We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant

Corner Clarendon and Whiteman Streets | South Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3205, Australia (Southbank)
3 9696 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,997 restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $101
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    981
    352
    56
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 NEW

To do! Food is good, wine as much as you can drink, ambiance cool, waitress pro. Nice ride around Melbourne. 2 30 minutes to 3 hours of pleasure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 NEW

We had some English visitors for the day back in February, and decided to take them on the Tram car restaurant for something different. It was a great experience. The staff were funny (as in ha ha) and really created a good mood. The food was above expectations. It was really very good, and they catered to their strengths and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

Booked with two friends for the Christmas in July service. Everything worked so smoothly - initially this trip was booked out and we booked for the usual service however we wait listed and soon we were booked into the Chjristmas extravaganza. Check in at the stop with friendly staff - our maitre de Joe recognised me from 15 years ago... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Charlie – it’s so great to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us for Christmas in July! We certainly strive to provide a special service for it so we’re very glad to know that it was well received. I have passed your message on to Joe, Rita, and Bec, who I’m sure will be delighted to... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

My friend and I booked the early dinner and really enjoyed the experience right from when we were welcomed on board and introduced to the crew. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was 1st class and although we were on a strict timeline, never felt rushed. Thank you to Dot (chef), Peter & Tim for a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

After booking two months earlier, my dad and i finally boarded the Tramcar for lunch on a wet and dreary Melbourne day. The day outside did not reflect the fun we had as we travelled through the streets of Melbourne. The service was very special and the food and wine was plentiful and absolutely beautiful. It's great value for money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review! We’re so glad to have been able to provide you with a pleasant escape from the rainy Melbourne day outside. Hopefully we will have that opportunity again soon! More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

The Staff were fantastic ,thanks Ari /chef ,Joe and Katrina ,the meal was so yummy , such a relaxing afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

The staff were friendly attentive and polite.could not do enough to make your experience memorable and unique.the food was ok.more choice of veggies with main meal.the scalloped potatoes were a little dry. Drinks were very generous.overall a great night.robyn martin

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW via mobile

We had the late dinner seating. The food was delicious and there was lots of it. You want to go in hungry and don't fill up on the starters, although the dips were yummy. After this there was an entre which was a choice of duck turine or salmon avocado mouse, either choice is good. The mains were tasty -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Sasha, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time, it’s always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves. It sounds like the tram, food, wine, and staff were able to create an enjoyable night for you, which is also great to hear. We hope to be able to welcome you on board again... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hubby took me here for dinner. It was great experience. The food is OK, but the experience made the food tastes way better. Service was great. Will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bicheno, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were so disappointed that we missed our tram car experience due to our flight being delayed. We just wanted to thank the staff for the very helpful way that they stayed in touch with us and resold our seats so that we were able to get a refund. They could have resold the seats and still charged us. Thanks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this review

I’m sorry that your flight delay caused you to miss your Tramcar experience with us. I’m glad to hear that we were able to re-sell your seats and refund you. Hopefully we’ll be welcoming you on board with us on your next trip to Melbourne! More

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing