We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
393 Devon St East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
006467599918
Add hours for Juliana's and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 30 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great food

Enjoyed a delicious meal . Good range of appetisers. Mains heaps of good options. Staff very helpful with menus. Specials of the day yummy. Tip - check menus online. You might need to book depending on the day

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 26, 2015
Janr20
,
Cambridge, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Was unbelievable disappointed in the food being produced for our meal. The quality was terrible, there was no effort in the prep and execution of many parts to both my entree and main. Let halfway through the main after having rancid mussles for entree and thoughtless pumpkin puree on my main with overcooked chicken. Value for money was just ridiculous.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Excellent service and food. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and it has a nice feel to it. Off street parking made it easy to get to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QualityManager0, Owner at Juliana's, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of dining with us. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the experience and the team at Juliana's look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Darrin Muggeridge Managing Director More 

Cambridge, New Zealand
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Enjoyed a delicious meal . Good range of appetisers. Mains heaps of good options. Staff very helpful with menus. Specials of the day yummy. Tip - check menus online. You might need to book depending on the day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QualityManager0, Owner at Juliana's, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed you dining experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Darrin Muggeridge Managing Director More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We were welcomed warmly, staff were exceptional, but quality of meal very poor at $90.00 per head. Wouldn't return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
QualityManager0, Owner at Juliana's, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give feedback with regards to your Xmas Lunch. It is disappointing for me to read we did not meet your expectations on the day and I apologise for this. I am pleased your received good service and trust you had a wonderful Christmas Day. Kind regards Darrin Muggeridge Managing Director More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went for a friends birthday found the waitress quite rude she looked nearing retirement age and perhaps she should couldn't deviate from doing what she was doing to get us a drink when we arrived so we waited about 20 minutes while she ensured everyone had water the food was average just like the service too many options available to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My partner and I had dinner at Julianas on 2/8/2014. We decided to go there as we had a great meal there just after it had re-opened after re-furbishment. Well what a let down. The steak I had was barely edible infact two thirds of it was inedible, full of grissle and tendons I couldn't even cut through it with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went with a group of 16 for my father in law's birthday. We started with a platter of nibbles in the lounge which was served to us without napkins, plates or serving utensils such as little knives, tongs or forks. We were seated at 7.30 to be told there was no lamb, salmon or pork left and my father in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just enjoyed a lovely dinner. The maître de reconfigured tables so we could enjoy a window view. Wonderful service and the fish of the day was excellent. A really lovely dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband took me to Julianas for my birthday and we dined at the Early Bird time which gives a good rate for a 2 or 3 course meal. We had a 2 course meal, as we struggle to get through any more than that these days, and the food was absolutely lovely. My husband had the chicken meal and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, Taranaki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a wonderful meal for a special occasion to catch up with friends not seen for a very long time. Although we had finished our meal we chose to move to the lounge to continue catching up. The disappointment came when staff took out the vacuum cleaner and started to clean up around us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Juliana's also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Juliana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 393 Devon St East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: 006467599918

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 30
  • Cuisine: European

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Juliana's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?