We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harry's on the Esplanade

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Upper Level 17 | The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 6226
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Scenic view
Description: Harry's On The Esplanade is proud of its waterfront dining with magnificent...
Harry's On The Esplanade is proud of its waterfront dining with magnificent panoramic views over Westernport Bay. The restaurant is perfect positioned on the famous north-facing beach of Cowes, the principal township of Phillip Island. It offers one of the best vantage points on The Island to eat, drink, relax and watch the world go by. A gorgeous place to have breakfast, lunch, a coffee, a cocktail or dinner. Whatever the reason – Harry's On The Esplanade is The venue to enjoy Phillip Island’s casual beachfront atmosphere! Owner and Chef Harry has earned a reputation for sourcing the very best local, fresh produce.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 47
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Slow service Great views.

Lovely views over the sea in a well decorated restaurant. The service was slow, even though the place was not busy, and they did not seem to know what specials were on the board and then over charged us. Food was fine.

3 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Paula O
,
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this restaurant is in such a beautiful location, with stunning views over the beach and pier in Cowes, but it doesn't take long to realize why it is the only eatery in town with vacant tables on a Saturday night in summer. First warning was the lack of any vegetarian option (even the single pasta dish was meat based), and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbi W
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're thinking of dining here, don't! Went for a special occasion dinner there last night. Booked in advance. We did get served our drinks in a timely fashion, but after 35 minutes had to grab one of the serving staff to see if someone could take our order. He was obliging although clearly not his job. Another 30 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynton B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Oysters I have ever had. Freshly Shucked and you could tell.! The view is wonderful on the balcony on a Summers Night. I really enjoyed my Proscuitto Figs and my husband enjoyed his duckfish. The Service is a little hit and miss. Mostly backpackers and travellors...but they do try hard and are very pleasant. We go every time we... More 

Helpful?
Thank mohanar1
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely views over the sea in a well decorated restaurant. The service was slow, even though the place was not busy, and they did not seem to know what specials were on the board and then over charged us. Food was fine.

Helpful?
Thank Paula O
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today I've had lunch at Harry's. I ordered bread to start and then something of the lunch menu. I am not a big eater but it was not enough so I had to order something else after. For the money they ask I don't think it's worth the amount of food you get.

Helpful?
Thank rhona95
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 4 for dinner. We prebooked in person for 7.30 pm with a table on the balcony. When we arrived the booking was noted but not the balcony request. So we had to wait 5 mins for our table. No buggy. We were seated for dinner and given cold water on quite a hot night. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank MargyL
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were seated at a really nice table with a great view and a fabulous wine list. Our evening with friends had a very promising start. We ordered drinks, simple entree to share and our meals. The entrees came at different times (20 mins apart) and after an hour we were wondering if our meals were coming at all?? The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
Berks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't comment on the food because we didn't get any. Booked a table and on arrival were shown to table, but after 25 minutes when nobody had come to offer drink or take order we left

Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter24
Harry6226, Manager at Harry's on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi, I would like to apologise about the experience. I would also request you to give us another chance to prove our potential so that you can come and enjoy our food and service we have to offer. Kind regards, The Management. Harry's on the Esplanade. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

Just terrible. Nothing we ate was to expectations and so expensive for what was passable for a pub counter meal. The veggies were boiled to an inch of their life, the steak was supposed to be medium rare and was bordering on well done...not nearly good enough for mains around $40. Will not be going back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
Harry6226, Manager at Harry's on the Esplanade, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you feel this way about the meal and experience you have had with us. However, would like to make it better for you on your next visit. Kind regards, The management, Harry's on the Esplanade. More 

Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

This is one of the most expensive restaurants in cowes, the cheapest bottle of white wine is $50. The food and the view is great no question. However, when the staff is berated in front of customers three times actually while we were there, I find this pretty unprofessional. Customers don't need to know what the manager is not happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank loveachardy
Harry6226, Manager at Harry's on the Esplanade, responded to this review

I would Like to thankyou for your feedback and I am glad to hear about your review about the meals you enjoyed here. We are trying to work on the management and the staff here to make it a better experience for our customers. Kind regards, The management, Harry's on the esplanade. More 

Travelers who viewed Harry's on the Esplanade also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Harry's on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Upper Level 17 | The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 6226

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 36
  • Cuisine: French, German, Seafood, European

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

Harry's On The Esplanade is proud of its waterfront dining with magnificent panoramic views over Westernport Bay. The restaurant is perfect positioned on the famous north-facing beach of Cowes, the principal township of Phillip Island. It offers one of the best vantage points on The Island to eat, drink, relax and watch the world go by. A gorgeous place to have breakfast, lunch, a coffee, a cocktail or dinner. Whatever the reason – Harry's On The Esplanade is The venue to enjoy Phillip Island’s casual beachfront atmosphere! Owner and Chef Harry has earned a reputation for sourcing the very best local, fresh produce.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harry's on the Esplanade staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?