We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 196 Toowoomba Restaurants

Weis Seafood Smorgasbord

2 Margaret Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
+61 7 4632 7666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 196 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Price range: $9 - $59
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    31
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW

Went here for my 59th birthday. So lovely and clean. Staff very attentive. Good selection of food. Could not complain/ There was so much to choose from. . I over ate. Rolled down the hill to our motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Weis. Happy Birthday! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. You are now also in our monthly draw to win a voucher so that you can return. Good luck! We look forward to seeing you again at Weis Restaurant. Kind regards Weis Management More

Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My husband and I were chasing some where nice to celebrate our anniversary. When I suggested that we visit Weis's, As this is where my family used to celebrate all of our important occasions. My husband had never been, so I had been talking it up from my previous visits. When we arrived we had booked a table, to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Weis. We are also disappointed that your visit did not live up to your expectations. It is important to us that every one of our guests leaves feeling happy and we are sorry that this was not the case for you. Please be assured that we are addressing the... More

Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

So disappointing to see the extent to which this once classic restaurant has deteriorated. The decor is now shabby and needs updating. The seafood smorgasbord and hot buffet offer a limited selection, poorly prepared and presented; my once favourite dessert bar lacked variety and the items I did choose were stale. None of the elements that used to make this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Weis. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Please be assured that we take your comments seriously and will address these issues with our staff and management. We do hope to see you again at Weis. Kind regards Weis Management More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a party of three for the smorgasbord, and left after one drink. Depressing 1980s budget seaside motel atmosphere, harried young staff, and a buffet that looked like boarding school dinners. We had a couple of horrendous cocktails and proceeded to the nearest pub for a proper meal for a third of the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to Weis. Our goal is for everyone who visits to have the best experience possible, and we apologise that you did not in this case. Please be assured that your comments are passed on to staff and management to be addressed. Kind regards... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

Seafood smorgasbord has gone downhill,prawns are tasteless, spanner crabs were watery, no marron even though you advertise them,little things like finger bowls,home made bread rolls,all gone. Less and less of quality food more and more food like you get in shopping centres.Paying Top dollar for second rate tasteless seafood. Won't be going back, not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Weis. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, as our aim is to always provide the best possible experience. We appreciate your comments and please be assured that we will address the issues you have raised with our staff and management. We hope that you will visit... More

Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Positioned in lovely gardens at the top of the Toowoomba range Weis Seafood restaurant sits comfortably in an historical home built circa 1890's. Once the prized residence of a local doctor the building has been expanded and survived many uses. for many years now it has been a smorgasbord seafood and al la carte' restaurant and retains much of its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Weis. We appreciate your comments and notice that your last visit was in June. We would like to inform you that since June we have a new chef on staff and we are confident that should you return you will find the quality of the food and service offering much improved. We hope to... More

Perth WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Nice, abundant, fresh and varied food and SENSATIONAL STAFF. We (2) went on a Thursday (23rd October)evening without a booking. It became obvious they had been surprised by the number of walk-in diners arrived that night and whilst service was slightly slow, they had a young lady there who REALLY moved quickly, efficiently and with a smile on her face... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your recent visit to Weis. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and particularly that you found our staff member to be fantastic. We will certainly pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again soon at Weis! Kind regards Weis Management More

Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I went there with my aunt n' uncle. We did go for buffet and ala carte ordering. For the buffet, choices are not much, but the food taste very good, especially the grilled barramundi, mashed potatoes, and the crab. I tried everything until i got not much room for the dessert. We ordered an ala carte for my uncle, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Weis. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit - our aim is that everyone has a wonderful experience at Weis and we are happy to hear that you did. We look forward to seeing you at Weis again soon. Kind regards Weis Management More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

We had been to Weiss restaurant once before to the seafood smorgasbord and we were all very disappointed with the freshness of the seafood and the quality of the offering and presentation. However we thought we would try the a la carte menu just to be open minded. A virtually empty restaurant is probably a bad sign. And it was,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Weis. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We are taking your comments seriously and taking steps to address them. We would appreciate you letting us know the exact date of your visit so that we are able to discuss these issues... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We dined on a weeknight when there was no buffet, so can only speak about the regular menu on this occasion. We had been on numerous occasions and had the buffet and loved it. Fish was dry/atrophied, my steak ?sauce was a lump of gelatinous goo and my veges were those packet microwaved ones!! My husband (an ex-chef) had asian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Weis. We appreciate your comments and please be assured that we take the issues you have mentioned seriously and will address them with our staff. To assist us in ensuring that this experience is not repeated, could you please contact me directly to give me some... More

Travelers who viewed Weis Seafood Smorgasbord also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Weis Seafood Smorgasbord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weis Seafood Smorgasbord

Address: 2 Margaret Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number: +61 7 4632 7666
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Toowoomba
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 9 - 59
Cuisine: Seafood, Australian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing