We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

80-100 Napier Taupo Highway, Taupo, New Zealand
073762319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 107 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    140
    50
    18
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW via mobile

We dined here on Saturday , we had a last minute trip to Taupo and had been told good things about the restaurant , we were not let down, there is a real cosy atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming, I think at some stage we had been attended to by every staff member there! This can be off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

A group of 20 of us had the 3 course Simon Gault inspired menu for my birthday celebration and the food was outstanding. Everyone was very happy with their choices and the variety. Delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is our third visit to restaurant the first one as a couple and the next 2 as a family gathering of 7 as we meet each year in Taupo and stay at De Bretts, The service this year I would class as very mediocre we were asked once if we wanted drinks and not again. 2 of us ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Mallyjo, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your latest experience at Bistro Lago I'm sorry to read that you had service issues and did not enjoy some of the dishes. I will pass your feedback to my front of the house and kitchen team. Please don’t take this experience as your last one as this is... More

Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Make no mistake about it, Bistro Lago is excellent and our experiences here capped off a special weekend for my wife and I. Firstly, the restaurant itself is inviting and has a nice atmosphere for which to enjoy a meal. We dined on Saturday night so there were a few people in enjoying a drink and a meal before the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear tommybanny, Thank you very much for your feedback, I really appreciate the effort our customers make to share their experiences of Bistro Lago on TripAdvisor. It's especially encouraging when so many of the team go the extra mile for our guests. As Simon says, it the "5% Magic!" Looking forward to welcoming you back to Bistro Lago soon. Kind... More

Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife booked a surprise trip away for my birthday, booked us in at the Hilton and dinner at bistro lago. From when we arrived we were both Impressed with the service and the restaurant. We were shown to a nice table looking out over the lake. Both of us had drinks and entrees prawns for my wife and pork... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Shaun B, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your surprise birthday dinner with us and thank you for taking the time to comment about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you both impressed with both food and service. I will share your comments with all Font of the house and kitchen team. Looking forward to welcoming... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I travelled with my partner to Taupo from Auckland and found the Bistro Lago on trip advisor we decided to go for dinner and it was wonderful experience.. Excellent food and service. Great to sit outside in summer days. you feel relaxed when look at the mind blowing view of mountain and lake.. Staff is attentive and professional they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear hassysurya, It is fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and thank you for taking the time to comment about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you found our food and service excellent. I will share your comments with all Font of the house and kitchen team. Looking forward to... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dined here a few nights back with huge expectations and excitement, especially being a Simon gault restaurant- love crab shack and euro. Nice setting pretty quiet, we were sent to the bar to wait for our table the barman was obviously new in the industry, or with very little experience. No flair, confidence, or drink knowledge. The cocktails we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at Bistro Lago. I can only assume, you were part of the party who dined and wrote the same review below. As mentioned, I will personally follow up what happened during the evening... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Came to Taupo for a quick holiday and were so excited to try Bistro Lago after hearing such good things... Safe to say we were disappointed right from the get go. We arrived 10mins early and so were told to have a drink in the bar and wait which would have been fine if our drinks had actually arrived. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear amyrosecarlyon, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at Bistro Lago. I will personally follow up what happened during the evening in regard to the service issues you have experienced. Please do not take your first visit at Bistro Lago as your... More

Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The waitress Becca was so lovely, friendly and accommodating to our twin 5year olds; always willing to chat with our chatterboxes. They had a great kids colouring pack which kept kids amused for 2hrs...best ive seen at a restaurant thus far (even to the likes of cobb n co which is more of a kid friendly place etc). Most of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear FrancesJH, Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor and that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. I am glad to hear that our coloring in packs did the trick,you were able to enjoy your dinner and keep the children busy. I will forward your feedback to Becca and the rest of the team. Again, thank... More

Wanaka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just would like to say a huge thank you to bistro lago for making our evening fantastic we came up from wanaka and stayed at the Hilton dined at the bistro lago we had a beautiful room (432) for the night dinned at 730 Sunday night and to the young gentleman on the bar huge thank you, you made my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Wanakafamily, Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor and it is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your recent meal with us. Jamie has recently joined the Bistro Lago team and yes, he does have great customer service skills, I will make sure he receives the feedback. Again, thank you very much and looking... More

Travelers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing