We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salt Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pacific Rim
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Egmont Street, | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
+64 6-769 5301
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Salt Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 237 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 108
    Excellent
  • 88
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely little spot for a bite to eat

Great view, good service, good food. We were fortunate to have a beautiful day outside on the deck which was a great atmosphere. All in all good experience would happily go back!

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
nztravelqueen_32
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The meal was absolutely discusting. Spoilt our special night out with our family and grandchildren. We had to wait almost an hour from the time we ordered to our meal being served. Will not recommend it and will definitely not go back.

Helpful?
Thank robadelle
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Robadelle We are sorry you feel this way. You were advised there would be a wait for the table as you wanted to sit out side. All the out side tables were fully booked an we cannot move people just to accommodate you when you did not book. There were tables inside, but you would not accept any of... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great view, good service, good food. We were fortunate to have a beautiful day outside on the deck which was a great atmosphere. All in all good experience would happily go back!

Helpful?
Thank nztravelqueen_32
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, we appreciate that you had a very good time at Salt. We certainly would love to see you again in the near future. Regards The Salt Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was a pleasure to dine at. The staff were helpful and attentive. The food was cooked well and very tasty. Plus, there was a view of the water. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Helpful?
Thank Caz H
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Caz H for your review. Your feedback is amazing and we are very happy you had a great experience at Salt. Regards, The Salt Team. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our meals were well cooked and presented beautifully. The accompanying New Zealand wines, which were recommended by our wait staff, were delicious. Both the food and beverage menus were reasonably extensive. Salt does not have a large dining area but the atmosphere was lovely and quiet. I would not recommend it for children.

Helpful?
Thank NZ_NURSE
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

NZ_NURSE, thank you very much for the fantastic review. Its lovely to hear you had a brilliant time at Salt Restaurant. Best regards The Salt Team. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to have lunch here, ( no booking) and were given a preference of seating and we chose the outdoor balcony. Lovely views, great menu, and all reasonably priced. The staff were fab, very helpful, and even suggested other areas of interest we may want to view on our stay in New Plymouth. The food was awesome, lovely wines,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alli P
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Alli P. We are very pleased you had a great experience and enjoyed you lunch so much. Its great to hear the staff went above and beyond for you. We appreciated your business and feedback. Best regards, The Salt Team. More 

Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great views, staff were excellent and very helpful with great local information, meal was great at reasonable prices, good work to everyone involved.

Helpful?
Thank SUPREMEMIKE
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Suprememike. Its fantastic to hear you had a great meal at Salt. We really appreciate your feedback and we do hope you return one day soon. All the best. The Salt Team. More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately, we were here on a rainy night but I could see that the view would be fantastic on a clear day or night. From when you walk in to the waiting area, you can see that this place is a modern, upscale restaurant, like you would find in any major city in the world. We started with the Tapas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crackerjack1954
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Crackerjack1954! We love that you had a fantastic meal in our restaurant with your family. Feedback like yours means a lot to the team and it is valued greatly. Enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ, and we hope you find more places like Salt to experience. All the best. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This review follows from Karl S review "walked out" The restaurant and hotel team did everything possible to rectify the issues we had on the previous evening. We were offered a complimentary starter and an opportunity to show how good the food can be, and we were really impressed. Food was excellent and service was great by a team that... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulBham
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Karl Thank you for the opportunity to put things right on the second night for you. We are sorry about the first night, we did not handle this correctly. We really do appreciate your business and we want every guest to feel like they are welcome in Salt and that they leave having a positive experience all round. I... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked our table for 7:30 . Offered menus and made our choices. We were only then told that we were not able to order the tapas starter (3 entrees for $20) the reason being that "the chef was on his own and couldn't do it) however after asking we were told we COULD order 3 separate entrees. Didn't make sense... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl S
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Karl, Truly sorry about this experience for you on your first night. This was unacceptable. I am delighted we had the chance to make it up to you on the second night. Thank you. Regards Mark More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here for tea on a Saturday night. We ordered two starters which we shared and ordered the same main. All three were delicious so hats off to the chef especially where the kitchen staff was done and the chef was new. The house staff did their job really well. The atmosphere was pleasant and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank KABENTON
Mark D, Owner at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi KA Benton Thanks for the thumbs up! Its lovely to hear you had a nice experience on Saturday night. We appreciate the feed back and wish you well. Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again one day soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Egmont Street, | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-769 5301

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 22
  • Cuisine: Pacific Rim

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Salt Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Salt Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?