We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Connell St Bistro

3 O'Connell Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-377 1884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,203 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Located in Auckland's historic central business district, multi award winning O'Connell Street Bistro is an intimate modern European back street Bistro. Awarded Best Wine Experience in the Cuisine Good Food Awards 2014 & holder of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2000. Reservations are recommended
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    128
    44
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

A relatively small dining and bar area make for an intimate dining experience. The service is polished, the wine list excellent and the food is of the highest quality. Highly recommended as among the best in the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

I would not consider this place a bistro as it is a restaurant with a small bar area at the front entrance. Bar dining catches the overflow from the dining room. We began the drinking with apperitifs, I enjoyed the bianco martini. A recent local magazine article suggests considering the advice from the sommelier when selecting wines for food matching.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Love the white tableclothes and the professional service. The food is always interesting and refined with an excellent wine list. Great location and ambience for a business lunch or a romantic evening meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Mary G Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're glad that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Bistro & look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

A long lunch is the perfect way to spend time and enjoy what the O'Connell Street Bistro has to offer, which is what we have done today. The new look O'Connell Street is well worth the wait and when summer comes will be a delightful location outside on the side walk like it is in Europe. Can't wait for that.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Wistaria_13 Thank you for your great review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted you enjoyed your lunch & our new streetscape & look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the Bistro, when we may have our outdoor seating ! Kind Regards Amanda More

Orewa, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great atmosphere, great service, great food. The manager was so thoughful that he brought some panadol for my pregnant wife who had a back ache. Wine list is impressive. Food is magnificent. Few places like this left in Auckland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Sashanz Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience & look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We took our family lawyer and his wife out to dinner. It had been a long time since we had been here, and the service and food was the same if not better. Excellent. From the white table cloths to the extensive wine list, we felt (it's a small intimate space) that we were dining in a gentleman's club. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Sailingawaynz Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro & look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My daughter chose this restaurant for her Hen's night as there was only a small group of us. We were impressed with the attentive service from the minute we walked into this restaurant. Our coats were hung up for us and we sat in the small bar area until everyone had arrived. The dining room has a lovely ambience and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Henryjen Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We delighted that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro & look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were here for a quick dinner but to be honest I wouldn't even return if you paid me. The service left a sour taste, I do not know whether other patrons received the same treatment for the evening. First, the first course was boring, plain and sad. The second course flared much better thanks to the excellent wine paring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Kyothu D We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your dining experience at O'Connell Street Bistro. We had contacted you to ascertain when you dined so that we could follow up your comments, but sadly you have chosen not to reply to our request. Our Restaurant Manager does recall a billing error earlier in the month &... More

Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The fact that this restaurant has continued on thorough years when so many others have failed largely speaks for itself. We dine here because of the consistently high standards that are set both in terms of service and the quality of food and wine. You cannot ask for much more than good ingredients prepared and served well and that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello litigate Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your latest experience at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again soon, when we will also be able to offer a much improved streetscape & outdoor dining. Kind Regards Amanda More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The food is excellent and it has a great wine list and excellent staff (especially Clarissa!). Hard to fault.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Simon B Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. It is always a pleasure to look after you & your guests. We look forward to seeing you at the Bistro again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More

Travelers who viewed O'Connell St Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to O'Connell St Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connell St Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing