We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways

Certificate of Excellence
$
Mediterranean, Tunisian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1146 Tutanekai St | Central City, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-348 2983
Add hours for Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 133 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 104
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
One of the Best Falafels

Friendly Service. Casual but nice atmosphere with nice Tunisian touches. Amazing Falafel. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quick, tasty and cheap eat in Rotorua.

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 31, 2015
crazy_gee
,
Rotorua, New Zealand
Add Photo

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

Friendly Service. Casual but nice atmosphere with nice Tunisian touches. Amazing Falafel. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quick, tasty and cheap eat in Rotorua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

Saturday night around 6:30 and the place had a 40 min wait on mains. 2 people, probably the owners making a whole array of dishes while their confident son of 11 or 12 taking customer orders. We were in a rush so no chance of waiting the 40 mins for mains, so two chicken kebabs ordered. Good array of salad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW via mobile

Rude staff and the berber rice was gluggy, looked like it has been thrown in the container and stomped on and inedible. Makes me wonder if the owner writes these reviews because to say this is the best restaurant in Rotorua is an outright lie. Trip Asvisor you'd be wise to check who writes these reviews. This place is dull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ramzi2015, Owner at Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. Rude??? I wonder in which way - we are polite at all times, never disrespectful to anyone - did you feel this because you just didn't like us just because of your feeling? Certainly not because of any of our actions that for certain. When you judge the food - which is cooked fresh... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 NEW

The best restaurant I've eaten at in Rotorua . Nice services and friendly Manager . The pizza is the best and the kaskrot is awesome . In terms of the place is in the heart of the town and so good to eat and have meals at . I definitely recommend it to everyone . it's worth it 😘

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

Bad service, got a blonde hair in my kebab which was disgusting anyway and the owner or operator needs to clean this dump. YUCK YUCK YUCK. GO ELSEWHERE PEOPLE.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ramzi2015, Owner at Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways, responded to this review

Thank your for taking time to submit a review. we are a small business that takes pride in all areas of our service. All our food is prepared fresh daily, with meals cooked in front of customers. We have been 11 years in our business and we have never had any feedback of this standard. we strive to always maintain... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

This place is totally amazing. Went there today I had a kebab my BF had the famous chicken plate....both were absolutely delightful! So much flavour and great ingredients, made with love. Trips to Rotorua will now revolve around this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Once again another enjoyable meal, we both had the berber rice . Good size meal. Pleasant atmosphere .

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Never tasted anything better outside home. The kaskrute and rice with lamb are just amazing. we were in Rotorua for 3 days for a vacation and we liked the food so much that we had meals all the three days at Alibaba. try the pickle

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

What a great pizza, full of flavours with light pastry base. Very reasonable price. The rest of the menu looked highly inviting too. Small restaurant, good friendly service. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

This place was a 12/10 it was one of the most yummiest foods we have ever tasted and the best we had in all of Auckland. The staff was friendly and the food was amazing so tasty. Its a must go and try when you are in Rotorua. We will be back eating here when we visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1146 Tutanekai St | Central City, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Rotorua District  >  Rotorua
  • Phone Number: +64 7-348 2983

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 11
  • Cuisine: Mediterranean, Tunisian

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?