We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
07 4125 2077
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Good for:
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 51 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Quick and tasty meal

Good value for money. Open after 8pm was a bonus. Within walking distance of our accommodation and opp. the beach.

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 1, 2015
P S
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Buffet
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Good value for money. Open after 8pm was a bonus. Within walking distance of our accommodation and opp. the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Some great combination of continental food. The ham sandwich and bowl of beer battered chips was really good (and filling). Service waw Ok, as expected. Ambience is good and to top it up there's free wifi. Tada! You can go here with friends and family :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Dined here recently with a few friends. Myself and another friend had the Lamb cutlets and Roast pumpkin Salad... it was devine. My other friend had the Creamy Garlic prawns and she too was inpressed. Coffee was very nice the only disappointment I had was the cocktails we had... they looked nothing like the pictures in the menu and lacked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The girls here do a spectacular breakfast from the menu or create your own. Fresh squeezed fruit juices and smoothies plus excellent coffee. As everywhere a pot of tea wasn't perfect but otherwise a great big brekkie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you very much for such a lovely review. All girls from Simply Wok are pleased that you enjoyed your time here and of course food and coffee. We wish you all the best truly hope to see you soon. Simply Wok team More 

Wodonga, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The Asian owner is not the friendliest unless we just caught her on a bad day The staff seemed ok nothing above and beyond The food was terrible both hubby & I had stomach aches after eating their buffet and we only had one plate each Beer is over priced there as is the cans of soft drink

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing about your experience. The lady owner is actually very nice and caring. As you said it might have been just busy and stressful day or language barrier. We are sorry we did not satisfy you with the buffet, however, we do not recall any complaints about quality of the food on the night or... More 

Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We chose Simply Wok for the wide range of food choices and not being too crowded. Staff were welcoming but the first table we tried needed to be wiped. Family members chose a Chinese buffet which they said was average. I had to wait a while for my a la carte dish (lamb, roast pumpkin and feta salad) to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you very much taking your time to write a nice feedback. We are sorry for your table not being wiped down, it should not happen, however, the table must have been recently used and our staff members just haven’t finished cleaning the table. Apologies. We are happy you liked the a la carte lamb dish, it is one of... More 

Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Service was poor, food was just above average, cramped seating on the footpath in order to get more seating outside, gives people less room to move their chairs, black fences that have right up to the kerb makes it very hard for people with walking disabilities to gain access

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you Michael for your honest feedback. Even thou it is not positive one we appreciate it. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, however, when we looked at your other contributions around Hervey Bay, no other place really did, but Boat Club. Unfortunately, we are not able to provide as much space freedom like them,... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Attended with young family. Thought the food was great and service was superb. Price however was a little expensive. Only downfall was cutlery was boiling hot and burnt my hand. Either it was straight out of dishwasher or under hot box area. I would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you Rob for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased you liked our Simply Wok meals and service. The cutlery might have been too close to the buffet for which we apologize for. Please, do not hesitate to call our staff for assistance with any problems or issues, we will be more than happy to help. All the best... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

We had the rudest waitress twice. Makes us feel like it's annoying we dine there. Will not be back not paying money to rude people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It seems you were not happy in Simply Wok and Café Tapas at the same day. We are sorry you were not having a good day. We do not employ rude employees, we pick them carefully as these people are faces of our business. You have plenty of choices where to dine in in Hervey... More 

Ninderry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I am particular about my coffee and it was great. My BLT took 35 minutes but was good. There was a group of twelve there at the same time though. I would have liked water on my table and a steak knife to eat my food. All this aside, I would return for the coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Dale, Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you liked our coffee, we like it too. We are sorry you had to wait that long for your meal and at the same time we thank you for understanding, as it was busy time for us. We provide tap water if our guests ask for it. There is... More 

Travelers who viewed Simply Wok also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Torquay, Hervey Bay
 
Torquay, Hervey Bay
Urangan, Hervey Bay
 

Been to Simply Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Fraser Coast  >  Hervey Bay
  • Phone Number: 07 4125 2077

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Simply Wok staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?