We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Becco

11-25 Crossley St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
03-9663-3000
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #174 of 3,887 restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: European, Italian, Mediterranean
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    42
    35
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one of our favourite Melbourne restaurants. A great warm atmosphere with excellent service and the food. A bit tricky to find so use the Trip Advisor map, or google maps. The food is always a winner. We love the calamari, beef carpaccio and I cannot the resist the spaghetti meatballs. A great wine list to pick from. Highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Becco's several times for dinner, as a couple or with friends and I even had a (big) birthday in their pantry table private room so I have expectations of the place. But I had never been to Becco's as a business dinner venue, and they did not disappoint! The food is always excellent, tick The service,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After an eventful trip trying to get to Becca with the the city tram leaving us stranded and then city streets closed for White Night we arrived exhausted and were pleasantly surprised by the attentive staff, great food and atmosphere. The walk was definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Personal service by the owner. Meals to the highest standard and atmosphere fantastic. Highly recommend to all family, friends, colleagues & visitors for a special yet exclusively melbourne night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were recommended here by our concierge but were very disappointed. Our food took so long to arrive we had drunk all our wine and were ravenous. Our mains were all very good but evening spoilt by our waiter who was intrusive and arrogant. It was expensive too but we wouldn't have minded that if service had been better. Shame... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
minoshart, Manager at Becco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Pfromshipston, I must apologise for your experience at Becco. That evening we had a few technical problems in our kitchen. Our Bain Marie and microwave oven went on the blink. To solve this we got some chefs in and they had to cook the food to order which is very inconvenient for a restaurant as am I sure... More

Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Beautiful food , outstanding service ,Five Star Chef,s what more can I say its Melbourne after all , I will be returning on my next visit to Melbourne

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Proficient and helpful service, the clientele was mainly men in suits at a week day lunch. A great wine list, we were able to sample a grappa to finish and the open kitchen adds interest. The zucchini flowers to start were not as impressive as the crab linguine, but the really outstanding dish was the duck risotto, rich and flavorsome,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked Beeco in Crossley Lane as it was close to the Theatre we were going to see a show at. So a fairly early start to the evening at 6:15pm. Obviously not a lot of people there at that time but it didn't detract from the experience. Both of us had the Duck Risotto after a Bruschetta entre. We could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having dined at Becco's for the second time this year, I can't believe that I have not yet reviewed it! This is one of Melbourne's hidden gems. I have been here a few times over the years and it has been impressive every single time. On Saturday I took my wife to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary and it did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Becco was packed when we dined there for lunch this week. We were warmly welcomed and the service from beginning to end was excellent however the food was a total disappointment. Although the presentation was good, in fact quite stunning, the taste and flavours were just not there. Chilli Salt & Pepper Calamari tasted just like deep fried tissue paper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
minoshart, Owner at Becco, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the food. However there is a few points that I must pick up on. You waited an hour for desserts because it took you 45 mins to order after several approaches from the staff. Your bill had a food content of $307 the rest was alcohol which included 3... More

Travelers who viewed Becco also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Becco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing