We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Villas

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Steakhouse, Cafe, European, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
290-292 Montreal Street, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand (Formerly The Coffee House)
64 3-365 6066
Website
Add hours for The Villas and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 278 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 137
    Excellent
  • 101
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very Nice

We went for dinner and the food was really good. The atmosphere was comfortable. The service was excellent. My only negative would be we couldn't taste the garlic in the garlic bread. For me my main was enough for me. I didn't need the side salad with it. Really nice experience and would go... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 30, 2015
dragondiva10
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Add Photo

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

We went for dinner and the food was really good. The atmosphere was comfortable. The service was excellent. My only negative would be we couldn't taste the garlic in the garlic bread. For me my main was enough for me. I didn't need the side salad with it. Really nice experience and would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 NEW

Went to the Villas upstairs for our wedding anniversary on a Grab One voucher. Beautiful, tasteful setting with gorgeous rimu fireplaces. Menu with lots of options and hospitality fantastic. had duck pot stickers to remind us of China. Lovely bites of tender dumplings. Rob had the fillet steak with chips and salad and his medium rare steak was perfect. my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We went out for a meal on Saturday night. I booked for 6:30pm and we were seated upstairs in a lovely, quaint and intimate dining room with just a handful of other tables. It was freezing outside but warm and toasty inside. We were welcomed by a very friendly waitress who brought over water, explained the specials of the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Went here for an evening coffee . Coffee was amazing- but that's all. Staff are horrible. Grumpy and disinterested and everything seemed like it was a drama. Understandable if it was busy - but there were like 5 other people in there!!! I'll come back for the coffee which was awesome, but takeaway only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Awesome coffee and hot drinks selection. So many different flavors with really cool names, It just had Terrible service, the waitress was not trained at all and the guy behind the counter didn't smile once. There was no welcome or goodbye upon arrival and departure. There is Beautiful art work in there though so its worth going for that and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

A group of us met for lunch on a public holiday. Service was prompt and served with a smile. Food was good I had a filo wrap. Crisp and plenty of filling. Everyone enjoyed their food. Bacon on one plate not crispy and coffee for some served in paper cups because they had run out but overall a good experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

This is a good spot to catch up with friends for a coffee, lunch. Nice outdoor seating (front AND back). Cute little private bar area for a discrete drink. I will definitely go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

This was the perfect place for a family catch-up, with a warm welcome, plenty of sunny outdoor space and an interesting menu. The meals were huge, but the prices reasonable, and we'll definitely be eating here again. It's also very wheelchair-friendly, particularly the two outdoor areas, which is important for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

Iv been there few times now. First visit was before the new villas were open. Can't remember the dates,but the food and service was awesome. Second time went when they had they'd reno done. Really cool looking. Went with my family for breakfast. Would go back again . Food is great, service is great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

Came here with a group of 7. Poor service, poor wait times given it was pretty quiet. The food was average and the price was too much for what I got. The wait staff need to be taught some dining room etiquette. I can't recommend here, you'll find much better for less nearby!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben D, Owner at The Villas, responded to this review

Hi Robbie P. We are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us. We take a great deal of pride here to look after our customers and the whole team feels it if we do not meet the mark. I would say in response to a couple of your points that good food does take time and... More 

Travelers who viewed The Villas also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas

Address: 290-292 Montreal Street, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand (Formerly The Coffee House)
Phone Number: 64 3-365 6066
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
Average Prices: USD $8 to $27
Cuisine: Steakhouse, Cafe, European, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 290-292 Montreal Street, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand (Formerly The Coffee House)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: 64 3-365 6066

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $8 to $27
  • Cuisine: Steakhouse, Cafe, European, New Zealand

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Villas staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?