We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 75 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Does not have a website.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    4
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Been here once, place was small and not many staff. The sushi was far from delicious. tasted old and not fresh at all. Salmon tasted days old. However the fish tank on the middle was very cool

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Very bad sushi I wouldn't even call it sushi. More like say rice and sewead in a mush very poor. Black spots on avocado. Waiter was basically asleep could really speak. Avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

After a exhausted one day trip on Airlie beach, we decided to have some quick sushi. There is a chef and a waitress in the restaurant. At that time we were the only customers. Sushi on the train did not look fresh enough as you can easily tell the black spot on avocado. So we decided to order some rolls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I used to visit this shop quiet regularly, as the food and service always seemed to be enjoyable and was always a vibrant atmosphere. This was until last night... As myself and my partner sat down, we had noticed a mother, her friend and 3 children sit down next to us. I have always understood that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitfish, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience. We do appreciate our customers and try our best to satisfy their wishes. There are no excuses to be made to rectify your unhappy experience, and all I can do is apologise for the fact we were too busy and unfortunately, too exhausted to rectify these issues for you... More 

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I can only speak for the seaweed boat, salad sushi and cucumber and avocado maki. Everything was very fresh, but the rice was too sticky, lacking in rice seasoning, and the pieces of cucumber and avocado were far too chunky. Think that the rice needs to be better prepared and seasoned, as this is a very delicate art and what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whitfish, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the chance to improve our business. I remember the night you were in, and I am sorry that we had been too busy to give you the quality experience that we desire to give our customers. We certainly are some times too busy and things are not to the level we wish for. I notice... More 

Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Sushi Hi. Super friendly staff, very accomodating to dietary requirements. Vegan friendly. Lovely sushi that wont cost you and eye haha.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

The service was great and the food was good. It's only 5 minutes walk from our apartment and it's a friendly family business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We are locals and have been eating here for 2+ years. We come back for the food- the sushi is made fresh, and the owner is happy to make whatever your heart desires. The service is normally friendly and fast, sometimes the younger boys get a bit frazzled when its busy- but they still serve you with a smile. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Healesville, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Went there today to get some takeaway for lunch. Quite a few there ordering takeaway. Nothing prepacked which is unusual for sushi shop offering takeaway. Nobody sitting at bench for lunch. Very disorganized. The lunch time crowd is going to be mainly takeaway so get organized! Sushi was ok but won't go back for takeaway that's for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Not your typical sushi joint, and i work at a sushi restaurant! Sushi boat instead of train and an amazing fish tank in the middle. Super friendly and helpful staff, we had a nice chat to some of them while waiting. We ordered the meal deal that was on at the time $35 for miso, sushi, hot food and dessert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hi also viewed

Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sushi Hi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sushi Hi

Address: Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Airlie Beach
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Cuisine: Sushi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sushi Hi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?