We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

80-100 Napier Taupo Highway, Taupo, New Zealand
073762319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 107 restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    138
    50
    18
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

This is our third visit to restaurant the first one as a couple and the next 2 as a family gathering of 7 as we meet each year in Taupo and stay at De Bretts, The service this year I would class as very mediocre we were asked once if we wanted drinks and not again. 2 of us ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Mallyjo, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your latest experience at Bistro Lago I'm sorry to read that you had service issues and did not enjoy some of the dishes. I will pass your feedback to my front of the house and kitchen team. Please don’t take this experience as your last one as this is... More

Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

Make no mistake about it, Bistro Lago is excellent and our experiences here capped off a special weekend for my wife and I. Firstly, the restaurant itself is inviting and has a nice atmosphere for which to enjoy a meal. We dined on Saturday night so there were a few people in enjoying a drink and a meal before the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear tommybanny, Thank you very much for your feedback, I really appreciate the effort our customers make to share their experiences of Bistro Lago on TripAdvisor. It's especially encouraging when so many of the team go the extra mile for our guests. As Simon says, it the "5% Magic!" Looking forward to welcoming you back to Bistro Lago soon. Kind... More

Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife booked a surprise trip away for my birthday, booked us in at the Hilton and dinner at bistro lago. From when we arrived we were both Impressed with the service and the restaurant. We were shown to a nice table looking out over the lake. Both of us had drinks and entrees prawns for my wife and pork... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Shaun B, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your surprise birthday dinner with us and thank you for taking the time to comment about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you both impressed with both food and service. I will share your comments with all Font of the house and kitchen team. Looking forward to welcoming... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I travelled with my partner to Taupo from Auckland and found the Bistro Lago on trip advisor we decided to go for dinner and it was wonderful experience.. Excellent food and service. Great to sit outside in summer days. you feel relaxed when look at the mind blowing view of mountain and lake.. Staff is attentive and professional they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear hassysurya, It is fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and thank you for taking the time to comment about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you found our food and service excellent. I will share your comments with all Font of the house and kitchen team. Looking forward to... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dined here a few nights back with huge expectations and excitement, especially being a Simon gault restaurant- love crab shack and euro. Nice setting pretty quiet, we were sent to the bar to wait for our table the barman was obviously new in the industry, or with very little experience. No flair, confidence, or drink knowledge. The cocktails we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at Bistro Lago. I can only assume, you were part of the party who dined and wrote the same review below. As mentioned, I will personally follow up what happened during the evening... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Came to Taupo for a quick holiday and were so excited to try Bistro Lago after hearing such good things... Safe to say we were disappointed right from the get go. We arrived 10mins early and so were told to have a drink in the bar and wait which would have been fine if our drinks had actually arrived. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear amyrosecarlyon, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at Bistro Lago. I will personally follow up what happened during the evening in regard to the service issues you have experienced. Please do not take your first visit at Bistro Lago as your... More

Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The waitress Becca was so lovely, friendly and accommodating to our twin 5year olds; always willing to chat with our chatterboxes. They had a great kids colouring pack which kept kids amused for 2hrs...best ive seen at a restaurant thus far (even to the likes of cobb n co which is more of a kid friendly place etc). Most of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear FrancesJH, Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor and that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. I am glad to hear that our coloring in packs did the trick,you were able to enjoy your dinner and keep the children busy. I will forward your feedback to Becca and the rest of the team. Again, thank... More

Wanaka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just would like to say a huge thank you to bistro lago for making our evening fantastic we came up from wanaka and stayed at the Hilton dined at the bistro lago we had a beautiful room (432) for the night dinned at 730 Sunday night and to the young gentleman on the bar huge thank you, you made my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Wanakafamily, Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor and it is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your recent meal with us. Jamie has recently joined the Bistro Lago team and yes, he does have great customer service skills, I will make sure he receives the feedback. Again, thank you very much and looking... More

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Awesome views, nice ambience but service definitely lacking. Food was fine but not blown away. Good wine list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Carol S, I really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations during your recent visit. In order for me to pass detailed feedback to both front of the house and kitchen team, and improve our service, could you please contact me on guido.paseri@hilton.com and... More

Napier
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Much is made of Bistro Lago being a Simon Gault restaurant (a 'well-known' NZ chef for those reading this review who reside elsewhere in the world). So much so that the waiter must have mentioned it at least five times (e.g. "Simon imports this ingredient from....."; "Simon decided to try a new take on......", etc). If only Simon had been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear SRLNapier, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and I must say what a detailed feedback. I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectation during your visit and you did not enjoined the your meal with us. I have passed your feedback to both Jason Lewis, Bistro Lago Executive Chef, and Simon Gault. If you... More

Travelers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing