We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
07 4125 2077
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Seating, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 79 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Affordable buffet Chinese

If your after a nice affordable Chinese buffet you can't go wrong here, dine in or take away with a great free selection of Chinese cuisine and a friendly welcoming atmosphere.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
MichaelNicole81
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If your after a nice affordable Chinese buffet you can't go wrong here, dine in or take away with a great free selection of Chinese cuisine and a friendly welcoming atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank MichaelNicole81
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a Resident of Hervey Bay and I always like to try new food. But I will never return to Simply wok again and will tell all my friends and family to avoid the place! I tried the dinner buffet with some friends a few months ago, only the rice tasted fresh, though it was mushy. Food tasted like... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LukeP951
Noosa Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Msg laden food. Do not attempt the spring rolls , I had to spat mine out. It's just horrible and a complete waste of money. Mongolian beef tastes so salty and it's just awful. You will be drinking heaps of water, so best avoid. Do yrself a favour and find another Chinese restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank JLCWard
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

We appreciate your time you spent on writing your review. It is disappointing to hear about your experience with our buffet. However, in situations like this it would be really preferable if you talked to us while dining in. We could have offered you a replacement and perhaps you wouldn't feel that visit to Simply Wok was such a waste... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a group of 11 and all chose the buffet. The food was hot, tasty and abundant. At $19 the buffet is great value. The decor was relaxed. The coffee was really good too.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn, We appreciate your feedback. It is true the buffet is very satisfying and great value for money. You get to try a lot of different dishes and you can eat as much as you can. It is also a fabulous way of dinning for bigger groups when no one has to wait for their meal to come out,... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

A group of us went for breakfast a few months ago and it was ok, apart from the big dead cockroach on the floor near our table. I recently took my kids there for dinner as I felt like some Chinese food. I ordered chips and nuggets for the kids (very big portions) and a bowl of fried rice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 666hel666
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. If you were not happy with your meal, there is really nothing easier than to talk to our friendly staff. If we are not aware of any issues we can't fix them. However, we will talk to all our team members about improving their customer service by checking the quality of the food with every... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

Visited on Christmas Eve with my family. Firstly we were thankful that Simply Wok was open. Three of us got the buffet and my daughter and I shared an order of dumplings. The dumplings were very good. My family tells me that they liked the food on the buffet but most of the items that they preferred ran out. Perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snidbit
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for such an honest feedback. If we are not as busy we cook the buffet dishes to order to maintain its freshness. There is nothing easier than to ask our front staff for more food, however, we will talk to our team members to make sure they are all aware to check with our customers whether they would... More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Ordered special fried rice and a combination noodle dish and the portions were massive and cooked well. Have always been a fan of the tappas next door and am now a fan of this place too.

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa2727
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa, Thank you for your review. Our meals are cooked with love and it is satisfying that you felt it. Now, you have a lot of options to choose from since you are a fan of our both cafes. See you soon. Simply Wok team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Had the buffet on the weekend and it was such good value for what's on offer, the satay chicken skewers and honey chicken especially. We all enjoyed it so much we will be regulars now for sure, can't believe we've been here for years and only just stumbled across it. Keep up the great work Simply Wok 😄

Helpful?
Thank jodiehungerford
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Dear Jodie, Thank you for such a lovely feedback. Our Buffet has a lot to offer and for $19 you get to try so many different dishes. It is great to read that you will become our regular. We are looking forward to having you in Simply Wok again. More 

Caloundra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

This is your typical Asian fare with the usual suspects eg your dried battered pork bits, and battered chicken bits with the sauce of your choice to moisten them up a bit. I do like the Mongolian lamb and the egg fu yung. There is always plenty to chose from and its very filling with a bit of taste. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyL576
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tony. We are glad you come to Simply Wok for our All You Can Eat Chinese Buffet whenever you can. We hope to see you soon. Simply Wok team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Coffee is always excellent here. I'm a local and I come here a lot just for the coffee. They get a lot of regulars which is a good sign . I'm not big into buffets though

Helpful?
Thank peadear511
Martina Z, Public Relations Manager at Simply Wok, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is true we have a lot of coffee regulars. Simply Wok, however, doesn't offer only coffees and Chinese buffet. We have very nice and yum Lunch and Breakfast menu as well so just pop in and try it. You won't be disappointed. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. Simply Wok team More 

Travelers who viewed Simply Wok also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Torquay, Hervey Bay
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Simply Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 417 Esplanade | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Fraser Coast  >  Hervey Bay
  • Phone Number: 07 4125 2077

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese, Asian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Simply Wok staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?