We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 419 Cairns Restaurants

Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill

Marlin Pde, 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4052 6780
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 419 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $0 - $92
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    95
    47
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This is next to the water, and part of the Hilton. The setting is gorgeous. Service is quick. Food is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Sharon A Thnak you very much for your review on tripadvisor, i am very glad that you enjoyed your meal, the service and the atmosphere at Mondo Cafe Bar and Grill. I hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to far north queensland. Kind Regards More

Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Had lunch with friends visiting from Sydney. The location is fantastic - out door tables right on the water with stunning views of East Trinity & the mountains beyond. The food was good. Had the whole Baby Barramundi which was quite a large meal - with chips & salad. Another had the Wagyu Beef and was impressed. Beautiful Barramundi Spring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Pantherboy Thank you very much for reviewing us via tripadvisor, i am very glad to read that we exceeded your expectations regarding food, friendly service and atmosphere. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the entire team. Kind Regards More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I just ate here and ordered the chilli prawn linguine. The linguine tasted like my daughters child meal of pasta with tomato sauce. We arrived at 6.30 and as we sat down the host explained the table had a booking for 7.30. When we ordered the food after queuing up we were told the food would take at least 40... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

.Dear Gerard H Thank you very much for the quick feedback via trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the Chilli Prawn Linguini, it is one of the most popular dishes at Mondo and always receives great feedback from guests. I clearly explained that the table I offered you and your family will be required by... More

Northern NSW, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Poor service, I hate having to go to a bar to order. Poor quality and very expensive. The vegetarian Lasagne was just grated carrot between layers of lasagne - revolting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Peter K Thank you very much for reviewing us via trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations. When guests are seated we inform them immediately that beverage and food orders need to be placed at the counter to avoid any confusion. Regarding your comments about the food I can assure you that carrots... More

Forster, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Had to eat at this Cafe as we got a 'meal deal' with the holiday package. Would have only eaten there once but we had to keep going back (5 times) to use our meal deal. The food was only average and did not improve on any other visit. The location is very nice and the staff were friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Walsan 811 Thank you very much for taking the time to review us via trip advisor, thank you for mentioning the friendly service you received and I am sorry that you didnt enjoy the meals, your comments will be communicated with the kitchen team. regards More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Great place to eat. The meals were delicious, with very generous sized portions. We had the Vegetarian Masala, Fajitas and Daging Rendang. All very unique meals and good value considering the amount of food. A friend joined us late and we told him not to order anything as there was so much food! It was also great to have live... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Kelly D Thank you very much for reviewing us on trip advisor, i am very happy to read that you enjoyed your meal, the service and the atmosphere at Mondo. We do offer live entertainment 3 times a week, every Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future, regards More

Bega, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Food ok for a mass production establishment. It you're looking for something special this is not the place. We enjoyed the outdoor experience and life music and the kids had room to move about. Service was next to none existent. Had to request our table be cleared on two occasions so the next course could fit. No table service for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear justretired617 Thank you very much for reviewing Mondo cafe Bar and Grill via tripadvisor, i hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to far north queensland. regards More

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

The food was great. Very quick to bring the food although slow to clear the table. I had pork ribs - yum. My husband had lamb souvlaki - yummier...although it should have been called "Lamb Souvlaki De-constructed" as it was a very interesting take on the old souvlaki!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Robyn G Thank you very much for reviewing us via trip advisor, i am pleased to read that you enjoyed the meals at Mondo Cafe Bar and Grill and hope we can welcome you back soon. Regards More

Adelaide
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Had a late lunch at Mondo one day while visiting Cairns. The setting right near the marina was terrific and there is a lot of out door seating, making it a pleasant experience. However, the food was reasonably expensive and for what you received (quantity wise) a little steep. The food we received was nice enough - just not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear ozvpm_andy Thank you very much for taking the time to review Mondo Cafe Bar and Grill via tripadvisor, i hope we can welcome you back in the future. regards More

Adelaide Sa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

It's so nice to sit at a table outside in the warm air & enjoy their nice views & wonderful food. The steaks were so good my husband had one four nights in a row! The size of the meals & prices were really good value. Staff were also very efficient & friendly. Why would you go anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, Manager at Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Adelaide Sa Thank you very much for taking the time to review us via tripadvisor,I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the meals,service and atmosphere at Mondo Cafe Bar and Grill, we are certainly blessed here in Far North Queensland with the beautyful weather and scenerie. Regards More

Travelers who viewed Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing