We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Cacciatore Restaurant

609 McDonald Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 7639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 50 restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Il Cacciatore specializes in Northern Italian Cuisine, it is not fast food. Each pasta , risotto and gnocchi is individually created in the pan, no premade sauces for us. Il Cacciatore is open from 6pm nightly. Il Cacciatore is licensed, reservations recommended Private dining room may seat up to 30 guests. The deck over looking the vineyard and dam is open during the warmer summer months, weather permitting. Take Out of pizzas and pastas are available for pick from 5pm nightly.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Il Cacciatore specializes in Northern Italian Cuisine, it is not fast food. Each pasta , risotto and gnocchi is individually created in the pan, no premade sauces for us. Il Cacciatore is open from 6pm nightly. Il Cacciatore is licensed, reservations recommended Private dining room may seat up to 30 guests. The deck over looking the vineyard and dam is open during the warmer summer months, weather permitting. Take Out of pizzas and pastas are available for pick from 5pm nightly.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    105
    61
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

I have to say the meals here are truly beautiful...see photos and make up your own mind. We visited from Brisbane and were recommended this place by a local winery. So impressed with not only the food but wait staff on the ball and not pestering you. The atmosphere very peaceful even though we dined with the restaurant half full.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Il Cacciatore Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to write such a great review. The staff check this site daily and a review like this it is a great reward for excellent job they do - love the photos!!! More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

The food was enjoyable and the desserts were fantastic. Went with a large group and everything went great. Look forward to going back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

Very good Italian food. Good service and nice atmosphere. Prices, although not cheap, won't break the bank. Good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

The food was beautifully presented and taste amazing with good servings. For entrée my partner and I shared the prawn & crab arrancini with chili-lime aioli with Italian coleslaw and Pan Seared Scallops on cannellini bean-caper puree with a lemon & chili oil drizzle. Both were delish! best arrancini I've had. For mains my partner had the Aged Hunter Beef... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was the best italian food we have ever had,highly recommend. Great staff very helpful and great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We travel to CMC and stay at hermitage lodge every year and we dine at the II Cacciatore restaurant. There was eight of us and we had a great evening and great food and will definitely be returning. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere and food are ok however the service was dismal. We waited two hours for our main which is totally unacceptable. Didn't offer the desert menu after the main and after waiting again so we got the bill and left. Wouldn't frequent again; there are plenty of other places that deserve our hard earned money. Not cheap either!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Il Cacciatore Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Il Cacciatore and for taking the time to write your review. You are absolutely correct that a two hour wait for gnocchi or any other meal is totally unacceptable. However, you didn’t actually wait two hours for your gnocchi - sometimes time goes slowly when you are in a hurry. You were in the restaurant for... More

Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would have loved to have ordered EVERYTHING on the menu. It was a hard choice: I loved the seafood Bisque. The dining staff are really great. I want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terranora NSW Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Il Cacciatore came recommended to us and didn't disappoint. Very cosy and staff were very attentative and friendly. We both ordered the lamb shoulder which was sensational - the serving was huge which unfortunately left no room to try the tiramisu! Will definitely return when we come back to the Hunter Valley to try some of the other dishes...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We went to this restaurant as we read some excellent reviews. But delve a little deeper than the first five review and you will notice there is inconsistency. Beware of inconsistency as it is usually a warning sign. The food was priced above average but the quality was far below average. The filet was NOT filet and burned gnocchi is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Il Cacciatore Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer Thank you for taking the time to write this review however I must say we are offended by the inaccuracies in your comments. Firstly Il Cacciatore has been in business for 22 years. The restaurant has have been judged by Restaurant and catering the Best Italian Restaurant in the Hunter/Central Coast region for the last 13 years, it... More

Travelers who viewed Il Cacciatore Restaurant also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Il Cacciatore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cacciatore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing