We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salt Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pacific Rim
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 Egmont Street, | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
+64 6-769 5301
Add hours for Salt Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 71
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Salt Restaurant

I really enjoyed the meal we were given a taster while waiting for our meal at no cost to us. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 28, 2015
Qtapint
,
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 NEW

Popped in as we are staying at the Hotel. Ordered a cocktail, which was good but staff couldn't put the heater on as its not working, well go and replace the gas bottle, is it that hard.....obviously it is.Moved inside which would have preferred not to and proceeded to have a great dinner. The food was good but unfortunately the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt the service didnt match your food quality. I am suprised but this as we have had such great feedback. The heater did have gas but there was a problem with the igniter, this is why it would not go. It is now being fixed. Apologies about this. John is a great waiter and he did... More 

Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Our meal was well presented and delicious. As it was summer we requested a table on the balcony. It is on the main road so if you feel the traffic noise would bother you, request an indoor table. The view is great, being waterfront. Our server was most attentive which made our dining experience even better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

We are delighted you had a delicious meal @ Salt and the serviced matched. thanks for sharing your feedback with fellow travellers. More 

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

I have travelled all over the world, and have to say the meal we had tonight came in my top 5! It was superb! I had the scallops and then the duck. They were so good, I couldn't even bring myself to have dessert, which is unheard of for me! Excellent service too. A really wonderful experience. Thank you Salt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for placing us so high on your restaurant list - top 5 world wide! WOW. That means alot from us all here. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it means alot. Glad we made such an impression and you had a fab time. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Our experience dining at Salt on a girls weekend, was great service, food was well presented, all the comments from every one's dishes was excellent, I had the scallops perfectly cooked and not over done. Good attention through the evening we all enjoyed the meals and drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much the the great feedback. Its nice to hear your group had a brilliant time. we appreciate your business and feedback. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

We were the only table at 930 pm on Friday night. Staff were more interested in doing selfies and videos of themselves than serving our table. Noise from the kitchen was quite loud and the kitchen staff did not prepare the meal as advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

We are really sorry you felt the service was poor when you came in at 9.30 for dessert. The kitchen staff were doing a video for our new website and this is what you witnessed. I guess they could have mentioned this to you if It was a concern for you. This was a one off event and prehaps poor... More 

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I really enjoyed the meal we were given a taster while waiting for our meal at no cost to us. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Excellent feedback , thank you for choosing to dine with us. We are delighted you had a great experience all round. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Salt has a beautiful outlook over the New Plymouth waterfront best viewed during the daytime over the wintery months. The lunch menu was varied and the food quality was good,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback, its great to hear you enjoyed your experience. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The waitress did not seem to know much about some of the dishes on the menu and that was because she was a vegetarian. A little trying when you are sorting out what you would like to have as the menu has changed since we were there last. And now its somehow feels like its being "very clever" by having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry you felt your waitress did not know the menu well enough. She is new to the team and has had training and this is on going. Having items done 3 ways it quite common on a menu, not sure about clever however. It is certainly quite a... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We popped in for a casual pre-dinner drink. We sat outside on the balcony which was really interesting as it has a view of the sea and all the activity in the public park near there, including the local ladies doing yoga in the park, skate boarders, walkers, cyclists etc. The snacks were fine and drinks good. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and for comming in for pre dinner drinks. Its nice to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the atmosphere surrounding the Hotel and restaurant. Best wishes The Salt Team. More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had the meat shared patter, which was just lovely for dinner. But breakfast the next morning was a bit disappointing, had to order coffee as the filter coffee on offer was very weak and our eggs benedict was just average. Brilliant views though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Its great to hear you had a great dinner......we are sorry your breakfast was not as good. We did have a problem with our filter machine that was fixed the following day. Truely sorry about about that. Best wishes from the Salt Team. More 

Travelers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Egmont Street, | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-769 5301

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 25
  • Cuisine: Pacific Rim

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Salt Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Salt Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?