We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Euro

Shed 22 Princes Wharf, Quay St, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-309 9866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,192 restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $103
Cuisines: European, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: An Auckland icon situated on the waterfront with relaxing sea views. Combined with superb food and attentive service, a great way to see Auckland.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    298
    117
    62
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

We went to Euro for my husband's birthday. The atmosphere was great and the food delicious. The service was great and we felt very welcome. The service staff were knowledgeable and helpful and friendly. Everyone who had booked for a birthday had a "little" cake with a candle. A great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went for a 1/2 cray for $20. They wanted $10 more to heat it up. There was an ice bucket catching drips from the lights above, behind my friend DRIP -DRIP! THE TOILET SEAT WAS LOOSE. We had to ask for tools to break the crayfish legs + again for a towel to clean our hands. The crayfish was poor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Dear Tablet-11, Thank you for your forthright opinions of your dining experience at Euro. I am disappointed to read that you found so much of it disagreeable. I am in particular sorry that you found the crayfish below par, and that there were some service issues at your table. For this you have my apologies. However, I would say that... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

it was really great experience for me in this restaurant ...excellent service and food ...atmosphere was tremendous ..i will visit again with my wife for dining..thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Hi lee254, Thanks for your review. Really great to read that you had a great time with us. Feel free to drop me a line directly for your next reservation. Let's see if we can't make the next one 5 star! Regards, Vincent Rey vincent@eurobar.co.nz More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We turned up early with no booking and they managed to squeeze us in. The food was amazing! Really well thought our and tasty. Good portion sizes. But for me the winner of the night was the service. As soon as we walked in the door the lady came from out behind the bar to talk to us. While to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Hi belle_26, We really appreciate the effort our customers make to share their experiences of Euro in this forum. Thank you! It's especially encouraging when so many of the team go the extra mile for our guests. As Simon says, it the "5% Magic!" warmest regards, Vincent Rey More

Wellsford, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I dined here with two others at the weekend. The service was extremely professional without being unfriendly. However, two of our meals were quite disappointing; the risotto was rather bland and the rotisserie chicken overly dry. Priced in the mid to hi $30s we did not think the mains were good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Hi Lesley P, Thanks for your review. We love to get great reviews - but on the occasion we don't quite deliver we are very glad to receive your feedback. I am sorry that the food was not up to our usual standard on the occasion you dined with us. If you would like to call and discuss the issues... More

Munich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My locals hosts took me out to Euro and is was a great surprise. Excellent food with lots of choice on the healthy side brought by a good service team. A bit cold on a fresh winter day, but the food made up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Hi asw323, Thanks for posting! Great to read that you had a good time and enjoyed the food and service. We do try to keep it really toasty inside over winter - so I'm sorry to read you were not quite warm enough. A table by the fire next time you are in town! Warm regards, Vincent Rey More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Euro's consistency, warm welcome and just-far-enough-out-of-the-way setting have always appealed, but the quality of the service is what truly sets it apart. The staff and the chefs seem to genuinely welcome new ways to help you have a good time - even down to filleting our large (but entirely legal!) catch of snapper! Keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Dear RockyP496, Thank you! We'll be 15 years young this August, and some of the guys you mention have been here that long (although they'll tell you they don't look it). It is really their efforts that continue to set us apart from all the competition - and not forgetting Simon's brilliant menus of course! Regards, Vincent Rey More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went with friends to Euro to enjoy the Nairobi Trio jazz and a $20 Crayfish deal, what a great lunch we all had different choices and everyone commented on how good each one was. The waiter was very good and provided not only great service but very funny banter throughout the meal. The meal was over 2.5 hours so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Dear Alistair9293, Really glad you enjoyed our crayfish special this month, we really appreciate the comments. I'm also happy to read that you enjoyed our band - The Nairobi Trio - who are very kindly sponsored by our friends at Vavasour Wines. Thanks guys! Regards, Vincent Rey More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A lovely spot, warm and thinking staff throughout, great ambience and consistently great food. A good balance between surprising and delighting with novel ideas, but feeding the tummy at the same time so everyone leaves happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Hi Cat S, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor. Great to read that you love Simon's food, which is always good, healthy and honest. Love to have you back any time! Regards, Vincent Rey More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I and a friend went here for dinner. It was terrific. Beautiful location on the water. Outside dining if you wish. Great bar. We ate in the quieter pay of the restaurant near the fireplace on a cold night. The waiter was most helpful in recommending our wines. We ordered calamari salad which was clean bright with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review

Hi Dianne B, Thanks for your review of Euro. I'm really happy to read that you loved all the elements of your dinner with us. We are 15 years old this month, and I really think that no other restaurant in town offers the level of food, service and ambience we continue to provide. Thank you. Vincent Rey More

Travelers who viewed Euro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Euro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing