We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bodyfuel

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
67 Tongariro St, Taupo, New Zealand
07 3789555
Website
Today
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Sat 7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 144 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Exceptional Breakfast

Finally a place that serves breakfasts that are actually big! Food exceeded our expectations. We ate here on two separate occasions and everything was absolutely delicious. Left BodyFuel feeling completely satisfied. Absolutely fantastic service, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 19, 2015
Rachel B
,
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Finally a place that serves breakfasts that are actually big! Food exceeded our expectations. We ate here on two separate occasions and everything was absolutely delicious. Left BodyFuel feeling completely satisfied. Absolutely fantastic service, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and food came out quickly considering how busy they were. If I'm ever in Taupo again I'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Whenever I come to Taupo I visit this place. The food coffee and service are amazing. Everyone I take here loves it and everything we have had is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We came across this gem of a place whilst looking for somewhere to eat lunch. It was very busy, and we did have a bit of a wait, but OMG, it was so worth it. All 3 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals, which were of a good size and presented well. I had the best salad I can honestly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This place rocks. Great choice of food, efficient and friendly staff..ambiance that tops it off.. we have stopped here several times while doing Palmy Auck / return.. never less than a very positive experience. Today was AK Anniversary Monday, they were busy but I suspect they generally are..we still enjoyed prompt service and great food. The young ladies working the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

This is a good place to grab a bite to eat. People are very nice, but the extra charges for everything is extreme. Never seen or heard someone get charged for and extra set of cuttlery before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I perpetually find excuses to come to Taupo just so I can have lunch here. As a coeliac my cafe options are often limited but these guys have GF down pat. The smoothies are well worth the price (about time cafes started using clean lean protein), the cabinet food is reliably scrumptious and the staff are lovely. Can't rave enough.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We (myself, my husband and our young daughter) visited around a week ago for an early lunch while on holiday. We spent a lot of time looking at the menu before ordering, as we'd heard it was good for those into real food and was somewhat excited about trying it out! I ventured to the counter to place our order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

My son and I stopped in for a smoothie a frappe along with a melting moment with passionfruit icing which was lovely. The young girl that served me seemed distracted and plonked our drinks down on the counter when she could see I had my hands full with 2 cups of water. Would have been a crime to bring our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
C_Croft, Owner at Bodyfuel, responded to this review

Hello Viv, Thank you for your comments and we're glad our home baking was a hit with you - our lovely melting moments have become a staple in our cookie jar! Our organic smoothies do cost $10, but we do use premium ingredients from speciality milks such as oat, almond or rice milk, as well as cleansing and vitalizing shots... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Exceptional food, great service. The Eggs Benedict was perfect and the kids loved the curly fries. Great location for going shopping or playing in the park across the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We were so excited to try this place, & being foodies the menu looked great .... Except 50% of the craft beers they advertise as specializing in they didn't have, they refused to swap out an item of food & replace with something else for our allergic daughter, the front counter person was rude & appeared to not know anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
C_Croft, Owner at Bodyfuel, responded to this review

Dear Thebigpuppa, Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. We tried as best as possible to both accommodate your requests and changes to the menu, and resolve the problem once we had been alerted to it but this only appeared to evoke your anger, which seems to have... More 

Travelers who viewed Bodyfuel also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Bodyfuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 67 Tongariro St, Taupo, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: 07 3789555

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
  • Cuisine: Café
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 3:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bodyfuel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?