We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Church Restaurant & Bar

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
199 Meeanee Road | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-844 8866
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Old Church is a stunnng Hawkes Bay landmark that has been converted...
The Old Church is a stunnng Hawkes Bay landmark that has been converted into a plush and quirky restaurant and bar. It also offers luxury botique accommodation in the neighbouring villa. Both the Villa and the Restaurant venue have been rated 5 stars by Qualmark and are perfect for weddings, events, conferences, corporate functions and parties. Chef owner, Richard Highnam and wife, Melanie offer excellent cuisine, an extensive wine list and warm, relaxed hospitality. They are both passionate about food and wine and enjoy the abundant produce that Napier and the Hawkes Bay has to offer.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 229 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 153
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Clabla

Outstanding venue, fantastic service, amazing food, ambiance in the church is amazing. Will deffinatly be back again.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
clabla123
via mobile
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

Outstanding venue, fantastic service, amazing food, ambiance in the church is amazing. Will deffinatly be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We had our wedding at the Old Church in March 2015 and it was the best. Wonderful service from all of the staff, and all of our correspondence and planning leading up to the day was handled brilliantly. The day itself was stunning, the food and drinks were amazing, so many people commented on how good the food was. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

It is fantastic for the team when we receive a review like yours. Choosing the right wedding venue can be a trial in itself and the cost of that special day is significant. We recognise that and seek to bring everything together to assist in creating the perfect day and to ensure that guests leave with wonderful memories. We are... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We attended a family wedding here and could not speak more highly about the food, the staff and the venue itself. Beautiful setting, delicious food, friendly and professional staff. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Weddings are a very important part of our business and the venue is ideally suited with its historic church history and the beautiful grounds. Our team work very hard to ensure that every occassion at the Church is remembered as special. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We had a work party here. The outside space was very pleasant for pre dinner drinks. Good service and a range of meal options. I would always recommend this venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The beauty of the Church with its huge chandalier as a feature is a given. Often guests who come to us for the first time are equally impressed with the beauty of the grounds with the spacious outdoor dining and outdoor bar. It is a great place to relax with a group, either with drinks... More 

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

A group of 12 celebrated at The Old Church and were throughly impressed. The Thursday night blackboard special at $35 is beyond value. The food was exquisite, the kind you want to try everybody's plate. Food envy & Food joy paired together. Chef Andy has a real passion for local produce & creating an amazing choice of menu. Not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Our Chefs Blackboard special Wednesday and Thursday night is becoming a great favorite with our customers. One of the things we all love about the Church is the ability to provide such a range of menus for our A La Carte diners as well as our weddings and large functions. We look forward to seeing you... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We got the platter option for lunch. There were 8 of us and we ordered most of the items available. 3 Platters arrived and it was lots without being excessive. It was ll really nice to eat and a good selection for vegetarians. Location great. Staff firendly. Good wine list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. The platter menu suits a lovely day in our gardens with the outdoor bar. It has been a great summer favourite. However it will go into recess for winter on the 12th of April. But then an exciting new menu will be launched. We would love to see you back again. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Went for dinner menu was very small and food average, waitress spilt beer all over me, staff where unhelpful and rude. Very very very overpriced for such bad quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rachael. When you made your review on Facebook I immediately responded and gave you my email address so that I could remedy what was obviously an overcharge. Also I wanted to see if our staff had provided you with an apology and complimentary replacement drinks for the spill. Obviously we are not happy when accidents... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

In mid February, 3 others & myself were in Napier for the Art Deco Weekend & booked to attend “A Gatsby Intimate Affair’ held at The Old Church, which had previously come highly recommended as a night not to be missed on the Art Deco programme & after last year’s success, I booked our tickets early. Dressed to the nines,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comprehensive review. After the event we undertook a thorough review of the two nights ( as we do with all of our functions) A number of things that you mentioned were discussed and we at The Old Church acknowledge that we did not get the menu right for the event. You are correct we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

Attended a friends wedding here and was delighted with the style and feel of the venue. The food was stunning and provided for a party in my mouth with its unusual flavour combinations which worked so well. Three points which we felt let itself down was the use of two different styles of champagne flutes. For some reason I got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased that you loved the food and ambiance of The Old Church. Weddings are such a special time for people and we work hard to ensure the best possible experience. I would like to respond to your three comments. The uniforms that the FOH wear are commented on pretty much daily, people... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The surroundings great, but the food not so. We had a long wait for the meals, which we had in preference to the little plates and found the meat (lamb and pork) to be very tough. The only vegetable with the lamb was a few french beans. We felt overcharged and underfed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am guessing that you came on Weds night and had our Chefs Blackboard special menu which is a main and a beer or a wine for $35.00. I am at a loss as to why the meals were not up to quality as we get great feedback about this menu. The delay... More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Church Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Old Church Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 199 Meeanee Road | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
  • Phone Number: +64 6-844 8866

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 37

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

The Old Church is a stunnng Hawkes Bay landmark that has been converted into a plush and quirky restaurant and bar. It also offers luxury botique accommodation in the neighbouring villa. Both the Villa and the Restaurant venue have been rated 5 stars by Qualmark and are perfect for weddings, events, conferences, corporate functions and parties. Chef owner, Richard Highnam and wife, Melanie offer excellent cuisine, an extensive wine list and warm, relaxed hospitality. They are both passionate about food and wine and enjoy the abundant produce that Napier and the Hawkes Bay has to offer.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:30 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Church Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?