We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paddington Arms

220 Bainfield Road, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
03 2158156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 60 restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: English, British, Gastropub, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Do you love the comfort of English Pub inspired food, with a personal Southland twist? Would you enjoy a diverse, high quality menu using the very best of Southland’s products at reasonable prices for all age groups? Do you sometimes want a break from cooking for your family or partner, and enjoy a warm, cosy, and relaxing evening?Then you have come across the only Invercargill Restaurant that will over deliver on all your wishes.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Do you love the comfort of English Pub inspired food, with a personal Southland twist? Would you enjoy a diverse, high quality menu using the very best of Southland’s products at reasonable prices for all age groups? Do you sometimes want a break from cooking for your family or partner, and enjoy a warm, cosy, and relaxing evening?Then you have come across the only Invercargill Restaurant that will over deliver on all your wishes.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    27
    7
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

A friend and I ate here last night, Was very suspicious that a quality meal at under $20 was obtainable. I was wrong. We both had the pork main and it was absolutely perfect. Best of all was the waitress whose bubbly personality and top service added to the quality of the meal . Sadly they weren't able to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Farmgirl224, Thanks for your feedback, glad you enjoyed yourselves. The braised pork is my favourite also. Hope you enjoyed the show after dinner, look forward to seeing you again. Cheers More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

We had a lovely dinner at the Paddington Arms. They went to extra effort for my husbands birthday. The staff are one of the best things about this place, they are so friendly and attentive. The meals are really good value and we will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi JCF1409, Birthdays are always such fun, we will always do our best to make the occasion that little bit special. Thanks for choosing to share the celebrations with us. Cheers More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

We called in for Tea last week-The Restaurant was warm and staff very welcoming-Totally recommend this place for the tastiest food Only $20.00 and worth a lot more-we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi osullivan2014 Thanks for your feedback, good news is the "All mains under $20" Menu is set to continue. You are welcome back anytime. Cheers More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Found my experience average steak tough, and tje staff uniforms were very poor one lady had a polo on was suposed to be white but was all stained! This pkace needs to tidy not only there food up but the staff toooo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jayne M, Sorry to hear your steak was tough, we literally serve 100's of them a week and have very little problems with them. That is not to say on occasion there may be one not up to standard I am sorry if you got that one. I hope you mentioned it on the night and gave us the... More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My Husband and I spend a lot of time reviewing restaurants around the country. We always enjoy coming back to Paddington Arms. The meals are consistently good and the service is fantastic, the bouncy wee dark haired girl is lovely. The $20 meals are Paddingtons are better than the $40 meals in Auckland!. Our last trip to the north we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Wallace, Thanks very much for your words, consistency is what every good owner strives for. I'm pleased we can continue to make Paddy's a favourite place to come and relax. Cheers More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Have a family member over from the uk so thought we would come for a look as only have been once and wasn't too impressed. She was very disappointed with everything in general. Food was poor overcooked beef kids meal was piping hot and dry obviously been in microwave and overcooked kids weren't overly keen to eat a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, I would be very interested to know when you dined with us, your comments seam to echo another reviewer last month. It would be a shame to have the same review up twice. Never mind, Hey sorry your experience wasn't to your enjoyment. Please remember when dining at any establishment the staff and Management will always be happy... More

Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

$20 mains when we visited. Lovely meals good size for value. Well cooked and presented. Staff were friendly, fun and professional. We will be back for dinner when we are back in Invers

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarterTrader, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Wendy D, It was great to see you, Very pleased you had a great time with us. Look forward to seeing you again when you're in town next. Many Thanks Matty Hawkes More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Wonderful meal, excellent hosts, awesome service & fantastic atmosphere. A "must stop" for anyone whether local or visiting. The meals were excellent in every way....Price, presentation, quality and quantity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarterTrader, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Ruth5362, Thanks for your comments, Nice to know our efforts are well received. Tell all your friends, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks, Matthew Hawkes More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Being from the uk I was expecting the real deal. Having lives in invercargill for 12 years have only been once and did not have the best experience so thought we would give the resteraunt the beniefit of the doubt and re try. Very dissapointed. Not a very huge menu no vegetarian options no atmosphere. One o'clock in a traditional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarterTrader, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Hi Bengi116, Thanks for sharing your comments, We are sorry we didn’t live up to you're expectations. Filling a restaurant while the local hero Sharks basketball team is in action does prove to be difficult at times, any other Sunday you would be impressed with the support we get. It’s always hard recreating a popular theme in different country, everyone... More

Timaru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had read reviews about this pub on tripadvisor so had high expectations of a dining experience. Our meal order was quite slow to be taken and the waitress did not offer drinks while we were waiting so that was a little disappointing. The meal itself, however, was very good value for money. It was nicely served, was hot, tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaddingtonArms, Owner at Paddington Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and your review. We take on board your comments regarding the Drinks but as we are a (Gastro) Pub we are happy for guests to obtain their drinks from the bar. We appreciate you found the pricing of the menu right as we are trying to show people you can offer good food for... More

Travelers who viewed Paddington Arms also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Paddington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing