time the food was awful. We both had the beef which consisted of more fat than meat. After complaining the waitress bought two slices of cold beef which were just as bad. It really was an unacceptable meal and not cheap.... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosie194
BellBelbroughton, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Rosie 194, i'm very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with the quality of our roast beef and the replacement meat that you were offered. Any feedback like this is passed on to our kitchen manager and if there is a problem with a joint of meat then we will certainly take this up with our suppliers. We... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to The Bell on numerous occasions and I have never had a single complaint, which for me is sentence I don't write lightly! The staff have always been so attentive, I've even had one member make me a custom cocktail with all my favourite tipples. The food is exceptional, my order has always been taken promptly, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty N
BellBelbroughton, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Thank you Kirsty N for your kind comments. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon or most definitely in the summer where you can enjoy your food and drinks in the garden with the sun. :) More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife, daughter and myself visited this resteraunt last Sunday and we were not very pleased, to say the least. We arrived at the Bell and were seated after a short wait. The waitress took our drinks order, we then waited 20 mins and my wife asked about the order, to be told they were on the way. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
BellBelbroughton, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Thank you Paul K for your review. I would like to assure you that we certainly do not try to cram as many people I'm as possible, especially if this to mean that the service you experience is unsatisfactory. Unfortunately,there are times when things happen that are out of our control and on this occasion, we were a team member... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Romsley, Worcestershire
Belbroughton, Worcestershire
 
Belbroughton, Worcestershire
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bromsgrove Road, Belbroughton DY9 9XU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Belbroughton
  • Phone Number: 01562 731928

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 23
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Special occasions

Description

Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Bell - Belbroughton offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?