We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
07 4125 2077
Website
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 55 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 11
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average at best

The mocktail drinks were fantastic but from there on in... The food was basic with lots of lettuce and carrot filling out a burger. A spinach and pumpkin lamb salad with no spinach. Chips cooked in cool dirty oil gave them a distinct flavour. The beer was cold. Try it, you might like it...

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 30, 2015
Yorkshirejon27
,
Hervey Bay, Australia
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 NEW

The mocktail drinks were fantastic but from there on in... The food was basic with lots of lettuce and carrot filling out a burger. A spinach and pumpkin lamb salad with no spinach. Chips cooked in cool dirty oil gave them a distinct flavour. The beer was cold. Try it, you might like it...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaudesert, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

On the Esplanade so you can watch the world pass by. Great food and great value especially the Breakfast Menu :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We were surprised at the range of meals available, and making a choice was difficult. Once we had ordered at the counter, we were left on our own to find seats, and strangely not given a number or anything to identify us. We walked outside to sit, but unfortunately none of the tables could seat five of us without blocking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Hi guys, thank you for your feedback and your time to write it. We are very pleased you liked our range of meals. We are sorry to hear that you felt a bit lost. After you order you just find yourself a table (if you haven’t done so before). We do not provide no.‘s as each of our table has... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

Ordered basic dim sims, spring rolls, prawns vegetables, garlic sauce Got home served it out Disappointed Two other places been around for a long time is china world and one on Torquay road that is consistently good Been to simply wok twice First time was good Had not been there for a few years Second time not so good That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback.We, here at Simply Wok, are very disapointed to learn about your experience. However, it is very hard to learn form it as you do not specify what was wrong with your order. Was it the size, taste, presentation which was so disapointing? We will appreciate if you talk to us next time you order... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Good value for money. Open after 8pm was a bonus. Within walking distance of our accommodation and opp. the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Hey guys, We are very happy you found us and you liked the food. Thank you for sharing your experience with others and we hope next time you are in Hervey Bay you will choose your accommodation close to us again. Wishing you all the best form Simply Wok. More 

Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Some great combination of continental food. The ham sandwich and bowl of beer battered chips was really good (and filling). Service waw Ok, as expected. Ambience is good and to top it up there's free wifi. Tada! You can go here with friends and family :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Sumanta, Simply Wok team would like to thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and liked our free wifi. Thank you again for your support and we hope we will see you dining with us very soon. All the best from Simply Wok. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Dined here recently with a few friends. Myself and another friend had the Lamb cutlets and Roast pumpkin Salad... it was devine. My other friend had the Creamy Garlic prawns and she too was inpressed. Coffee was very nice the only disappointment I had was the cocktails we had... they looked nothing like the pictures in the menu and lacked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Natasha, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy you loved the food, as the Lamb and roast pumpkin salad is our favorite as well. Creamy garlic prawns are not far behind either. We apologize for the cocktails, they should look as close to advertised picture as possible and have garnish as well. We will address this... More 

Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The girls here do a spectacular breakfast from the menu or create your own. Fresh squeezed fruit juices and smoothies plus excellent coffee. As everywhere a pot of tea wasn't perfect but otherwise a great big brekkie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you very much for such a lovely review. All girls from Simply Wok are pleased that you enjoyed your time here and of course food and coffee. We wish you all the best truly hope to see you soon. Simply Wok team More 

Wodonga, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The Asian owner is not the friendliest unless we just caught her on a bad day The staff seemed ok nothing above and beyond The food was terrible both hubby & I had stomach aches after eating their buffet and we only had one plate each Beer is over priced there as is the cans of soft drink

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing about your experience. The lady owner is actually very nice and caring. As you said it might have been just busy and stressful day or language barrier. We are sorry we did not satisfy you with the buffet, however, we do not recall any complaints about quality of the food on the night or... More 

Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We chose Simply Wok for the wide range of food choices and not being too crowded. Staff were welcoming but the first table we tried needed to be wiped. Family members chose a Chinese buffet which they said was average. I had to wait a while for my a la carte dish (lamb, roast pumpkin and feta salad) to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you very much taking your time to write a nice feedback. We are sorry for your table not being wiped down, it should not happen, however, the table must have been recently used and our staff members just haven’t finished cleaning the table. Apologies. We are happy you liked the a la carte lamb dish, it is one of... More 

Travelers who viewed Simply Wok also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Torquay, Hervey Bay
 
Urangan, Hervey Bay
 

Been to Simply Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Fraser Coast  >  Hervey Bay
  • Phone Number: 07 4125 2077

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Simply Wok staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?