We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pier 19

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
New Zealand
As featured in Queenstown and Surrounds
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lower Level, Steamer Wharf | Beach Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
03 442 4006
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Pier 19 and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 770 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 357
    Excellent
  • 284
    Very good
  • 73
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Really friendly staff, good food

Lunched here on a Saturday. Great service, hostess from US South, server from Denmark, both really nice. They serve a good beef burger.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
JW B
Add Photo Write a Review

770 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The lamb is cooked so that it is very tender, they use herbs well, and the gravy is very light, yet adds much flavor. The dish my husband and I ordered was maybe for three (or more?), yet we ended up eating most of it! (and we are not big eaters) Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank jhkim1208
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are coming to the end of our visit to NZ, we've eaten out a lot, and our meal at Pier 19 was one of the best. Most of our party had the scallops and most of us followed with the lamb. The food was superb and the mix of flavours worked really well - so well that you might... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanRamsay
Brisvegas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The best location for a restaurant in Queenstown - right in the main area by the water. Food is excellent, we ate here for brunch, lunch and dinner multiple times so had a good selection of meals. Staff were always very friendly and food/drinks are well priced. Can be a little chilly at night so if you're not dressed warmly... More 

Helpful?
Thank miss-bee-anchor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lunched here on a Saturday. Great service, hostess from US South, server from Denmark, both really nice. They serve a good beef burger.

Helpful?
Thank JW B
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We left Pier 19 last night really disappointed by very poor service and rudeness by the owner.....they just could not cope with a busy night! However, on a positive note the food was good, we both had scallops to start which were very nice, we both then had steak which was good but served cold! This was made worse by... More 

Helpful?
Thank philiphiggins
Karen H, Owner at Pier 19, responded to this review

Kia Ora I am sorry you such a poor experience and we have spoken to our staff in regards to your complaint towards the service that day. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful and we were shocked to read your comments on the "owners" attitude. We do have to point out that this in fact was not the... More 

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although very busy we were showed a table for drinks and then moved to a better table for dinner. The menu was small but the food was excellent and served fresh and hot. Staff were very friendly. Great place.

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic service over dinner. Very enjoyable entrees particularly the scallops. Main courses were also to a high standard. Wine pricing a little over the top quite frankly but not so much that we would not return.

Helpful?
Thank TelNin
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
203 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant by the water. The menu was varied with a nice choice of wines by the glass or bottle. We had the Beetroot Smoked Salmon which was delicious, and chose a Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc to accompany it which was perfect. The service was quick and efficient with prices very acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank CookRE
Central America
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

However my dining experience at pier 19 was a let down tonight. 1. The sous video lamb shoulder was or looked to be undercooked. Straight of the bat was raw but the accompaniment were average. 2. 2 white male chefs were swearing there nut off causing customers to hear. Not a very good look for diners to be hearing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The shared seafood platter for 2 easily served 3 and was paired with a New Zealand white wine. The view of the lake is stunning. Fortunately, the beautifully sunny day and good friends, make for an extremely pleasant atmosphere and a great dinning choice.

Helpful?
Thank 121RJW

Travelers who viewed Pier 19 also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Pier 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lower Level, Steamer Wharf | Beach Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Queenstown
  • Phone Number: 03 442 4006

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 35
  • Cuisine: New Zealand

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pier 19 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?