We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nova

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bakery, European, Café, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
29 The Octagon, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand (Formerly Nova Cafe)
03 479 0808
Website
Today
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 7:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Good for:
Local cuisine
Entertaining clients
Breakfast/Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Reservations
Late Night
Dessert

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 248 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 114
    Excellent
  • 83
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great Menu shame about the rest

my Wife and I saw this menu and thought it looked very good. We booked a table and arrived in good time. We chose from an innovative menu having asked for a starter and mains, plus seasonal vegetables for my Wife. Sparkling water and drinks arrived and we waited for our starters. These duly... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
John L
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

my Wife and I saw this menu and thought it looked very good. We booked a table and arrived in good time. We chose from an innovative menu having asked for a starter and mains, plus seasonal vegetables for my Wife. Sparkling water and drinks arrived and we waited for our starters. These duly arrived and we began to eat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have been for many many meals here and after tonight we won't be rushing back. It was just horrible. Our waitress was very nice but after we ordered the food it then took nearly an hour. when it finally arrived one meal was cold and the side order never arrived. We asked for the side order and were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olive T, General Manager at Nova, responded to this review

Hey guys, I would like to offer you a complete apology about your dining experience on Sunday evening. Your correct in your assertions that the food was no up to our usual standard, the wait was too long and front of house to kitchen communication was dicey. To be completely honest we had a young kitchen team on and it... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Our waiter did a great job++ and the food was delicious and fairly priced. They were quite busy when we arrived and we were worried we'd have to wait a while for food but this was not the case. They are located right next to the cinema so great place to stop before or after a movie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland,NZ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Was at Nova twice during our visit to Dunedin and the second time confirmed what I felt the first time I was there. It is conveniently located at the edge of the Octagon and it has mouth watering things in the cabinet as well as a good menu. The food and drinks were fine but we found the service a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We walked in on a Thursday night without a reservation. the restaurant was busy however the staff still accommodating our group of 7.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Had a beautiful tasty soup here today, which was excellent value. Unfortunately it came with a tiny triangle of bread which was not enough to accompany the portion. The micro- bread was also delicious. It is a cheap ingredient so why spoil a great dish by offering insufficient accompaniment. I would happily have given five stars but for this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I could not walk in, sit and peruse the menu before ordering. Had to stand at counter and order before I could sit down. This is not uncommon for Dunedin and is very uninviting. This town does not know what service means

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olive T, General Manager at Nova, responded to this review

Hi Drew, I'm not too sure what happened when you came in. We are a table service restaurant, our initial sequence of service is to seat our customers , give them water and menu's, this gives you time to make your choices about what you would like to order. For you to have to order at the bar is as... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I went to Nova with my friend and we both had dinner here. The food presentation and the restaurant atmosphere were pretty nice, however, taste-wise, the pork belly that we had was kind of tasteless. As for the desserts which are tiramisu, nova cone and the donuts, they are all too sweet! The donuts are horrible, they are WAY TOO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olive T, General Manager at Nova, responded to this review

Hi ChocoCherryyyy, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the pork belly, if a meal is not up to our usual standard we are happy to replace it. The pork belly comes in a ham hock and seasonal vegetable broth, this should be full of flavour. In regards to you comments about our desserts being too sweet - I can honestly say... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Seriously had most amazing salmon on beetroot, couscous and cottage cheese. With crispy skin and so moist. The Greek Salad was a joke though. It was a salsa salad with haloumi and bread on side. Laughed so hard when partner got it! Her face was pure disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I had an underwhelming gumbo entree which although full of seafood and beautifully presented was far too sweet and not spicy enough. It could have been great but the sweetness level was just really distracting. The Pork po boy roll which I had as a main was great, slaw and sauce with it were amazing. My son had the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Nova also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 29 The Octagon, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand (Formerly Nova Cafe)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Dunedin
  • Phone Number: 03 479 0808

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 28
  • Cuisine: Bakery, European, Café, New Zealand

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nova staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?