We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topkapi Bar & Restaurant

$
Turkish, Middle Eastern, Persian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
64 Manchester Street, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
(03) 379 4447
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 4:00 pm - 10:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 122 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great service friendly and good food!

Phoned in for take away kebabs and lady very polite and bubbly. Food ready quickly when I arrived and is of great standard. Not the first time I've been in fact bout 7th and I've always enjoyed!!! 😊

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2015
Amy M
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Phoned in for take away kebabs and lady very polite and bubbly. Food ready quickly when I arrived and is of great standard. Not the first time I've been in fact bout 7th and I've always enjoyed!!! 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I had takeout but wish I had stayed and dined in. My takeout was very tasty and filling but while waiting for my take out I realised what a wonderful setting it was for dining and by the time I left I was wishing I had stayed. Highly reommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

The Front of House staff are lovely, the foods not bad either. I used to go here for Coffee and Sheesha. I was there with my partner and friends, sharing a sheesha at the outside tables. My partner stood up and accidently bumped into a wall mounted lamp which then fell off the wall and smashed. At this point the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcohun, Manager at Topkapi Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Firstly I would like to thank you placing a review on us. I would like to apologise as we were not aware that someone bumped into the light and potentially hurt themselves, just that the light had been knocked off and broken. As such we were more concerned about the live wire that was running through our metal... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This was the worse dinning experience I have ever had and will be telling all friends and family to never go there. We had a group of 7 women all of us in our early 30s but we were made to feel like we were troubling making teenagers. We did have a lovely waitress and understand she was just taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcohun, Owner at Topkapi Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Madam, First of all I would like to thank you for placing a review of us on trip advisor. In response to your complaints I would like to explain that we take our laws on the sale and supply of alcohol very seriously, we were not discriminating against you. It is simply part of our Host Responsibility Policy to... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Wanted to go for a sit-down turkish meal, and after reading mixed reviews, thought of giving it a go. We ordered mains which were around $30 each and what we got was probably not worth $15. There was absolutely no presentation for the kebabs, just a pita bread stuffed with your choice of meats and salad and served on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We went there for lunch. Love the decor and a convenient city location. We both had kebabs. They were nicely cooked but a little bland. There are better and cheaper options nearby. Turkish coffee to finish was very nice indeed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We came across this place after seeing an early evening screening at nearby Alice's cinema. Decided to drop in for a bite and are glad we did. We both had a pita pocket kebab ( one lamb, one chicken) and were impressed. Each was a meal in its own right, filling and very tasty. Complemented the kebabs with a glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Hm, a very sad experience. Simply ordinary tasteless food. Expecting top class meals for the expensive pricetag and getting a dish drouned in sauces. Meats were tough/ overcooked, vegetables tasteless and mash. Never in turkey or middle east i ever had an Ayran mixed with soda water....,yuck!!.. how could this simple yogurt drink so stuffed up??! No plesant experince. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcohun, Manager at Topkapi Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Firstly I would like to thank you for placing a review of us. In response to your complaints I would like to say that yes once in a while parts our meals could go wrong but we do not understand how everything down to the fresh vegetables and salad was tasteless. Our marination is done to cater to... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

A group of us went for dinner and it was an enjoyable evening. The food was delicious and the service was good and for good measure the entertainment was a little bonus. The restaurant is keeping with the Turkish theme and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Meals were nice and atmosphere was great , the only issue was prices but on overall was awesome ,will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Topkapi Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 64 Manchester Street, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: (03) 379 4447

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Turkish, Middle Eastern, Persian
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 pm - 10:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Topkapi Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?