We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salt Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pacific Rim
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 Egmont Street, | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
+64 6-769 5301
Improve this listing
Add hours for Salt Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 175 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 69
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Not quite sure here ..

The waitress did not seem to know much about some of the dishes on the menu and that was because she was a vegetarian. A little trying when you are sorting out what you would like to have as the menu has changed since we were there last. And now its somehow feels like its being "very clever" by... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
Kiwichook
,
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

The waitress did not seem to know much about some of the dishes on the menu and that was because she was a vegetarian. A little trying when you are sorting out what you would like to have as the menu has changed since we were there last. And now its somehow feels like its being "very clever" by having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We popped in for a casual pre-dinner drink. We sat outside on the balcony which was really interesting as it has a view of the sea and all the activity in the public park near there, including the local ladies doing yoga in the park, skate boarders, walkers, cyclists etc. The snacks were fine and drinks good. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and for comming in for pre dinner drinks. Its nice to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the atmosphere surrounding the Hotel and restaurant. Best wishes The Salt Team. More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had the meat shared patter, which was just lovely for dinner. But breakfast the next morning was a bit disappointing, had to order coffee as the filter coffee on offer was very weak and our eggs benedict was just average. Brilliant views though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Its great to hear you had a great dinner......we are sorry your breakfast was not as good. We did have a problem with our filter machine that was fixed the following day. Truely sorry about about that. Best wishes from the Salt Team. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Food amazing, staff go out of their way to assist, views are stunning - what more could anyone want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

AMAZING REVIEW............thank you for sharing your feedback. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Best regards The Salt Team. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Living in New Plymouth at the moment, this resturant is one we go back to regularly, whether for a drink on the deck out front or for a meal. We've both had birthdays in March so have been twice. The wine menu is good and the menu allows a swift return in its choices. It changes with the seasons and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Assistant Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Salt recently. We really appreicate your repeat business and are stoked you had a fantastic experience. Feed back like this makes all the hard work by our great staff worth while. Hope to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We ate here a few years ago on our last trip to NZ and we didn't love it to be honest. We tried it again on our most recent visit and my goodness has it improved! Nice open, light place with great staff and great menu. We went for the lunch special deal and thought we'd have a tiny portion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, and for returning after your last visit. We are pleased to hear it has improved greatly since your experience and you enjoyed what we have to offer. We would love for you to return next time you visit New Plymouth. Best regards The Salt Team. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Friday night, big (huge) 3-day event on in town, full hotel and yet their restaurant was relaxed about taking 3 x walk-ins. When I first looked about the place I thought heck, they're quite busy - but if they were, it didn't show. It would be easy to rave but I think this time I'll just share... The Welcome. Warm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Salt Restaurant . We really appreciate your business and feedback, its great to get such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to see you in the future. Best wishes The Salt Team. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

It was alright. Food was good, but nothing special. Just kinda lacked something. Everyone at our table thought the same. Nothing wrong with service, or drinks, but food just kinda fell a little flat. The amazing views make up for it though - worth going just for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear you though the experience was a little flat. I am not sure what else we could have done if the food and service was good and the views were amazing. We will take this on board for sure. Thanks Again. The Salt Team. More 

London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Sat out on balcony overlooking the Tasman. Very interesting selection of dishes which started with a complimentary amuse bouche of wild rice, pickled cucumber and candied walnuts - delicious. Shared a starter of confit salmon and pea mousse - refreshing, light and again delicious. Mains a good size and well presented. Wine selection limited but adequate. Only criticism was they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are very happy you had such a great time. Sorry about the slow service this we can work on. We would love to see you again. Best regards The Salt Team. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We ate here on a breezy but sunny February evening and decided to eat on the balcony overlooking the sea. The friendly staff even provided blankets to keep us warm. The food was very good and nicely presented, although quite expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and sharing it with fellow travellers and enjoyed the food and service to match. Its nice to know you were given blankets by the staff, thats brilliant. Best regards The Salt Team. More 

Travelers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Egmont Street, | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-769 5301

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 26
  • Cuisine: Pacific Rim

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Salt Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Salt Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?