We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pizza Pasta Ruffino

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
39 Williams Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
+64 9-402 7964
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 156 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 69
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good food

The restaurant is upstairs. It has very basic furnishings but the food was great. It has dine in or take away food. The carbonara was cooked to perfection and the ravioli was good too but it had a little too much garlic in it for my taste. Another diner said it was very good. The restaurant was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 23, 2015
fun2travelCanberra
,
Canberra, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

The restaurant is upstairs. It has very basic furnishings but the food was great. It has dine in or take away food. The carbonara was cooked to perfection and the ravioli was good too but it had a little too much garlic in it for my taste. Another diner said it was very good. The restaurant was well patronised –... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We got take away from this place last night. The lasagne was the worst I have ever tasted and was very small considering the price. Lasagne was dry and flaky and had foul taste was sure it was past use by! Pizzas were average tasting topping though using old dough. Total disgrace so not recommended. We had to buy more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla M, Owner at Pizza Pasta Ruffino, responded to this review

Hi there, I do apologise you didn't enjoy your experience with Ruffinos Pizza and Pasta. Firstly I can guarantee all our products, pastas and doughs are made fresh daily on premise. We hand make our own pasta for the Lasagne, so we don't use the bought Lasagne sheets a lot of people are use to...hence probably your dislike. We take... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

We are here on our way south and found it to be a cozy, charming atmosphere. The food was very good, with nice large portion sizes. We had pizza and were pretty impressed with the quality and size. Only thing is that, being located in a tourist town, it's a bit pricey. We also ordered an appetiser that came at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Got a takeaway to eat in our lovely room at the Breakwater Motel. V Friendly lady on the phone took our order; pizzas & salad ready when they said they would be. Super delicious thin crust pizzas, and a few unusual combos which worked very well (ie Cranberry/ Chicken/ Brie, and the Greek pizza). Really good - and a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

A warm welcome awaited us when we climbed the steps to this upstairs pizzeria. The stairwell is not the most attractive approach but the food was very good and excellent value for money. We had garlic bread to share followed by 2 pasta dishes of generous portions so didn't have room for desserts which is a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 via mobile

Dinner tonight was fantastic! Very accommodating and friendly staff. Would recommend a visit for both adults and little ones. Fast service, tasty and good value. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

You know how sometimes you just crave comfort food when you are on vacation. This was the case this night. We headed to the restaurant only to find it still closed (opens at 5:30 PM) and a line of people impatiently waiting. Seems like with this kind of demand, they might think about opening sooner. We ordered a salad and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kyla M, Owner at Pizza Pasta Ruffino, responded to this review

Hi there, Paihia and Kerikeri ran out of lettuce 3 times over summer due to being a small town and limited suppliers so that explains the use of the iceberg lettuce... the chilli is simply dried chillies we buy and ground and we do warn all the customers about the heat of the chillies as it is clearly labelled on... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

They have the best pizza we've ever had!! Priced very well with really value for your money!! This is a stop you have to make when visiting Paihia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Would highly recommend Ruffino. The veg pesto pizza with pine nuts was amazing and so was the garlic bread. But the thing that stood out the most was the warm hospitality we got as soon as we entered the premises. Must visit in Paihia.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Located away from the main eating area but finding. It seems an odd place to have a restaurant but it obviously has a reputation because it was full and there were people arriving all the time. Pizza was one of the best I have ever had and staff were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Pizza Pasta Ruffino also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Pizza Pasta Ruffino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 39 Williams Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Paihia
  • Phone Number: +64 9-402 7964

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pizza Pasta Ruffino staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?