We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gusto Restaurant

Ocean View Parade, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
0064 06 7598133
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 103 restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    28
    23
    9
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

Our party of 6 dined at Gusto on a friday eve, we found the service good with friendly staff.The first course was very good the squid was very nice and well cooked and tender, we all felt it would make a great main course.Some of our party had the fish of the day for mains which was excellent others had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

Lovely setting, nice and clean. I had a prawn starter, maybe I missed it but it was all deep fried with common sauces. Unsure what to do with the supermarket crackers and butter container. My husband had the mussels which I wish I had too. The main, I had the snapper of the day with came with some sort of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

fresh appealing decore and nice out door deck directly over the fore shore plenty of space in the restraunt it self staff friendly and provided good service. the occasion was an evening meal with a friend,menu attractivly presented we had the pork belly and lamb back straps as mains both reasonably presented pork pretty ordinary, Lamb tough compared with similar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Frozen imported korean scallops. Disgusting. Then the offence taken when i complained. Omg the srrvice then stopped totally. Childish staff. Sorry guys but the worst service ive experienced for some time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for making the effort to complain on trip advisor but we have absolutely no record of your complaint in our records. Our staff meal check and try to rectify any issues at the time of dining. We have investigated and have no reports of dissatisfied customers in the last week. Our scallops are not frozen they are purchased vacuum... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I've visited Gusto's several times over the last year. The meals have ranged from very good to very poor ( in fact I did not eat the pan fried fish on one occasion because it was so overcooked, it was like cardboard) At the my most recent visit , the meals can be rated as "good" part from one little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Woodgit Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the panfried fish. I have looked through the diary and we have no record of a complaint about the fish. The fish would have been replaced immediately if the staff had been informed. That is our policy. The statement that you have made regarding the scallops and pancetta could... More

New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A very tastefully decorated restaurant, spacious, nice outdoor area,.looking out over the water - lovely first impressions. The art by local artists was interesting and the bathrooms were top class. We even got a bonus display of a vampire jet swooping and diving above us (apparently owned buy a local). The menus were beautifully designed (not too big and bulky)and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Jolin716 Thankyou for your good review, the staff do appreciate good constructive feedback. The fish cakes are one of our most popular lunchtime dishes and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy them. We do put a considerable amount of fish in them but some types of fish have a lot milder flavour than others, maybe this was... More

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just returned from a excellent meal with good friendly service .with a varied.menu freshly cooked to our requirements with avery relaxed atmosphere .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Derbyshiredriver Thanks for your review. We do appreciate your opinion especially when it is so positive. I have passed your comments on to the staff. We hope to see you again. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Had no real expectation prior to dining at Gusto, really went because it was convenient and close to home. We were all four of us very pleasantly surprised, when we experienced great entree's, perfect steaks and friendly timely service. A great location just added to an all-round lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Zoe Thanks for your positive review. I have passed it on to the staff. I hope to see you for another visit in the near future. More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We took my in laws there for breakfast on their last day, after a three week tour of NZ, I have to say this was the most disappointing restaurant we visited. They were short staffed, one meal was not ordered so arrived after the rest of us had eaten (we couldn't wait any longer), coffee did arrive eventually but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Lauren The morning you visited was a sequence of events behind the scenes that no one could have predicted. We were initially short staffed as two staff members were held up, out of any ones control. We did try and get by with the help from one of the kitchen staff and myself which in turn reduced the staffing... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Due to its beautiful location we used to eat here quite regularly and overlooked the really poor service and average food. But at our last visit we unfortunately had to send back a steak which was swimming in clear fluid which meant dealing with the waitress and the manager.....needless to say the service went from poor to appalling very quickly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi JoJO4141 This matter was addressed some 6 months ago, bit of a belated review. There is always two sides to the story and you have only given a small portion of the event. You forgot to mention that the staff were only concerned for your wellbeing. More

Travelers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gusto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing