We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandfly Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
$
Coffee Shop
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
9 The Lane, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Website
Add hours for Sandfly Cafe and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 259 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 124
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great breakfast!

The staff at out hotel said the Sandfly serves the best breakfast, and they weren't lying. Pancakes, muesli, fresh orange juice, and expertly made flat white coffee, friendly staff... The Sandfly Cafe has it all.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 31, 2015
GJW3
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015 NEW

The staff at out hotel said the Sandfly serves the best breakfast, and they weren't lying. Pancakes, muesli, fresh orange juice, and expertly made flat white coffee, friendly staff... The Sandfly Cafe has it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

We grabbed a sandwich to take with us on a tour of the sound. Was a little worried, but it held up from the time we picked up (~4:15pm) until lunch the next day. Happy about that. And they made it fresh when we ordered, not pulled out of a cooler or anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 via mobile

Sadly, it's not open at night so go during the day for rich, sweet coffee. We went back twice for the super moist carrot cake and flat whites. Yum. Little tip....we were off to Milford Sound, like everybody else, so we pre-ordered the most delicious sandwiches to take on our boat. No troubles....picked them up at 7.30 and headed off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Great place, sad it's not open for dinner--always hopping. One of the best lunch spots in Te Anua. Not a "veggie-cause-we-have-to" type of place, but really good veggie meals. Good location, seating indoor and out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

My daughter said she had the best roast beef sandwich in her life! Lots of great coffee options too! Great food and quaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had coffee and breakfast. The coffee made to perfection and the breakfast quite nice. The service was good too! The ladies were smiling at us, polite, happy to assist. The place itself was good. The only thing that would need a bit of improving is the toilet. It looked bad and unclean. I would recommend thing cafe if for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Very busy place but the food was good. A bit on the pricey side but Te Anau is expensive. Service was prompt and obliging.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The Sandfly is a small, busy café in the centre of Te Anau. The noise is the worst aspect of the establishment. Music and cutlery clatter make it very noisy as the café is all hard surfaces so there is no softening of sound. There is indoor and outdoor seating. The food is average. It has lunch and snacks menus.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Went to the Sandfly two mornings in a row to enjoy their baked goodies and coffee. We didn't have cooked meals but the food looked good. Their muffins were excellent and the muesli bar is wonderful. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The hot water boiler had broken and the staff didn't know how to put a kettle on to make a hot drink! So we drove away thinking we wouldn't return again. Spoiled the whole day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolyn F, Owner at Sandfly Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to review Sandfly Cafe. Im not sure if someone is confused but we don't have a broken boiler we make all hot drinks out of our coffee machine which stays on all the time the only time we don't serve drinks is when we are closed. We do hope you come back and... More 

Travelers who viewed Sandfly Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Sandfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 The Lane, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Southland Region  >  Fiordland National Park  >  Te Anau

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Coffee Shop

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandfly Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?