We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rooster

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 1206
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION...
QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION AND AMBIANCE WITH SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE JAMISON VALLEY. BAR, EXTENSIVE REASONABLY PRICED WINE LIST, BYO WINE OUTSIDE DINING, BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED EDWARDIAN BUILDING BUILT 1895 GUEST HOUSE WITH FOUR LUXURY GUESTROOMS, DESSERT OF THE WEEK. OFTEN LIVE DINING MUSIC ON WEEKENDS
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 174 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 92
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great french food and excellent service

We had the snails (yum), my wife had the duck and I had the steak with foie gras. The food was all delightful and the service friendly. The cocktail menu was slightly off as they didn't have all the ingredients but they told us any drink we didn't like, they would take back and remake. The only... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 21, 2015
Michael J
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blaxland, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

We had lunch here. We had just picked up our first brand new car and thought we would go somewhere special for lunch. Pricing is on the higher side. We were very happy with the food that was served. Couldn't really fault anything. We both had an entree and main. The service was very friendly. Both our meals came with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Dined here for our anniversary and the services was quite good but slow and it did take a while for the food to arrive but they were fully booked as it was Bastille day. Food was great quality and tasty although portions were a little small for our liking, the wait staff kept on bringing bread around to everyone as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We had the snails (yum), my wife had the duck and I had the steak with foie gras. The food was all delightful and the service friendly. The cocktail menu was slightly off as they didn't have all the ingredients but they told us any drink we didn't like, they would take back and remake. The only tiny issue was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Dinner with husband for his birthday. This was a real find for an overnight visit to the Blue Mountains to celebrate my husband's birthday. We will definitely be back. The food was just superb. Truly memorable French cooking, lovely ambience, décor and experience. The 'staff' were not like staff but rather, food experience facilitators!! French and friendly but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Two for lunch on a Wednesday. 2013 House Shiraz was surprisingly good. The starters of crisp fried king prawns and asparagus with goats cheese were excellent. Paris style gnocchi as a second course from starters was outstanding and the filet main perfectly cooked. Service is friendly and attentive. Price is reasonable at about $70 pp food only for 3 courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

A couple of years ago we had dined in an earlier incarnation of this restaurant and were keen to again enjoy fine French cuisine. We were not disappointed. Our hosts were obviously fairly new to the establishment and were very busy on the night we visited, but their enthusiasm for the food and their willingness to please more than compensated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Two years ago I visited the Rooster and loved it. I said "The food was delicious. The escargot was lip-smackingly slurpy, the cheese souffle was soul-nourishing and bready, and the rack of lamb moreish, but I was stuffed by the end. You won't go hungry on the two course set menu, and it's a brave person who takes on three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jamisonhouse, Owner at The Rooster, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui I thank you for your comment on trip adviser. I am very sorry about your experience being disappointing. You have raised a number of issues which I will follow up on It certainly fell far below what we aim for. I would be very happy to offer you complimentary meals and a bottle of wine bu way of... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

New owners , new layout, nice bar area, good food and service HOWEVER please do not advertise Enjoy Lunch With A View and then seat your guests at the back of the restaurant by the kitchen door and leave the lovely tables with the views vacant? Honestly cant get over this practice, assumed the front tables must have been reserved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jamisonhouse, Owner at The Rooster, responded to this review

Dear Belinda I am so sorry that this happened. As you say it does not make sense. I would be happy to offer something to try and make amends for this. Would a 50% reduction on your next meal or a complimentary bottle of wine be an acceptable form of apology for this inexplicable mistake? Yours Sincerely Ross Delaney More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The food was divine, that was not the issue. We asked for the $35 dollars 2 course lunch menu we researched on their website. We asked the female staff member for that, we confirmed it with the maitre de. When it came to Bill $102.50, not the $70 expected. We paid, very disappointed that we were made to feel it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jamisonhouse, Owner at The Rooster, responded to this review

Dear Jay Please accept my apology for being incorrectly charged. I must accept responsibility for the waitress and manager (both of whom are relatively new ) not being aware of this set menu, which is not asked for so often. I would be very happy to refund you $70 as compensation or of course you are welcome to have the... More 

Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

This was our second time at the Rooster. It was a few years ago, and we weren't sure if it would be as good as the last time we went, or if our memories of the place were just romantic. But I am happy to say it was even more delightful, the young French waiter was so charming, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Rooster also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooster

Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number: +61 2 4782 1206
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD $18 to $47
Cuisine: French

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4782 1206

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $18 to $47
  • Cuisine: French

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic

Description

QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION AND AMBIANCE WITH SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE JAMISON VALLEY. BAR, EXTENSIVE REASONABLY PRICED WINE LIST, BYO WINE OUTSIDE DINING, BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED EDWARDIAN BUILDING BUILT 1895 GUEST HOUSE WITH FOUR LUXURY GUESTROOMS, DESSERT OF THE WEEK. OFTEN LIVE DINING MUSIC ON WEEKENDS
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rooster and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Rooster staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?