We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 632 Wellington Restaurants

The White House Restaurant

232 Oriental Parade, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4-385 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 632 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $128
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Welcome to the White House. With stunning views over Oriental Bay, and across Wellington Harbour - The White House Restaurant is the ultimate in elegant fine dining with a deep regard for local ingredients.Not many restaurants can boast 21 years operation - and The White House Restaurant has consistently been one of the top ranking restaurants in town. Most recently The White House was been awarded winner of Wellington on a Plate, silver medal in NZ Dine Out People's Choice Awards 2012, 2013 and was a finalist in Cuisine Restaurant of the Year 2012.Hours: Dinner - Tuesday - Sunday from 5.30Pm. Sunday BYO $10 corkage. Lunch by appointment
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    38
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW

Maybe it was because we had such high expectations, but we were seriously underwhelmed by the whole experience. The upstairs dining room where we were seated had lovely views of the Wellington waterfront but the decor felt very like a hotel breakfast room (although it seemed nicer downstairs). Although we were greeted warmly and enthusiastically, this did not follow through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

The White House is relocating from Oriental Bay to the nearby wharf and will be repositioned as a more bistro-orientated restaurant. We first started going here when it opened 20 years ago and it has always been a special treat fine dining experience. We will miss this. At our last visit enjoyed the memory lane degustation meal with wines ($165... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Visited for a work function. Were put in a private room which we appreciated. The staff were polite, knowledgeable and very attentive. I really appreciated the pre-warning that a certain wine was low in the cellar and the alternative wine selections offered. The food was gorgeous - set menu and catered for GF and Vegetarian. I expect his would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This is a 5 star restaurant that is closing because the Chef/Owner is opening another establishment in the Clyde Quay Apartments at Chaffers Marina, in Wellington, NZ. The new restaurant will be a bit down-market to cater for the falling interest in expensive, fine dining restaurants. The quality of the cooking, presentation, service and quality of fittings etc., are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I've been here twice in the last month, and what a treat it has been. The first was for a quiet family dinner on a weeknight, the next a more rowdy affair on a Friday night with a friend. The White House delivered an exceptional night on both occasions. Each time the waiting staff timed their appearances perfectly and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Awesome food and great service, spent $250 however it was worth the experience! It was a great night for my partner and I

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Wow, this is the best restaurant Wellington has to offer. It's certainly the best food I've ever had but of course that comes with a heavy price tag. We ate here for a special occasion and it really was a wonderful evening. The food was very tasty and presentation was amazing. Our waitress was very professional and really knew her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had dinner at the White House our first night in Wellington. It was a gorgeous opportunity to view the city at night (the restaurant is located in Oriental Bay so you look back at the city arcing around the coastline and marina). The meal was delicious and waitering staff friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were celebrating a special event and spent over $520 for three of us and were bitterly disappointed by the whole experience. One of us got a beer and the other two of us waited for about 30 minutes for our bottle of wine that was supposed to be "breathing" to arrive. My husband was on his second beer before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry you had such a bad experience. It wasn't a good night at the restaurant as we had a medical emergency with a guest that fainted and the ambulance being called. Luckily the unwell guest recovered after some attention from the ambulance staff. This threw the entire evening out of order and we didn't handle it well.... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very nice restaurant with excellent food and good service. I always judge a restaurant by its dessert, I had the bombe alaska (although it was called the White House chocolate meringue surprise) and it was the best part of the meal. My personal preference would be for an atmosphere that is a little less formal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. You will be pleased to know that our new restaurant opening at Clyde Quay Wharf in a few months will have a less formal atmosphere. Hope to see you there. More

Travelers who viewed The White House Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The White House Restaurant?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing