We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant

Seafood, International, Australian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
200 Wharf Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
61 2 49291111
Today
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 511 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 169
    Excellent
  • 177
    Very good
  • 75
    Average
  • 53
    Poor
  • 37
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Friendly atmosphere

Lovely food, friendly staff & good wine with great friends over looking the merewether beach in a relaxed restaurant.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 8, 2015
777203
,
Newcastle, Australia
via mobile
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

We don't go out often but if we happen to be in Newcastle scratchley's is out first destination. Unfortunately Last minute decisions can disappoint because you really need to book or you really have to be super lucky! Fish is always well cooked well presented, fresh and delicious . Can't wait to be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review! It’s always nice to hear from our loyal patrons and it’s a delight to know you’ve been consistently pleased with your visits. Please join us again soon! More 

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

wednesday lunch with some friends. the view is great. the service was good. value for money it was not very small portion size, even i was still hungry, and i don't eat big meals, so overall i was dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Adele, thank you for taking the time to leave such an honest review. We are sorry that you are unhappy with our portion sizes. If you would like to speak to someone in further about this review, please contact Neil at scratchleys@bigpond.com. More 

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We had the Take Away Fish and Chips from here last night and it was woeful. I could have done a better job at home. We paid premium take away prices and were overcharged as well (Didn't realize this till we got back home on a very cold night) The fish looked manufactured and not good quality. My local does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Sally148, thank you for leaving such an honest review. We are always looking to improve our guests experience in the restaurant or take away. In regards to the overcharge, please contact Neil at scratchleys@bigpond.com so we can rectify this. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We used to frequent Scratchley's very regularly and it used to be the best seafood Restaurant around. Unfortunately I can't say the same things about Scratchley's recently. The staff are terrible, they are not friendly, the food standard is very inconsistent, sometimes just OK, sometimes terrible. We have had the wrong meals delivered to our table, under cooked chicken schnitzel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Edleg, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We value your opinion as a loyal customer. We would like to speak to you in further about this review. Please contact Neil at your earliest convince at scratchleys@bigpond.com. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I love this restaurant. It seafood is so fresh the staff are excellent what more can I say. If your going to try this venue and have not booked then arrive at the opening time A must to dine at in Newcastle

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your five star rating, Steve! We truly appreciate your generous recommendation and we hope to see you in again soon! More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Lovely food, friendly staff & good wine with great friends over looking the merewether beach in a relaxed restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It’s great to hear that you and your friends had a great meal with us overlooking the beach. We appreciate your business and your kind words, and we hope to see you again sometime soon. More 

Mittagong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Had dinner here with our son and his girlfriend recently and was very impressed with all aspects. The food, service and selection of wine was great. We were given a window seat and the outlook was fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Jane, it’s so great to hear that your family had such an impressive meal with us. We love reading reviews like the one you have written. Thank you very much for the recommendation. We hope that you will join us again in the future. More 

Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My hubby and I usually come out to dine here for special occasions and it never disappoints.. Great service, lovely view, yummy food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Cassie, We love reading reviews like the one you’ve written. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback as one of our regular guests. We look forward to seeing you and your husband again soon! More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Situated in a magnificent location right over the water on the harbour. We were there for lunch on my son's 44th birthday. It was a cold winters day but sitting there (corner window table) in the sun watching the harbour was brilliant. The service was impeccable, the staff I don't think you would fault in any situation. The food although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

David, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your son’s birthday at our restaurant. Your kind words are truly appreciated and we will make sure our entire staff reads this review to hear about the great service they provided. We look forward to seeing you back at Scratchleys in the future! More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

As first time attendees to this restaurant, my partner and I were very excited about attending this highly rated eatery and becoming a fellow food lover that could rave about the brilliant experience we had there. Unfortunately this was not too be. After having our birthday group booking seperated into two tables, of which we were informed of when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review

Soph, We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience, however we feel there may have a bit of been confusion regarding some of the issues you mentioned. When you called to make the initial reservation, two days prior, we explained due to the short notice we only had two tables available to be out by 8 PM. We... More 

Travelers who viewed Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant

Address: 200 Wharf Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number: 61 2 49291111
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Cuisine: Seafood, International, Australian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 200 Wharf Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: 61 2 49291111

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, International, Australian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?