We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 202 Toowoomba Restaurants

Weis Seafood Smorgasbord

2 Margaret Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
+61 7 4632 7666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 202 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Price range: $8 - $56
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    38
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

went for lunch.prawns were tasteless and small.baked ham,pork belly in noodles,fried chicken were the meat dishes.very few salads and veges.sweets dishes were mostly empty with dirty ,empty plates left there.no refills.once was best in town but is very very ordinary and not worth money.would not recommend for a visit.other b etter places that have lots to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

What a great buffet of fabulous seafood, yummy prawns,crabs and mussels.!!!! As well as wonderful range of roasts and warm dishes...beautiful desserts, great setting, very good staff... Cannot recommend high enough , great value !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We visited Weis' restaurant for our Christmas dinner, as a treat for our staff. Whilst we were all excited about having our staff get-together there, I was disappointed with the range of both seafood & hot meals in general. For those not eating seafood, the hot options were soup, fish & chips, baked ham, some basic baked veges, a curry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

On arrival our pre booked table was set with one short setting but this was quickly fixed. The restaurant was busy although not many young people. Had not been there for several years. Unusual to see flies in the restaurant as there is only one small entrance/exit and an air curtain would have fixed that. Pretty warm inside but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laidley
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

The seafood was good and also the service, but must say, the staff need to know how to set a table as My setting had four forks instead of two knives/two forks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

went weis restaurant because it is the oldest seafood restaurant in Toowoomba, but a bit disappointing, the food was ok, nothing special,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We (a group of 8)went to Weis's restaurant last weekend after a couple of years going by since our last visit. My husband and I had the buffet and one couple in the group ordered off the main menu. So, so very disappointed. Not being a great seafood lover I opted for what else was available. What I ended up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Weis. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your disappointment. Please be assured that we take your comments seriously and have addressed the issues you raised with our management and staff. We do hope that you will return to Weis in the future. Kind regards Weis... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This place could really do with a revamp, it's dark, and some rooms quiet pokey with a musty smell. I have a feeling the prawns had been frozen as they did not have a lot of taste. The salads not overly impressive, the baked veg overdone, the desserts were pretty nice. If you want a great seafood buffet maybe drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your visit to Weis. We are disappointed that on this occasion you did not enjoy your experience. We take your comments seriously and address the issues you have raised with our staff and management. We do hope that you will visit again. Kind regards Weis Management More 

Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Surprised my mother for her birthday and we all loved the experience. They staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face. The food was amazing and we especially loved the chocolate fountain and dessert bar. Thank you for your excellent hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your recent visit to Weis. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. The chocolate fountain is certainly a favourite with many of our guests! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Weis Management More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

My husband surprised me with a trip to Toowoomba and dinner at Weis for our 25th wedding anniversary. Weis restaurant is a well known and somewhere I have always wanted to go, being a seafood lover. The setting and decor is really lovely, a bit crowded though and seemed to be too many tables for the size of the house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent visit to Weis. We are pleased that you enjoyed the ambience of the historic building - it is certainly unique! It is our intention for all of our guests to have a wonderful experience and we are sorry that on this occasion you left a little disappointed. Please be assured that... More 

Travelers who viewed Weis Seafood Smorgasbord also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Weis Seafood Smorgasbord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weis Seafood Smorgasbord

Address: 2 Margaret Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number: +61 7 4632 7666
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Toowoomba
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 56
Cuisine: Seafood, Australian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Weis Seafood Smorgasbord staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?