We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Connell St Bistro

3 O'Connell Street, Auckland Central 1001, New Zealand
09-377-1884
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 1,112 restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $24 - $41
Cuisines: European
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    114
    40
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

O'Connell St Bistro is definitely one of the best restaurants I've visited in New Zealand. Relax with a drink or two in the bar while your table gets ready. The food is great and more hearty than you'd get in certain fine dining places in the city. Many regulars opt for their famous rabbit dish, which is indeed superb. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Seadragon99 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us recently & look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro when you next visit Auckland. Kind Regards Amanda More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Love this awesome food and excellent service. Hardest part about going to O'Connell St is always picking what to have. Never been disappointed with what we have ordered, and always looking for an excuse to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello PtDave78 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you continue to enjoy our menu, wine list, service & ambience & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro again soon. Kind Regards Amanda More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I chose this restaurant for a business lunch based on its rating in Trip Advisor (also 2 mins from my Auckland base) and was not disappointed in any respect, as were my lunch guests. The service, the food and the atmosphere was flawless and at a level I have experienced in top restaurants around the world. Yes, a little on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Kiwilah Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your lunch recently. As you observed, currently our street is undergoing some much needed renovation. This doesn't affect the operation of the Bistro & we look forward to being able to offer additional outdoor seating in a much improved streetscape as soon as these... More

Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is centrally located, fairly small and inconspicuous from the outside. We were glad we booked a table as they did seem busy with what appeared to be a mixture of business people, locals and some tourists like ourselves - I find this is usually a good sign of things to come and we were not disappointed. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello THSBYorks Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us recently. As you noted, in addiiton to our great menu & service, our comprehensive & award winning wine list is designed to suit all tastes & budgets, including some rare vintages of several prestigeous wines. We look forward to welcoming... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dining out is meant to be a pleasurable experience and O'Connell Street Bistro never fails to provide the ultimate dining experience. From the moment you enter the bistro the friendly attentive service and the cosy warm setting provides the perfect environment to relax and enjoy the company you are with. The staff are also very knowledgable and offer recommendations both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Jane C Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have dined at O' Connell Street many times and have always enjoyed this little bistro. I have never review before but felt on this occassion I must do so. Booked for a Friday night about two weeks out and already they were near full. We were offered two booking times 6pm or 8.30pm we opted for a early dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello CCB19452014 Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro & look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fancy write up in a guide book led us here. Professional staff with good knowledge of the offerings. Enthusiastic pricing, but Auckland is trying to be a big city (I'm from here). Strangely disappointing starters, the flavours didn't work well together. The mains chef must be a different person, both dishes were very well presented and tasted really good with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Tim H Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro & also for responding to our message regarding the starters you had the evening you dined with us. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your starters as our scallop dish is one of our most popular on our menu & we have had many great comments in the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just had a great meal at O'Connells, some new dishes on the menu -wow!! Best octopus carpaccio I have ever had! Love the fact that you still DINE at O'Connells, not just 'eat', in a classic, sophisticated atmosphere. The wait staff are knowledgeable about the elegant food and extensive wine list on offer - so take their advice if you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello A D Thank you for your review of O'Connell Street Bistro. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening at the Bistro, especially our new Octopus Carpaccio dish, which has already had many great comments. We look forward to seeing you at O'Connell Street Bistro again in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda More

Castle Pines, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our group of four from the United States made dinner reservations for Valentine's Day a month ahead, and that was a wise decision - downtown Auckland restaurants were all overbooked due to several conventions and events. Because it was a holiday, only a fixed price menu was available, at $100 NZ, not including wine. This restaurant is fairly small, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Christine3737 We're sorry that you felt that our service was uneven & the Bistro was crowded when you visited on Valentine's Day. As you observed, Valentine's Day is one of the busiest days of the year for restaurants with many restaurants being fully booked to capacity or over booked on this date. With regard to your comments about the... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have now eaten here a couple of times and I won't be back. The food is fine but not worth the prices. The service is uneven and random. There is not one factor that would make you think this is really worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CUpton1, Manager at O'Connell St Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Dennis J We're sorry to hear that you won't return to O'Connell Street Bistro as you feel that the restaurant doesn't have one factor to make visting worthwhile. We had tried to contact you to investigate your comments & to find out when you dined, but sadly you have chosen not to respond. Whilst we do not like to... More

Travelers who viewed O'Connell St Bistro also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland Region
Auckland Central, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Central, Auckland Region
Auckland Central, Auckland Region
 

Been to O'Connell St Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connell St Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing