We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House Restaurant

232 Oriental Parade, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4-385 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 635 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $128
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Welcome to the White House. With stunning views over Oriental Bay, and across Wellington Harbour - The White House Restaurant is the ultimate in elegant fine dining with a deep regard for local ingredients.Not many restaurants can boast 21 years operation - and The White House Restaurant has consistently been one of the top ranking restaurants in town. Most recently The White House was been awarded winner of Wellington on a Plate, silver medal in NZ Dine Out People's Choice Awards 2012, 2013 and was a finalist in Cuisine Restaurant of the Year 2012.Hours: Dinner - Tuesday - Sunday from 5.30Pm. Sunday BYO $10 corkage. Lunch by appointment
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    172
    38
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were celebrating a special event and spent over $520 for three of us and were bitterly disappointed by the whole experience. One of us got a beer and the other two of us waited for about 30 minutes for our bottle of wine that was supposed to be "breathing" to arrive. My husband was on his second beer before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry you had such a bad experience. It wasn't a good night at the restaurant as we had a medical emergency with a guest that fainted and the ambulance being called. Luckily the unwell guest recovered after some attention from the ambulance staff. This threw the entire evening out of order and we didn't handle it well.... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very nice restaurant with excellent food and good service. I always judge a restaurant by its dessert, I had the bombe alaska (although it was called the White House chocolate meringue surprise) and it was the best part of the meal. My personal preference would be for an atmosphere that is a little less formal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. You will be pleased to know that our new restaurant opening at Clyde Quay Wharf in a few months will have a less formal atmosphere. Hope to see you there. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had the "Menu of Memories", a delicious selection of White House dishes from the last few decades. Every course was top quality and the wine matches for each perfectly complemented them. We had a seat right by the window, with a view looking out over the harbour. We'll be very sorry to see the White House close.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words about the menu of memories. We will miss the White House and we know that many of our guests are sad to see us close. We also know how much people love the window tables - the views of Oriental Bay are always magic - not to worry we will have fabulous window tables... More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Go to The White House before it moves. We chose the 'Menu of Memories', a degustation menu reflecting the history of the establishment. It was outstanding. The service was incredible; friendly, quick and helpful. The components and back-story of each dish were explained, which did add to the experience. We had a table by the window, enjoying the night lights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the Menu of Memories. It was very hard putting the menu together - so many memories, what dishes to choose. We will be making some changes to the menu - after 22 years we have so many favourite dishes. Louise More

Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a wonderful meal at this Wellington icon. This is truely one of Wellington's best 5 star fine dining establishments. The twice cooked pork belly and the beef (my choice) were devine as were the lamb, fish and duck dishes. The service was informative and attentive and the time between courses perfect for a short robust spiritual conversation. This place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I will make sure the kitchen and front of house teams get your feedback. We are really enjoying a our few months at the White House and while we will miss this we are very excited about our new project. Louise More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went here for a special occasion during our visit in Wellington. Could not have made a better choice. Had the 10-course tasting menu which was outstanding. Also had the wine menu and the wines matched the dishes perfectly. We were lucky to have a table at the window so we enjoyed the view over the beach and the skyline of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Wow, that is great feedback, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I will make sure our team get your comments. Next time you are in Wellington we will be in our new location right on the waterfront overlooking the boat marina and our wonderful museum Te Papa. Louise More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Walked up a narrow staircase to the restaurant. Has the feel of a private residence. Sat by the window with a great view of Wellington waterfront. Selected the 10 course degustation menu without wine match. Limited wine list for a fine dining venue. Had a radish in a clay pot with pumpernickel and cheese as the soil. To start. Cute... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi SpookyFlorida, Many thanks for your feedback. We like to have fun with some of our dishes, especially on the menu degustation so pleased that you enjoyed most of it. We are in the process of reviewing our wine list prior to moving locations this may be why you found it limited. Regards Louise. More

Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I went there with my boyfriend for his Bday. I told it to the lady who took my booking a month before. Nobody called me on the D day to confirm the table so I called back. We started with 2 glasses of Billecart and then took the 10 courses degustation menu without wine match. We took a bottle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for your review, we appreciated your comments. We usually confirm all bookings so I'm not sure why your booking wasn't confirmed. I have reiterated to all staff the need to confirm all bookings. We have recently appointed a sommelier who has just started as it was a gap that we had identified. Kindest regards. Louise More

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The White House seems to think of it's self as a bastion of high cuisine in New Zealand but nothing could be further from the truth. The menu selection was so limited our party of four all ordered the same main dish because nothing else was remotely interesting. Our food (fish of the day) was adequate but was swimming in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tom. We were very disappointed to read that you hadn't had a good experience with us. We have never had a problem before with a lack of choice on the menu for out guests. We will always do a special dish for guests on request. Kindest regards Louise More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've been to the White House a few times and consider it amongst the best dining I've had. We went this time for my daughter's birthday. From the first, service was attentive and helpful, our waiter being very knowledgeable about the menu. We started with a bouche amusement which cleansed the palate nicely. I had the fish of the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHouseRestaurant, Owner at The White House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sharron C. Many thanks for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you and the family had such a wonderful evening. Kindest regards Paul and the team More

Travelers who viewed The White House Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing