We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cobb & Co.

198 Courtenay Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
(06) 757 9675
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 103 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Dining options: Reservations
Most recent review
- Sep 12, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    8
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Wow, this place stunned me and my family, we are a gluten-free family and one member is Vegetarian, the kids were treated well, the place did excellent catering to our needs, the food was great and they managed to keep a restaurant feel to it while mantaining casual foods and families, really good ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

starting the waitress said she would chuck us onto a table, after that the service was just ok. The meals were below average, so much better around town, its been about 2 years since i was last their so thought would try again after some good reviews from others, like i said don't bother, i am surprised this place is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie C, Owner at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant. I do apologize if the staff offended you with their comment. We do appreciated customer feedback and it will be passed onto the staff. It is disappointing that you found the service and meal below par. Any additional feedback you would like to provide regarding this would be helpful. You may contact... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would like to thank cobb&co for there lovely meal our host Shelley was great, and it is so enjoyable as they have a great kids play area and great kids meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie C, Owner at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our restaurant. We do our best to look after children and provide for a child-friendly atmosphere. I am pleased you were well looked after by our staff and the children enjoyed their meals. I will pass this onto our staff. We hope to see you again. Regards Melanie Corbett More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I took my family to cobb & co new plymouth. We were well looked after by shelly and our meal was excellent, and it is good value for familys as we went on a wednesday and kids dine free . Thanks cobb&co

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie C, Owner at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience in our restaurant. I am pleased you enjoyed your meals and were well looked after by our staff. I will pass these positive comments onto to the kitchen and front of house staff. Good feedback goes along way with our staff. We hope to see you again. Regards... More

Cambridge, New Zealand
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This time I did not enjoy my visit. Staff were good but my meal was not up to the usual standard of previous occasions. I was looking forward to pavlova it was accepted by there was none available. I experienced a lengthy delay for my dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie C, Owner at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant. I will pass on your positive comments about the staff. I am sorry you didn't find your meal as good as last time and you weren't able to get the dessert you desired. I know our staff can do better and if you would like to contact... More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The steak special was very average,but the waitress was top class,and her service was very pleasent,when leaving there seemed to be no hurry for the staff to take payment,wouldn't visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie C, Owner at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Dear nzkw Thank you for your comments regarding our staff's top class service. I will certainly pass that onto to them. I am sorry you will not visit again and found the steak meal average. I would love to hear specific feedback as to why and if you are so inclined to do so, you may contact me at cobbecat@xtra.co.nz.... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

three visits - three complaints - wont be going again - cold food, undercooked vegetables or is it over microwaved cant get the fork in the cauliflower ,, when the waitress says what is wrong before you voice what is ,, you know that something isnt right!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Cold, disorganised, flickering lights, boring food but it was Valentine's Day so we didn't shop around. Wouldn't recommend it unless you just want to feed yourselves

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We popped in to grab a meal before heading home. The staff went out of their way to arrange a table and the food was great. Good service, good food and well worth visiting again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The picture accompanying this restaurant is not actually part of the establishment!! Very misleading. We ate at this restaurant because it was across the road from where we were staying. Some food advertised on the menu was not available and hadn't been for days. We were told there would be a half hour wait although there were empty tables. Apparently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Cobb & Co. also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobb & Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing