We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Hastings Restaurants

Pernel Kitchen

1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings, New Zealand
+64 6 8783383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 53 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $8 - $16
Hours:
Tue - Fri 8:30 am - 3:30 pm
Sat - Sun 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Cuisines: Café, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Pernel Kitchen is set amidst a working orchard where high quality produce is lovingly grown. Fresh, quality, seasonal and local are elements very dear to the heart of Pernel Kitchen.The Chef seeks inspiration from his surroundings and produces affordable, unfussy, beautifully presented cafe style food bursting with flavour. Our own produce as well as those of other local growers is showcased in his dishes. Pernel Kitchen has indoor and outdoor seating (with shade in summer) as well as a small children's playground. Menus change regularly. Private functions and out-catering are also welcome. Our experienced staff are able to work closely with you to exceed your expectations.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Come on guys, you can do a lot better - I know we only had a grabone but - sausages with a bit of potato and gravy, with tough skins and sausages that looked as if they had been boiled it was not very appetising. My partner's pork and apple pie was dry and tasteless. With such beautiful surroundings and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased you love our fresh produce. Regarding our Express Lunch meal that you had. For $18 you get a lunch size meal as well as a glass of wine from the renowned Gimblett Gravels. The sausage dish uses toulouse sausages which are gluten and preservative free from... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I recently went to the Hawkes Bay to visit family and we tried out a bunch of different places. This one was the very bottom of my list. Very limited menu and the staff were absolutely terrible. The food in the cabinet looked unappetising and was far too expensive. I waited over 40 minutes for a toasted sandwich and pasta... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to eat at Pernel Kitchen when you were in the Bay. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We use it for training purposes in both the kitchen and front of house. All feedback is passed on to our team for review. I am very pleased to tell you that since your visit... More

Wellington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is kind of in the middle of nowhere so I would say it is a ‘destination’ place. The cabinet food looked pretty good and there was good variety on the menu but T was tempted by the platter for two so it was ordered and paid for. Hot drinks came out quick enough then we waited and waited.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

HI Meguin. Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable review and choosing to dine in our cafe on your recent visit to Hastings. Our platter is very popular and we are pleased that you found the food tasty and nicely cooked. We however sincerely apologise for the wait time you experienced and the items that weren't hot enough.... More

Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I took my Granddaughter there for lunch on Monday for her 21st. What a disappointment it was. I used a GrabOne voucher which cost me $20, we had the so called platter for two, normal price $40, it was not even worth the $20 I paid for the voucher let alone the $40 it would normally cost. I paid $8... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Leigh. I thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We have had a lot of positive feedback directly from customers in our cafe regarding the Winter platter however I am very sorry that your experience was disappointing. Your comments have been shared with our team. We look forward to the opportunity to have you return and... More

Hastings
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place has good food for a good price. Also you can buy fruit and vegetables when in season and also real fruit ice cream or yoghurt ice cream. You can sit outside and also do a farm tour if you want. This is a good place for tourists as has a souvenir shop as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review Pernel and Pernel Kitchen and appreciate your fantastic feedback. More

Havelock North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Had lunch here today, not at all busy in fact there was only us and another couple their. I had the beef salad which was a good size for lunch, I'd asked for the dressing on the side, the lady serving had obviously forgotten it then remembered to bring it mid way through! the beef was very over cooked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a bit of a spur of the moment breakfast here after seeing grabone vouchers available and not having been there before. My husband had the eggs benedict and really enjoyed it, I had the mushrooms on toast which were so yummy I can't wait to go back! The kids shared a plate of waffles which they kindly offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are wrapped that you loved the food, coffee and customer service. These aspects are all really important to us. Thanks again. More

Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Another lovely and tasty breakfast at Pernel Kitchen We have been here several times now and the food is always great. Love the use of local fresh produce, the tomatoes from Zoe's Garden were sweet and juicy, and the coffee was hot and creamy. The sharing platter looks like our next choice for a lunch date :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to give us a review and for your lovely feedback. Using local produce and enhancing the fabulous flavours Mother Nature has already created in the backyard is important to us. It's great that you had fabulous coffee too. We've just updated our sharing platter for Autumn so are keen to hear what you think. Look... More

Whangarei
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped to get some fruit and eat in the café. The woman behind the counter was SO rude and unhelpful we left without either as I would not want to give her any of my money. We went 100 meters up the road and discovered another berry place - got what we wanted, bought divine ice creams and got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We take them very seriously and over the last couple of months have been working very hard on improving all aspects of our Fresh Produce Shop including our service to customers. We now have a great range of fresh fruit and vegetables as well as some of the local Farmers artisan products. Since you visited... More

Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were given a Grab one for christmas and decided to use it while the weather was still good. On arrival we had a very long wait at the counter.The grab one was for two glasses of wine and a platter for two.The girl finally took our voucher and asked us what wine we would like. We headed outside to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your concerns and are sorry you had a bad experience. We have been working hard to ensure our service is consistently great every day. We hope you will consider coming back and trying our Autumn Platter so that we can pleasantly surprise you. More

Travelers who viewed Pernel Kitchen also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Clive, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pernel Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pernel Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing