We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Does not have a website.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 68 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 28
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Lunch

We had sushi from here for lunch. There was a selection of ready made, or made to order. It was very salty.

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 12, 2015
lizzy122015
,
Melbourne, Australia
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

Went here hoping to have lunch... not a great selection. What we did eat was tasteless and dry. The chicken in the nori rolls was dry. The rice was either not cooked properly or had been in the refrigerator overnight. Ate the single plate an left there looking for somewhere else to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We had sushi from here for lunch. There was a selection of ready made, or made to order. It was very salty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I think the issue with the sushi I got here was that there was just too much vinegar (or something similar) in the rice. It just didn't taste good and I couldn't finish it. Disappointing because all the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Australian local lady owner. Good selection of food. Owner was very friendly and happy to make anything on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannonvale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Their are little things that are touch and go but overall I have gone to this restaurant nearly every day for the past 13 years and they have always made sure i had an pleasant experience in the quality of the meals and the outstanding service which never lets me down

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaxland, nsw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Sorry to say - very poor. Untidy sushi. Raw tuna was not sashimi grade. Did not even eat it. Service was friendly, but food was not restaurant worthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Afraid you have us confused. We have been out of stock with Inari due to supplier issue for 3 weeks. So it was not possible you dined with us in any recent period. Happy travels. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We had a sushi craving whilst on holiday, so we thought that we'd give Sushi Hi a try. After making sure that we were seated, the staff then had some trouble remembering that they had several customers, instead chatting to friends that dropped by. I started with a plate of chicken sushi, which seemed a little dry, similar to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Afraid you have us confused. We have been out of stock with Inari due to supplier issue for 3 weeks. So it was not possible you dined with us in any recent period. Happy travels. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

As a regular customer for the past 4 years, I can say hands down it is the best sushi in the Whitsunday region. Always greeted with a friendly welcoming smile. Cheap prices compared to any other sushi shop I have ever been too and amazing sushi. 😄

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This was awful. It was dirty, disorganised and the worst sushi I've ever had. Sorry..but it wasn't good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an unfortunate experience. We were very very busy when you had this poor experience and are sorry for this unfortunate impression. We like to exceed our customers expectations, and due to the busy timing, we weren't able to do this for you. Enjoy your travelling, and thank you More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Terrible customer service - we weren't even given the opportunity to try their sushi! We waited out the front at 10.50am as the sign on the door said open at 11am. At 11am we were told they weren't opening for another 10 minutes. After waiting at the front door until 11.25am (with our 2 hungry kids) we'd had enough of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are aware of whom you are. We are sorry for the delay in opening on that particular day. There were two issues involved, we we waiting for a delivery of our fresh fish which we required to open. We explained to you the situation about the delay. There was then an accident involving a nasty cut, which required medical... More 

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hi also viewed

Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sushi Hi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Airlie Beach

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget

Description

Does not have a website.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sushi Hi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?