We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
07 4125 2077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 111 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

The girls here do a spectacular breakfast from the menu or create your own. Fresh squeezed fruit juices and smoothies plus excellent coffee. As everywhere a pot of tea wasn't perfect but otherwise a great big brekkie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wodonga, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The Asian owner is not the friendliest unless we just caught her on a bad day The staff seemed ok nothing above and beyond The food was terrible both hubby & I had stomach aches after eating their buffet and we only had one plate each Beer is over priced there as is the cans of soft drink

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing about your experience. The lady owner is actually very nice and caring. As you said it might have been just busy and stressful day or language barrier. We are sorry we did not satisfy you with the buffet, however, we do not recall any complaints about quality of the food on the night or... More 

Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We chose Simply Wok for the wide range of food choices and not being too crowded. Staff were welcoming but the first table we tried needed to be wiped. Family members chose a Chinese buffet which they said was average. I had to wait a while for my a la carte dish (lamb, roast pumpkin and feta salad) to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you very much taking your time to write a nice feedback. We are sorry for your table not being wiped down, it should not happen, however, the table must have been recently used and our staff members just haven’t finished cleaning the table. Apologies. We are happy you liked the a la carte lamb dish, it is one of... More 

Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Service was poor, food was just above average, cramped seating on the footpath in order to get more seating outside, gives people less room to move their chairs, black fences that have right up to the kerb makes it very hard for people with walking disabilities to gain access

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you Michael for your honest feedback. Even thou it is not positive one we appreciate it. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, however, when we looked at your other contributions around Hervey Bay, no other place really did, but Boat Club. Unfortunately, we are not able to provide as much space freedom like them,... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Attended with young family. Thought the food was great and service was superb. Price however was a little expensive. Only downfall was cutlery was boiling hot and burnt my hand. Either it was straight out of dishwasher or under hot box area. I would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you Rob for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased you liked our Simply Wok meals and service. The cutlery might have been too close to the buffet for which we apologize for. Please, do not hesitate to call our staff for assistance with any problems or issues, we will be more than happy to help. All the best... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We had the rudest waitress twice. Makes us feel like it's annoying we dine there. Will not be back not paying money to rude people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It seems you were not happy in Simply Wok and Café Tapas at the same day. We are sorry you were not having a good day. We do not employ rude employees, we pick them carefully as these people are faces of our business. You have plenty of choices where to dine in in Hervey... More 

Ninderry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I am particular about my coffee and it was great. My BLT took 35 minutes but was good. There was a group of twelve there at the same time though. I would have liked water on my table and a steak knife to eat my food. All this aside, I would return for the coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Dale, Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you liked our coffee, we like it too. We are sorry you had to wait that long for your meal and at the same time we thank you for understanding, as it was busy time for us. We provide tap water if our guests ask for it. There is... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Not stand out for food - but friendly, & everything else in bay shut? Great. Clean, enough options to be interesting. So credit where due.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are always delighted to feed happy "hungry" people any time of the day. Chinese food is not everyone's favourite, therefore we have other options on the menu such as rump steak or lasagne to satisfy everyone. Thank you again for the credit again and next time you are looking for some late bite... More 

Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We were very surprised to find this delightful restaurant open for Saturday breakfast and the wide range of food on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you Sandy, for a lovely feedback. We are open 7 days a week all year long so you can enjoy your Simply Wok dishes any day. When you are around next time, just pop in to say hello ;-) All the best Simply Wok team More 

Derby, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Had the all you can eat buffet and it was excellent food and value for money. Everything was fresh and tasty plus the staff were very helpful and polite. Definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Simply Wok team cannot get better reward than an awesome review. Thank you very much for one. Our ‘’all you can eat buffet’’ (dine in or take away) is very popular among regulars as well as visitors to Hervey Bay. When you visit us next time maybe try our ala carte menu for a change, we promise you, you won’t... More 

Travelers who viewed Simply Wok also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Torquay, Hervey Bay
 
Scarness, Hervey Bay
 

Been to Simply Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Wok

Address: 417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number: 07 4125 2077
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Fraser Coast  >  Hervey Bay
Open Hours:
Sunday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Simply Wok staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?