We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Today
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Does not have a website.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 66 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 28
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Reasonably priced sushi

Friendly service, cheaper than city prices, limited choice available, but you can order anything from the menu and wait. Cute mini sushi train inside. All the sushi we ate was very fresh and tasty, popular with back packers.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
Lily-Lee17
,
Lismore
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I think the issue with the sushi I got here was that there was just too much vinegar (or something similar) in the rice. It just didn't taste good and I couldn't finish it. Disappointing because all the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Australian local lady owner. Good selection of food. Owner was very friendly and happy to make anything on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannonvale, Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Their are little things that are touch and go but overall I have gone to this restaurant nearly every day for the past 13 years and they have always made sure i had an pleasant experience in the quality of the meals and the outstanding service which never lets me down

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaxland, nsw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Sorry to say - very poor. Untidy sushi. Raw tuna was not sashimi grade. Did not even eat it. Service was friendly, but food was not restaurant worthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Afraid you have us confused. We have been out of stock with Inari due to supplier issue for 3 weeks. So it was not possible you dined with us in any recent period. Happy travels. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We had a sushi craving whilst on holiday, so we thought that we'd give Sushi Hi a try. After making sure that we were seated, the staff then had some trouble remembering that they had several customers, instead chatting to friends that dropped by. I started with a plate of chicken sushi, which seemed a little dry, similar to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Afraid you have us confused. We have been out of stock with Inari due to supplier issue for 3 weeks. So it was not possible you dined with us in any recent period. Happy travels. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

As a regular customer for the past 4 years, I can say hands down it is the best sushi in the Whitsunday region. Always greeted with a friendly welcoming smile. Cheap prices compared to any other sushi shop I have ever been too and amazing sushi. 😄

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This was awful. It was dirty, disorganised and the worst sushi I've ever had. Sorry..but it wasn't good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an unfortunate experience. We were very very busy when you had this poor experience and are sorry for this unfortunate impression. We like to exceed our customers expectations, and due to the busy timing, we weren't able to do this for you. Enjoy your travelling, and thank you More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Terrible customer service - we weren't even given the opportunity to try their sushi! We waited out the front at 10.50am as the sign on the door said open at 11am. At 11am we were told they weren't opening for another 10 minutes. After waiting at the front door until 11.25am (with our 2 hungry kids) we'd had enough of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are aware of whom you are. We are sorry for the delay in opening on that particular day. There were two issues involved, we we waiting for a delivery of our fresh fish which we required to open. We explained to you the situation about the delay. There was then an accident involving a nasty cut, which required medical... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Service was dismal, the waitress took half our order from my husband and then just walked away then proceeded to ignore me until she put down his food and I mentioned we hadn't finished ordering, "Oh you wanted to order something else" got up and left. I will not be going back and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are sorry you had that impression. We appreciate your opinion is important, but it is also courteous to express your concern in person, especially when you were asked several times if there is anything we could get you. We aim to make our customers happy, and we are genuinely sorry that this wasn't your experience, but no business nor... More 

Lismore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Friendly service, cheaper than city prices, limited choice available, but you can order anything from the menu and wait. Cute mini sushi train inside. All the sushi we ate was very fresh and tasty, popular with back packers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mrpoppet, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our customers, and their business. We hope you enjoyed your visit to The Whitsundays. With happy thoughts, Michelle More 

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hi also viewed

Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sushi Hi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sushi Hi

Address: Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Airlie Beach
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Cuisine: Sushi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Airlie Beach

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Sushi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget

Description

Does not have a website.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sushi Hi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?