We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
80-100 Napier Taupo Highway, Taupo, New Zealand
073762319
Website
Add hours for Bistro Lago and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 274 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 158
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Views and atmosphere beautiful but meal left me wanting more

The meal, wine and service were lovely but for a high value meal it just wasn't quite there. Zero inclusions on main and the menu wasn't very descriptive what you actually get. Ended up with quite small meal for $50 per plate, plus, plus? Plus! Nice location though.

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 19, 2015
Melissa H
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

We went to Bistro Largo, on a busy Saturday night, but we felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant due to the attentiveness of the waiting staff, - friendly, knowledgeable, and quietly unassuming. We both had different dishes and wine, some at the recommendation of the staff, others, because they sounded fabulous. And they were. I've been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

More like a cafeteria and not a bistro as the hotels is a fair distance from the city the bistro is full with families and their children, nothing wrong with that but if you want to have a quite dinner with the appropriate environment and attention this is not the place. The food is ok and the staff hovering around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My wife and traveling companions were disappointed somewhat with the service and food at the Bistro Lago. Maybe it was the buildup and the fact that we were expecting more. It was a beautiful setting and had a nice atmosphere but did not warrant a very good or better rating. Some of the dishes were served a little cool and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Williamstown, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Arrived, a group of 4, at 7pm, for a booking made 2 months prior to 2nd March. Ordered drinks a light beer (which was delivered as a full strength and then changed) and a "cabernet dominant" $90 bottle of red wine (how anyone can advertise a cab dominant when the label read 60+% Merlot, some Syrah and Cabernet is beyond... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear Pat D, Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit with us. I am aware that on the evening, you personally spoke to my Maitre D’ in regard to the poor experience, I am also aware that you personally spoke to the Executive... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

we went there for a weekend away from Auckland!the food was very nice good and tasty,the view sensational.we dined there two nights in a row trying different things from the menu and all was very nice combined with lovely wine of course!will def go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Dear BJBG, Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor and I am glad to hear you enjoyed both meals with us. I will pass your feedback to both our front of house and kitchen team. Looking forward in welcoming you back in Bistro Lago during your next visit in Taupo Kind Regards Guido More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The meal, wine and service were lovely but for a high value meal it just wasn't quite there. Zero inclusions on main and the menu wasn't very descriptive what you actually get. Ended up with quite small meal for $50 per plate, plus, plus? Plus! Nice location though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Hi Melissa H, Thank you very much for your post on TripAdvisor and I am glad to hear both service and meal met your expectations. Also, thank you very much for your comment about the menu description, as we are currently looking at changing our a la carte menu, it is very useful. Looking forward in welcoming you back in... More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

From my previous experience I was expecting fantastic service and fabulous food. It's what one would expect at such a venue and when you paying good money. However the service was a bit too casual. The food was OK but not memorable. Out of our table of five no deserts were ordered from the menu. Actually no one ordered deserts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Hi Sondra G, Thank you very much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor and sorry we did not meet your expectations. In order for us to rectify the issues, could you please let me know why you thought the service was a bit too casual and what you did not find appealing about our dessert menu. My email address is... More 

Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary on Saturday night at Bistro Lago restaurant in Taupo. As usual the food and service were excellent and the venue, overlooking the lake and mountains at sunset, was spectacular. However, the real highlight of the evening was the extra treats that were unexpectedly delivered to our table by sous chef Zane... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Hi Sootyx100, Thank you very much for your feedback during your recent wedding anniversary dinner with us. We do work in a beautiful restaurant and we are very lucky to have such a view of the mountains. I am also glad to hear that the staff gave you the extra 5% magic which made a huge difference to your meal.... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We went to Bistro Lago for dinner on my birthday recently, hoping for an exquisite fine dining experience. We were quickly shown to our window seat with lovely views of the lake & mountains. Unfortunately there were no blinds on the windows, so the setting sun was shining into my eyes the whole time & I had to keep my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Hi spooky-lu, Thank you very much for your feedback during your recent birthday dinner with us and I am sorry to hear we did not ‘tick all the boxes’ I have spoken to all the front of house staff in regard to the cooking degree of the beef issue, as yes you are right you can have it cooked as... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My husband and I ate here in a cool rainy night. We were received very well, seated promptly, and attended to immediately. We selected or wines and had a detailed discussion of the interesting and different menu. Finally, we decided to start by sharing the cos salad, which was delightfully fresh and dressed perfectly. Then my husband had the lamb,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this review

Hi Dianne B, Thank you very much for your feedback during your recent dinner with us. I am glad to hear, you enjoyed both wine selection and food during your recent dinner with us. I will share your review with all the F&B team and looking forward to welcome you back in Bistro Lago next time you are in Taupo... More 

Travelers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 80-100 Napier Taupo Highway, Taupo, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: 073762319

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 18 - 29
  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bistro Lago staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?