We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Today
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Does not have a website.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 58 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Reasonably priced sushi

Friendly service, cheaper than city prices, limited choice available, but you can order anything from the menu and wait. Cute mini sushi train inside. All the sushi we ate was very fresh and tasty, popular with back packers.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
Lily-Lee17
,
Lismore
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Service was dismal, the waitress took half our order from my husband and then just walked away then proceeded to ignore me until she put down his food and I mentioned we hadn't finished ordering, "Oh you wanted to order something else" got up and left. I will not be going back and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are sorry you had that impression. We appreciate your opinion is important, but it is also courteous to express your concern in person, especially when you were asked several times if there is anything we could get you. We aim to make our customers happy, and we are genuinely sorry that this wasn't your experience, but no business nor... More 

Lismore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Friendly service, cheaper than city prices, limited choice available, but you can order anything from the menu and wait. Cute mini sushi train inside. All the sushi we ate was very fresh and tasty, popular with back packers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our customers, and their business. We hope you enjoyed your visit to The Whitsundays. With happy thoughts, Michelle More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

It was not the best sushi I have eaten, but also not the worst either. Had a really cool sushi boat/train and a beautiful aquarium. They had some interesting and innovative menu items but don't go there expecting Japanese style/ grade sushi because you won't find it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We appreciate you visiting and we look forward to seeing your reviews as you travel further in your review journeys from Airlie Beach. Sincerely, Michelle More 

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We had a wonderful evening at Sushi Hi. The best part was chatting with Michelle. She is so friendly!!!!! Great sushi too! It was very yummy!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are glad you had fun. I guess I will need to work harder at being the evil sushi witch, now you've ruined my terrible reputation. Come back anytime for free ice cream little ones, xxx michelle More 

North Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Lovely fresh Sushi, The staff were good and the salmon was super fresh. really nice tasting nori. We went 3 times!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The only thing better than a restaurant owner who greets u by name EVERY time is having amazing food EVERY time! I've never had a bad meal from Sushi Hi & I've eaten there a whole lot. Everyone I've ever spoken to has also had flawless food & even well-travelled friends say Michelle's sushi is brilliantly authentic! Love, love, love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Here in Airlie Beach for work. Scraving sushi, had seen the reviews below n thought ill see how it went.... Small little shop n not the same huge selection like the sushi trains they have back at home. BUT.. there is a menu... and the staff seemed more then happy to make up anything I wanted... as for freshness smells... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Been here once, place was small and not many staff. The sushi was far from delicious. tasted old and not fresh at all. Salmon tasted days old. However the fish tank on the middle was very cool

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Very bad sushi I wouldn't even call it sushi. More like say rice and sewead in a mush very poor. Black spots on avocado. Waiter was basically asleep could really speak. Avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

After a exhausted one day trip on Airlie beach, we decided to have some quick sushi. There is a chef and a waitress in the restaurant. At that time we were the only customers. Sushi on the train did not look fresh enough as you can easily tell the black spot on avocado. So we decided to order some rolls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Avocados are one fruit which is out of season in Australian over Christmas so every year we have had supply and quality issues which are a growers concern. The Australian avocado growers assoc has implemented extra trees in Western Australia to alienate this issue. They are the biggest single item next to salmon that we... More 

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hi also viewed

Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sushi Hi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Airlie Beach

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Sushi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget

Description

Does not have a website.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sushi Hi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?