We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maha

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
21 Bond Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
0396295900
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 666 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 444
    Excellent
  • 140
    Very good
  • 49
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great food, service and atmosphere....but..........

Sunday was our third time to Maha. Our first time back since the renos, and we had the usual 5 course lunch. For some reason there seemed to be something missing. The back bread should be renamed the minature hockey puck, it was so hard. Overall we enjoyed the experience, but may wait a while... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
Steven Z
,
Melbourne, Australia
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

Sunday was our third time to Maha. Our first time back since the renos, and we had the usual 5 course lunch. For some reason there seemed to be something missing. The back bread should be renamed the minature hockey puck, it was so hard. Overall we enjoyed the experience, but may wait a while before we return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
aust
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

If you love food you will love Ma Ha. Sunday lunch at this restraurant was a great culinary experience, ever morsel was full of flavour, every dish was beautiful presented and cooked to perfection. The Sunday set menu is a great way to enjoy fantastic food with a group of friends. My only critisism of Ma Ha was that on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

The food was honestly such an incredible disappointment. We ordered the 5 course selection with paired wines and we had food envy from the tables next to us who'd ordered the four course. The first course the confit chicken had so much onion in it that it was inedible. The second course of duck and black garlic mayo honestly felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Treated myself to lunch at Maha. Had the tasting menu which was much offered so much food I was blown away. The quality of food was great as always. The eel soup was a tasty opening to the course. Soup poured at the table for you to blend the flavours together. The wagyu brisket was so soft and went very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Although this is not really Moroccan more Middle East it does remind me of Marrakesh. The furnishings are Moroccan style and the fitout was of architectural interest. The food is fabulous, the last time we went there was to celebrate the end of the University year. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to dietary needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Food was absolutely amazing. We selected the five course with matching wines. We had plenty of food. Staff were fantastic. I would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review, Kate! Great to read that it was an amazing experience and that you'd return. We look forward to it! Cheers Shane More 

London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Disappointing experience. Maha had been high on my list of restaurants to try in Melbourne, and it came nowhere near its competitors once I managed to experience it. Our welcome was friendly and professional, though the general ambience was uninspired. You're presented with pretty tacky pop music in the background throughout and the lighting, seating and set up does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review

Hi Rick I'm am deeply sorry my team and I were unable to deliver you the experience so many of our diners experience at Maha. In regards to fit out and music, I will put that down to personal taste and style. All we can do is try and please as many people as possible but I do know we... More 

meaganl78
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

A repeat interstate visitor to this Middle eastern gem. Certainly not a disappointment. Cocktail menu is divine. Food menu is a series of tasting/degustation menus so don't eat lunch ! A bounty of tasty middle eastern delights that just keep coming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review

Hi Meagan Big thanks for your continued support whenever you're in town! Great to have you dine with us again recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Shane More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We had a delicious meal and loved every bite. We had the 4 course spice menu and were not disappointed. The service was also outstanding. Hope we can return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review

Hi Likev13 Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am always happy to read that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their Maha experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Shane More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

My friends and myself had an absolutely amazing dinner at Maha last night. We had an amazing time! I just wanted to take a moment and commend your excellent staff on their attention to detail and outstanding service. Not too mention the delicious food that was served to us. Every course made our mouths water and we're excited for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review

Hi Vallia I'm humbled to read that you had such an amazing time at Maha that you have already rebooked! Awesome, thank you. I will definitely be sharing your kind words with the team and we look forward to taking are of you once again when you next visit. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Shane More 

Travelers who viewed Maha also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Maha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maha

Address: 21 Bond Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number: 0396295900
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 23 - 47
Cuisine: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 21 Bond Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne
  • Phone Number: 0396295900

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 23 - 47
  • Cuisine: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maha staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?