We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rooster, The

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 1206
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION...
QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION AND AMBIANCE WITH SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE JAMISON VALLEY. BAR, EXTENSIVE REASONABLY PRICED WINE LIST, BYO WINE OUTSIDE DINING, BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED EDWARDIAN BUILDING BUILT 1895 GUEST HOUSE WITH FOUR LUXURY GUESTROOMS, DESSERT OF THE WEEK. OFTEN LIVE DINING MUSIC ON WEEKENDS
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 166 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traditional french food and old world ambience

Lovely homely restaurant with an old world mountain home feel about it. Very cosy and intimate and run by cheery French staff all willing to do whatever it takes however busy they are and they often very busy and run off their feet. Just ask if you need something and they will come running. Stay... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 4, 2015
Chris B
,
Sydney, Australia
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Entertaining clients
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The food was divine, that was not the issue. We asked for the $35 dollars 2 course lunch menu we researched on their website. We asked the female staff member for that, we confirmed it with the maitre de. When it came to Bill $102.50, not the $70 expected. We paid, very disappointed that we were made to feel it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jamisonhouse, Owner at Rooster, The, responded to this review

Dear Jay Please accept my apology for being incorrectly charged. I must accept responsibility for the waitress and manager (both of whom are relatively new ) not being aware of this set menu, which is not asked for so often. I would be very happy to refund you $70 as compensation or of course you are welcome to have the... More 

Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

This was our second time at the Rooster. It was a few years ago, and we weren't sure if it would be as good as the last time we went, or if our memories of the place were just romantic. But I am happy to say it was even more delightful, the young French waiter was so charming, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We have been to The Rooster a few times in the last 5 years, and cannot understand the inconsistency both of food and service. First time -a Thursday evening - excellent. Second time, a few months later, very average. We took friends a year later, hoping our last experience had been a blip, but the service and food were again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jamisonhouse, Owner at Rooster, The, responded to this review

Dear Vivian Thank you for the feedback and I am sorry that the experience you have had been inconsistent. I am aware that sometimes we do fall short of expectations and I can assure you that It is front and centre of our efforts. I am truly sorry that it has not been consistently good for you, we were very... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I loved this restaurant. In a converted house tucked away on a residential street it has a certain charm and welcoming ambiance. The decor is quirky but comfortable and has a French vibe without being over-done. The food was authentically French (which I love but isn't necessarily to everyone's taste) and served with a smile - and a boundless amount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Our meal at the Rooster was booked for us as a special birthday package with our hotel so we didn't know what to expect before we got there. It was a wonderful surprise! My partner and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals we've ever had. The food was superb, the service polite and friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

26 family and friends celebrated 60th birthday on 7th June in the main dining room of the Rooster. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the well presented food. The attentive service, the cosy fire, the French touch in décor, soft French music playing in the background. The moment you step in the door there is a homely vibe. Then once we finished our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We nearly didn't visit this restaurant as it was a very wet and cold night but soooo glad we did. It is a very under the radar gem.Would drive from Sydney in a heartbeat to eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

A wonderful experience. The food was sublime! The gnocchi (in Roquefort sauce) was like fluffy clouds - melt in your mouth deliciousness! Every morsel of every dish was simply divine! Service incredibly friendly, the old-world ambience and decor of the restaurant delightful, with French music perfect selection (and at the perfect volume) - and furthermore the meal was good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Everything about this restaurant is delightful Went there 5 years ago & just had to return this trip to Katoomba

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Lovely homely restaurant with an old world mountain home feel about it. Very cosy and intimate and run by cheery French staff all willing to do whatever it takes however busy they are and they often very busy and run off their feet. Just ask if you need something and they will come running. Stay the night too in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Rooster, The also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Rooster, The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooster, The

Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number: +61 2 4782 1206
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD $19 to $49
Cuisine: French

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4782 1206

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $19 to $49
  • Cuisine: French

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions

Description

QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION AND AMBIANCE WITH SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE JAMISON VALLEY. BAR, EXTENSIVE REASONABLY PRICED WINE LIST, BYO WINE OUTSIDE DINING, BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED EDWARDIAN BUILDING BUILT 1895 GUEST HOUSE WITH FOUR LUXURY GUESTROOMS, DESSERT OF THE WEEK. OFTEN LIVE DINING MUSIC ON WEEKENDS
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rooster, The and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rooster, The staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?