We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vine Eatery

37 Tuwharetoa Street | Taupo Central, Taupo, New Zealand
+64 7-378 5704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 108 restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our venue brings to the neighbourhood an exciting shared plates menu, with new additional sampler platters that delights our guests with communal dining & offers a relaxing bar that reflects 25 years of wine expertise & a passion for craft beer. We have over 250 wines for you to choose from at close to retail, not restaurant prices. Enjoy them in the bar or let us help you match wine with your choice of our shared plates. Our wines, like our food, are never static and change with the seasons. We offer some of New Zealand's best labels in our ever evolving wine list, introducing exciting boutique winemakers that are as passionate about their wines as we are about sharing them with you. There are craft beers on tap or by the bottle and flagon - from local Taupo brewers James Cooper and Anton Romirer. What are shared plates? They are unpretentious bites of robust and intense flavoured entree sized dishes. They are ideal for diners who are curious about flavour, adventurous about taste, and who want to vary their dining experience as much as possible in one sitting. Shared plates are a relaxed style of entertaining and dining. Each dish will be presented as it is cooked - not at the same time as a traditional menu. Join us for brunch, lunch or dinner or drop in for a drink - we look forward to hosting you.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    159
    53
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Very unprofessional. Quite good first course but had to wait 50 minutes for second course which was tepid. Staff had completely lost the plot . Kitchen visible from our table was in a state of confusion and I would not return there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

We had a family lunch and it was really great. We had the tasting platter and all the food on it was delicious. The pork and chicken being the stand outs. Matched with a local craft brew and peregrine Riesling added the finishing touch. Service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, WellyGlenn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your family lunch with us and also tried the beer and wine matches. Our staff are always keen to assist with food and drink matching. Hope to see you again soon. Regards. More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I felt welcomed and special by your great staff. The food was great and we went back the second night as we enjoyed the first night so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear Joy J, Thank you for your review, it's great to see you had 2 fantastic nights with us and we hope to see you again in future, regards More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We came for lunch on a Saturday afternoon, the food was served promptly and it was delicious. A few unique dishes but well impressed. The boys enjoyed the stuffed Chicken and Pork Belly (YUM!) while us ladies had the Thai salad and Beetroot salad. Can't fault these dishes. We then joined Leanne for a wine tasting, and what a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear iheartfood, Thank you for your kind words, it's fantastic to hear you had such a great time with us. I will pass your review onto Leanne and the Chefs, they will appreciate hearing this.See you again next time! More

Dampier, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a quiet and very enjoyable evening with my partner there, beautiful wines and even better food. Do try the desserts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear Sarah D Thank you for your tripadvisor review. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely time with us and we hope to meet you again in the future. Regards More

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful welcome, great wine, amazing food. Recommended to us by a local Taupo resident and he was bang on with his recommendation. will definitely visit again when in Taupo

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear Bronny_61 Thank you for your lovely comments, It's fantastic to hear we were recommended by a Taupo local, hope to see you again in the future.Regards More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

A great night out. The restaurant has an industrial setting and is very spacious so you do not feel overcrowded at all. Awesome wine list. Our waiter was new so wasn't that great but the rest of the staff were very professional. Five star food. Couldn't fault it - especially the caramel chocolate fondant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B, Thank you for your lovely comments. It's great to hear you love the industrial look of our building, we are constantly working on better ways to make this space work best as a restaurant and i'm glad to hear you like it. I will pass your comments on to our pastry chef Kate about the Caramel fondant... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor reviews we dined at The Vine Eatery. They deserve their success because they offer innovative food; an extensive wine list and upmarket contemporary decor. The menu is essentially "plates to share" - a bit more substantial then just tapas perhaps, but only just. The portions are small so allow two per person. The style of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear TimSWellington, Thank you for your review. We love to hear back from our guests, so we can make sure we're doing the right thing. All our dishes are designed to be shared, for the Tapas in our menu we recommend to order 2 plates per person, and with our Shared plates we recommend 3 between 2 guests with the... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a great night here. The restaurant has an inviting atmosphere and the service was among the best I have experienced. There were six of us and it was an enjoyable night sharing food as they encourage you to do. Alas we all commented that the food really did not deliver on expected levels. Presentation was excellent and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear Steve D, Thank you for your comments, first of all I'm sorry our food didn't live up to your expectations after reading the menu. If you like, feel free to get in touch with us info@vineeatery.co.nz to elaborate on what you didn't enjoy. I can then have look into what you had ordered for the night and will liaise... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Well, after an extremely disappointing meal at a different restaurant in Taupo we were hesitant about dining out again and so decided to drive around and find a basic restaurant... We were drawn to the flames outside "the vine eatery" and so decided to check it out. We knew we were pushing it to get a table being 9pm on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thevineeatery, Manager at The Vine Eatery, responded to this review

Dear Amyrosecarlyon, Thank you for leaving your raving review about Vine Eatery, it's truly great to see you had such a nice time and I'm glad we were able to give you a good dining experience in Taupo after you had a dissapointing meal elsewhere. I've passed your comments onto the team, especially Leanne. We hope to see you next... More

Travelers who viewed The Vine Eatery also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Vine Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing