We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clonmara Tea Rooms

106 Princes Highway, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
+61 3 5568 2595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: English, Irish, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: A little bit of Britain located at the end of the Great Ocean Road, Port Fairy.Specialising in true British fare, 40 varieties of loose leaf tea, quality coffee and a variety of wines and beers including British Beers.Regular meals include Ploughmans lunchs, Kippers from Aberdeen, black puddings, Traditional Scottish snd English Breakfasts, Welsh Rarebit, home made pies, Spotted Dick and superb internationally famous scones with pure cream, hand made jam, baked daily.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

Ok so I didn't know they were gone as this was my first visit... but if you've been wanting to go and haven't had the chance... DO! What a quaint little tea room, cosy and inviting. A very warm welcome by staff and I enjoyed a nice little chat (as I was having afternoon tea on my own). I enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wonderful little sport and great food. pretty little tea room at that. Have to say though that some of the waitresses were a tad cold towards some of the customers, but all up great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am not quite sure when you visited us as we have been closed since the 6th May. I would certainly like to apologise for the apparent 'coolness'. I realise that this is no excuse but we had been running under some personal stress due to a death in the family.... More

UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Delicious cream tea - plain and salted caramel scones were delicious, so was the tea. Wonderful little cottage too. Highly recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to review us. We are delighted that you found our food and service to be so enjoyable. We are closing for a short time to take a break but very much hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon. Kind Regards More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The scone was good, the tea was ok, the toilet had no toilet paper or light, could do better. I could not figure why this place is 1#. Never mind

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

We acknowledge and thank you for your review dated 20th April ( EASTER SUNDAY) We treat all reviews seriously and hope to learn from comments that our customers make to improve our business as we are a dedicated small family business. However, we are just not able to find any foundation for the claims that have been made. There are... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My family ate a delicious lunch at this very quaint cottage. The lunch- we tried bangers and mash,salmon cakes and Cornish pastie were terrific. We saved room for their famous scones equally impressive! Yum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your rave review. It seems our menu hit the spot right on! We will continue to try and improve so please call again. Good to hear the scones were up to standard More

9533 Kirchberg SG
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I am a bit late with writting my review... However, this is def. the place to be if you wanna eat FANTASTIC scones!! We've been here in NOV2013 and since then I am desperately looking forward to have those scones again... Maybe I have to return to OZ one time, just because of the scones from Clonmaras Tea House!! Maybe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your terrific review. Yes, our scones seem to delight all who try them. Its all in the recipe! We are all absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and also realise that we cannot be all things to all people, but are a small and personal business and will try in every way to ensure... More

Swan Reach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

It is a very upmarket small family run café style restaurant and tea rooms with adjacent B&B and souvenir shop. It is a self styled British eatery with an interesting mix of items on the smallish menu. Both of our lunch meals were of a very high standard with the Scottish born chef responsible for both sourcing items from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your terrific comments. We really do try to offer a menu that is different, quality and above all, the best value we can, given our constraints. All of us appreciate your candid comments and will do our utmost to continue down this path. Again, many thanks. Best Regards More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visited on Saturday morning, great kippers and from all reports the scones were fantastic.Lucky to sit outside in a beautifull outdoors area.Different,ecentric? Perhaps, but make sure you go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Yes, you confirmed what we try to achieve here and we certainly seem to have done just that for you. We are a small business trying to offer dishes that are different, interesting and above all enjoyable. WOW! Thank you again from all of us More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful place for breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea. Excellent food and service, everything is so yummy and you just have to go back again to try something else on the delightful menu. The courtyard is a delight on a lovely summer day and if the weather is not good inside is warm & cosy. Overall an absolute delight

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Yvonne, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and especially for your very kind words. We are a small family business offering what we hope and think is a special menu with tasty food that has a difference to what is generally offered. Your comments only spur us on to do better and keep the... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely lunch and good service but watching waiting staff being yelled at where all patrons could hear left a bad taste in our mouths. Unprofessional and unnecessary and a sad case of bullying. We found Lachlans service to be friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We are delighted that the service and quality of our food was appealing, however I should respectfully point out that the staff member that offered you that friendly and efficient service was in fact supposed to be elsewhere. Hence the problem. We are a small family business that concentrates on... More

Travelers who viewed Clonmara Tea Rooms also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to Clonmara Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clonmara Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing