We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sushi Hi

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sushi Hi
Directions
Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Get directions
Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Saturday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Does not have a website.
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
ruined date night

My partner and I used to visit this shop quiet regularly, as the food and service always seemed to be enjoyable and was always a vibrant atmosphere. This was until last night... As myself and my partner sat down, we had noticed a mother, her friend and 3 children sit down next to us. I have... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed November 28, 2014
RabbitFox
via mobile
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
  • Takeout
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I used to visit this shop quiet regularly, as the food and service always seemed to be enjoyable and was always a vibrant atmosphere. This was until last night... As myself and my partner sat down, we had noticed a mother, her friend and 3 children sit down next to us. I have always understood that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitfish, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience. We do appreciate our customers and try our best to satisfy their wishes. There are no excuses to be made to rectify your unhappy experience, and all I can do is apologise for the fact we were too busy and unfortunately, too exhausted to rectify these issues for you... More 

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I can only speak for the seaweed boat, salad sushi and cucumber and avocado maki. Everything was very fresh, but the rice was too sticky, lacking in rice seasoning, and the pieces of cucumber and avocado were far too chunky. Think that the rice needs to be better prepared and seasoned, as this is a very delicate art and what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitfish, Owner at Sushi Hi, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the chance to improve our business. I remember the night you were in, and I am sorry that we had been too busy to give you the quality experience that we desire to give our customers. We certainly are some times too busy and things are not to the level we wish for. I notice... More 

Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Sushi Hi. Super friendly staff, very accomodating to dietary requirements. Vegan friendly. Lovely sushi that wont cost you and eye haha.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

The service was great and the food was good. It's only 5 minutes walk from our apartment and it's a friendly family business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We are locals and have been eating here for 2+ years. We come back for the food- the sushi is made fresh, and the owner is happy to make whatever your heart desires. The service is normally friendly and fast, sometimes the younger boys get a bit frazzled when its busy- but they still serve you with a smile. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Healesville, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Went there today to get some takeaway for lunch. Quite a few there ordering takeaway. Nothing prepacked which is unusual for sushi shop offering takeaway. Nobody sitting at bench for lunch. Very disorganized. The lunch time crowd is going to be mainly takeaway so get organized! Sushi was ok but won't go back for takeaway that's for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Not your typical sushi joint, and i work at a sushi restaurant! Sushi boat instead of train and an amazing fish tank in the middle. Super friendly and helpful staff, we had a nice chat to some of them while waiting. We ordered the meal deal that was on at the time $35 for miso, sushi, hot food and dessert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Its a bring your own alcohol sushi bar with sushi boats instead. Big portions of miso soup and very reasonable. Loads of choice for order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The food was pretty good, at a very good price. The main attraction of this restaurant is the very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We decided to dine for lunch while both myself and my partner having colds and the woman on duty sent us home with complimentary miso soups. She also informed us not only on good tourist spots but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smithton, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Owner and chef very knowledgable about her food. Once I said "Paleo" she was right on to it: Sushi sans-rice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hi also viewed

Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sushi Hi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Shop 3/390 | Shute harbour road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Airlie Beach

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Sushi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget

Description

Does not have a website.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sushi Hi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?