We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shed 5

Certificate of Excellence
$$
European, Pacific Rim
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4-499 9069
Website
Add hours for Shed 5 and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 375 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 186
    Excellent
  • 120
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Lovely food

Having eaten in the partner establishment we thought we'd try this out. Some lovely taste combinations. I would recommend this as an upgrade experience on the water front.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
Claire M
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Having eaten in the partner establishment we thought we'd try this out. Some lovely taste combinations. I would recommend this as an upgrade experience on the water front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
malibu
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW via mobile

Business dinner for two. Split the seafood appetizer and then each had an individual main fish entree. Pinot noir by the glass for me as my colleague doesn't drink. All outstanding. Pricy by En Zed standards, but very high quality. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

I ate too much! but it was very good. Great oysters - we convinced our Australian guest that Bluff oysters are the best! Lovely wine, good service, finished just in time to watch the fireworks - an excellent night!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place was ok. Out of the 2 entrees we ordered one was fantastic and the other was quite gross. And out of both of our mains one was fantastic and the other had to be send back. They didn't charge us for the main that was sent back, and it was still VERY expensive. I searched trip advisor for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We met a Wellington friend here for dinner. The walk to the restaurant along the water was lovely. We all had fish (of course), and it was very good. Only disappointment was my beet-cured salmon appetizer --- really tiny portion and not very special. Husband's whitefish was great! Dessert was sorbet assortment - very tasty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This is a lovley spot on the waterfront with a very good menu and the service was very good. One of our party was in a whellchair and was very well looked after. A quality establishment

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Very disapointing. Had the whitebait main. Poorly presented and cold Awful sauce poured over it. Enquired with our waitress regarding the cold food. Never saw her again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masterton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We visited this restaurant recently with our family. Were told to wait in the bar despite the fact that it was obvious a table was set and available for our party of five..clearly not reserved for anyone.....the restaurant was empty. It was a late Sunday lunch...no preconceived notions of the restaurant ...recognised Chef's name as someone I had heard of,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I chose this restaurant for a special celebration with my sister. Both of us have travelled a lot and have fairly high standards when it comes to food and location. I had previously been to Shed 5 a number of years ago but wanted to see if it still retained that special something. I am pleased to report it did.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on recommendations by a tour guide and the hotel staff. After reading the two recent negative reviews, we were worried that we might be disappointed. Not so! While there was a slight snafu with our reservation, the hostess was very gracious and managed to find us a table after a very short wait. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5, responded to this review

Hi slctravel, Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Shed 5. The team will be happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and service. As for the Martinborough Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc you had, our bartenders recommendations are always great, but they will be glad to know... More 

Travelers who viewed Shed 5 also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Shed 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Jervois Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-499 9069

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 21 - 27
  • Cuisine: European, Pacific Rim

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shed 5 and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shed 5 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?