We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Drunken Admiral

17-19 Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+61 3 6234 1903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 445 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: One of Hobart's iconic restaurants and is popular with both locals and visitors to Hobart alike. We are a family run restaurant and we have been operating since 1979 offering the diner a truly unique experience and very fresh and tasty Tassie seafood and meals. The restaurant is world renowned, features in many global travel guides and is always popular – so reservations are advised! Open 7 days a week with parking out front.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    167
    186
    83
    51
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Very interesting interior and good, fresh food. May sure you make a booking. We had to wait for an hour for a table and it was mid week. Service was good. Food was interesting. Good wine list. Staff were nice but could have been nicer. Overall experience was good. I have dined here a few times and I think I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

Loved the decor of this place. There are so many interesting bits and pieces of maritime memorabilia hanging from the ceilings and walls which makes for an interesting night out. I ordered the seafood platter which was really good but not great. Still it was well worth the dining experience and would definately come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We came here for our wedding anniversary dinner on the reccommendation of the hotel. No reservation but only a 20min wait on a Friday night. We were seated at the bar for drinks while we waited for a table and that gave us time to look around and enjoy the weird and wonderful decor of the restaurant. I was especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mooroolbark, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a quaint restaurant. Loved all the bits and pieces around to look at, was very interesting. The staff were good and the food was wonderful. we had a great night, but would advise to book in advance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Caught up with some family at the Drunken Admiral and had a great night on our visit to Hobart. I was expecting all battered fatty seafood, but was pleasantly surprised. I opted for the mixed grill and savoured every mouthful. Great location, quirky atmosphere and a fun family friendly place to dine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

With its quirky surrounds, friendly & prompt service and sensational food, this is a must visit seafood restaurant! If only we had had more nights in Hobart to actually book a table in one of their cosy seating areas. However eating at the bar proved to be both entertaining & delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We walked in to the Drunken Admiral without a booking and were pleased to be seated quickly on a Sunday night, however me may have needed to book on a Friday or Saturday night. The staff here are very knowledgable and assisted us to choose our meals which were served quickly and were extremely tasty. I had the mixed grill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NicG80, Manager at Drunken Admiral, responded to this review

We always endeavour to look after everyone that walks through our door, we are happy to have been able to accommodate you on Sunday. Thank you for visiting, we hope to see you again. More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Well known as a venue that everyone visiting Hobart MUST visit, we were not disappointed. What a great atmosphere from the ol' sailing days! But it is more of a restaurant than a pub, so one goes for a seafood eating experience rather than a pub visit. Attentive staff, good quality and quantity and presentation, but somewhat pricey by all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicG80, Manager at Drunken Admiral, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had an amazing experience, the prices are very good considering the size of meals and high quality of fresh seafood. Fresh seafood chowder was perfect. Amazing dining and museum like fittings inside like dining on a real ship✌️ Thanks team and thank you management

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicG80, Manager at Drunken Admiral, responded to this review

You are welcome. We will pass onto the Drunken Admiral team. Thank you. More

Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our daughter booked us in to this restaurant as a thank you for help for her wedding. The sea food is amazing. It is located right near the waterfront in Hobart. We had the "Sydney to Hobart" and could not finish it. Each morsel was fresh and top class. We had a fantastic night and would thoroughly recommend the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicG80, Manager at Drunken Admiral, responded to this review

We are happy you had an enjoyable evening. We do pride ourselves on our fresh seafood. Thank you for dining with us. More

Travelers who viewed Drunken Admiral also viewed

 

Been to Drunken Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drunken Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing