We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 131 Napier Restaurants

The Old Church Restaurant & Bar

199 Meeanee Road | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-844 8866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 131 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Old Church is a stunnng Hawkes Bay landmark that has been converted into a plush and quirky restaurant and bar. It also offers luxury botique accommodation in the neighbouring villa. Both the Villa and the Restaurant venue have been rated 5 stars by Qualmark and are perfect for weddings, events, conferences, corporate functions and parties. Chef owner, Richard Highnam and wife, Melanie offer excellent cuisine, an extensive wine list and warm, relaxed hospitality. They are both passionate about food and wine and enjoy the abundant produce that Napier and the Hawkes Bay has to offer.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    33
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 NEW

Tarakihi skin on was exquisite, steak was Tasty and tender. Dessert - very glad I had the chocolate -melt in your mouth and finished too soon. The service was personal and professional. Our compliments to the chef - only wish we lived closer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope you can visit us again . More

Napier
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The main restaurant was booked out for a wedding so on Saturday we dined at the Villa, what a gorgeous place, we were met by fantastic staff who looked after us all evening, the set menu was delicious, crème brulee to die for. The venue itself just stunning, parking never a problem and the chef met our dietary requirements. Was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you had a great experience . We have other spaces that are lovely that we are going to make available for special dining over the summer. More

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We had brunch at the Villa - loved it! Great service and the interior settings were very sophisticated and the grounds very serene. Beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you. It is nice to be able to share the villa for guests for more than just accomodation. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

when we heard that we wouldn't be able to use the main resturant I was initially disappointed but how wrong can you be? The villa was Devine a real treat. The food was fantastic we had the beef and the lamb, desserts were excellent. We got to look around the villa fantastic thanks for such a memorable meal. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much . More

Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I was so excited. I have enjoyed going to this restaurant many many times in the past. And I read that there was a new chef there....someone who has cooked many fab meals at other restaurants I have been to - so I thought this was going to be a fabulous combination. However, what a disappointment. We have just been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Trip Advisor is a powerful tool and poor reviews are always devastating for our team. I would like to take sometime to respond to this comprehensive review. I am sorry if we did not advise our reviewer that we were using the villa rather than the Church for dining yesterday, this should have been done at the time she booked.... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

we were in napier for 2 days & wanted to show our friends from overseas what was good in the places we visited, I remember years ago going to a wedding at the old church, remembering the huge chandelier! also the food was good, we were in town on the fri night at mr "Ds" ( which was great) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Had heard rave reviews so went along for lunch. Limited menu. Starter size for the money was very disappointing. Pork belly main had no crackling. Dessert menu presented wasn't available. Value for money a real issue. Portion sizes need to be addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Your visit to us was in the first three days of our opening and we apologise because the dessert menu was in fact incorrect. In hindsight our staff might have offered you a coffee in compensation for our error. We have a very strict process for ensuring that our customers are happy with their meals.... More

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

What a gem of a find in a fairytale setting, just stunning driving up the tree-lined entrance way. The interior is just as breathtaking with a magnificently styled luxurious and sumptuous interior. Staff and service were friendly, welcoming and attentive. We really enjoyed visiting and would highly recommend this unique and delightful slice of history and decadence. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much. As the new owner of this beautiful venue I still come to work each day impressed by its beauty. We have a great new menu to go with the venue and are very much looking forward to long sunny Hawkes Bay days where we can encourage our guests to enjoy not just the restaurant dining but... More

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We went on a guided tour of the Church Winery. The wine tasting was good, and I preferred the white wine. We did not have time to have a meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moira I, Owner at The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hello There. Thank you for the review. However we can not take credit for this one. We do not have a winery so I suspect that you meant to review Church Road winery. It is a lovely place to visit, as of course are we. More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Love this place, always have! Great food, great service, amazing building and location. Like it so much we're getting married there!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Old Church Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Old Church Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Church Restaurant & Bar

Address: 199 Meeanee Road | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 6-844 8866
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
Average Prices: USD 18 - 38

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing