We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Hastings Restaurants

Pernel Kitchen

1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings, New Zealand
+64 6 8783383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 53 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $8 - $15
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 am - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: Café, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Pernel Kitchen is set amidst a working orchard where high quality produce is lovingly grown. Fresh, quality, seasonal and local are elements very dear to the heart of Pernel Kitchen.The Chef seeks inspiration from his surroundings and produces affordable, unfussy, beautifully presented cafe style food bursting with flavour. Our own produce as well as those of other local growers is showcased in his dishes. Pernel Kitchen has indoor and outdoor seating (with shade in summer) as well as a small children's playground. Menus change regularly. Private functions and out-catering are also welcome. Our experienced staff are able to work closely with you to exceed your expectations.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Had a grab one voucher during the school holidays so decided to take the kids here... All three children enjoyed their meals however it was a long wait for 3 young children when it wasn't very busy. Also on grab one it said this was a great place to bring kids as you can go through a petting zoo of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We have been here several times with our grab one vouchers and have found the service adequate as they were quite busy. The food portions are generous. Lovely setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is pleasing to know that you have visited us on several occasions. Our garden courtyard has had a 'spruce up' in time for Spring and our new Chef is producing some fantastic food so we are thrilled that you enjoyed your lunches and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Hawke's Bay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Come on guys, you can do a lot better - I know we only had a grabone but - sausages with a bit of potato and gravy, with tough skins and sausages that looked as if they had been boiled it was not very appetising. My partner's pork and apple pie was dry and tasteless. With such beautiful surroundings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased you love our fresh produce. Regarding our Express Lunch meal that you had. For $18 you get a lunch size meal as well as a glass of wine from the renowned Gimblett Gravels. The sausage dish uses toulouse sausages which are gluten and preservative free from... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I recently went to the Hawkes Bay to visit family and we tried out a bunch of different places. This one was the very bottom of my list. Very limited menu and the staff were absolutely terrible. The food in the cabinet looked unappetising and was far too expensive. I waited over 40 minutes for a toasted sandwich and pasta... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to eat at Pernel Kitchen when you were in the Bay. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We use it for training purposes in both the kitchen and front of house. All feedback is passed on to our team for review. I am very pleased to tell you that since your visit... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I recently went to the Hawkes Bay to visit family and we tried out a bunch of different places. This one was the very bottom of my list. Very limited menu and the staff were absolutely terrible. I waited over 40 minutes for a toasted sandwich and pasta and it's not like they were busy. 5 other couples or individuals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is kind of in the middle of nowhere so I would say it is a ‘destination’ place. The cabinet food looked pretty good and there was good variety on the menu but T was tempted by the platter for two so it was ordered and paid for. Hot drinks came out quick enough then we waited and waited.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

HI Meguin. Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable review and choosing to dine in our cafe on your recent visit to Hastings. Our platter is very popular and we are pleased that you found the food tasty and nicely cooked. We however sincerely apologise for the wait time you experienced and the items that weren't hot enough.... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I took my Granddaughter there for lunch on Monday for her 21st. What a disappointment it was. I used a GrabOne voucher which cost me $20, we had the so called platter for two, normal price $40, it was not even worth the $20 I paid for the voucher let alone the $40 it would normally cost. I paid $8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Leigh. I thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We have had a lot of positive feedback directly from customers in our cafe regarding the Winter platter however I am very sorry that your experience was disappointing. Your comments have been shared with our team. We look forward to the opportunity to have you return and... More 

Hastings
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place has good food for a good price. Also you can buy fruit and vegetables when in season and also real fruit ice cream or yoghurt ice cream. You can sit outside and also do a farm tour if you want. This is a good place for tourists as has a souvenir shop as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review Pernel and Pernel Kitchen and appreciate your fantastic feedback. More 

Havelock North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Had lunch here today, not at all busy in fact there was only us and another couple their. I had the beef salad which was a good size for lunch, I'd asked for the dressing on the side, the lady serving had obviously forgotten it then remembered to bring it mid way through! the beef was very over cooked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a bit of a spur of the moment breakfast here after seeing grabone vouchers available and not having been there before. My husband had the eggs benedict and really enjoyed it, I had the mushrooms on toast which were so yummy I can't wait to go back! The kids shared a plate of waffles which they kindly offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are wrapped that you loved the food, coffee and customer service. These aspects are all really important to us. Thanks again. More 

Travelers who viewed Pernel Kitchen also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Clive, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pernel Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pernel Kitchen

Address: 1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 6 8783383
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Hastings
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Monday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 am - 3:30 pm  8:30 pm - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
Cuisine: Café, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pernel Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?