We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Overlanders Steakhouse

72 Hartley Street, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
61 8 8952 2159
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 67 restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    35
    41
    39
    27
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Firstly, the Drover's blowout which doesnt seem to have a price anywhere, was $75pp. For that you get a small tasting entree with kangaroo, emu, camel and crocodile cuts about palm size, a soup, a choice of either barramundi (fish) or steak, dampa bread, and desert. We opted to order a-la-carte as slightly better value: the tasting platter (~$30), barra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne K, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your insights relating to the Drovers Blowout. Firstly the price (currently $75.00 per person) can fluctuate as the choice of 'bush meats' are regularly subject to both availability and price changes - just as prices regularly change at the local supermarket. However, Kangaroo, Camel, & Buffalo meats are 'wild-caught' and 'mustering' of these animals are subject to... More

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

The reputation of the restaurant is more impressive than the actual quality. We were a bit afraid to order the Drovers Blowout ($75) as it seemed to be a lot of food. It is a lot, but it isn't nearly as much as it seems. After soup and bread, you get a tasting platter with your non-common meats. The crocodile... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne K, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you and congratulations for being one of a select few Australians who have had the opportunity to 'partake' in true Australian Tucker. When available, Crocodile, Camel,, Emu and Kangaroo meats all have different tastes, textures, and 'qualities'. Over many years, and like many of the world's great cuisines, our Chefs have experimented to 'bring' the most out of the... More

Olhao, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

We went on a family trip in australia, this was one of the placas that we eat. It's too expensive, over 200$, for 4 people and the only thing that was really good was the kangoroo beef. Also doesn't haver wi-fi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Don't bother to go here! The only good thing about our experience was the very tasty and tender filet mignon. BUT the prices are far too high for what is provided. The wait staff appear to be foreign students on working (?) visas and management oversight was non-existent. We also arrived early and were the second table to be seated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne K, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your meaningful thoughts and overview. We are excited that (at least) your Fillet Mignon' was "very tasty and tender"!!! Please be advised that we take the issues raised in your review in a serious and constructive manner. Yes, it's sad that often we have employ staff members from other Countries. Whilst it is of little consolation, two... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We wish we had read these reviews first. Believe every one of the bad reviews guys! This place is hopeless and sucking people in with its gimmick 'Aussie' style. Very disappointing as we wanted to take our kids there for a fun night out before ending our holiday. Food was average. Roo cooked well but drowned with weird sauce and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne K, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. We wish to confirm that your comments relating to the reprehensible attitude and comments from a (very) rough diamond has lead to her demise. We do not tolerate such commentary. Sadly, our very capable Manager (Ben) was not made aware of the problems relating to either the poor beverage service nor the comments made... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We deliberately arrived early at this restaurant so as to try to beat the rush as we were tired after over a week of travelling. Our main meals arrived promptly, were as we ordered, and the food was tasty and well cooked. Unfortunately, at this point things went downhill. It took over 30 minutes for our finished plates to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne K, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can but apologise for the deficiencies experienced later in the evening which have been clearly identified in your communications. Your feed-back allows our Management Team to urgently address the breakdown in 'systems' that have sadly occurred from our 'Engine Room'. Thank you again. More

Darwin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Came here, greeted by rude staff. Food was not as I asked, awful place. Also over priced. Some of the people that work here should not work in hospitality, I didn't feel welcome. Even if the food was upto scratch, which itwasnt, I wouldn't come here as the experience was just horrible. Not even looking for a apology, I just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne K, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this review

Our Management Team are both shocked and saddened to read your report of your less-than-satisfactory dining experience here at the Overlanders Steakhouse. We are hoping that you are able to communicate with us in a direct manner via email (sth@overlanders.com.au) in order that we may isolate (and therefore counsel and re-train) the staff member(s) involved. Please include the date, approximate... More

brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A bit noisy and crowded the night we were there but the food is great. the crocodile sausages were interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a wonderful night ;having my husband ordered 1kg of steak as i'm having just a small portion of 150g.of steak.So funny that next table to us who were German tourist were amazed to see a huge steak and they asked permission for a photo shot.Not knowing my husband was laughing his head off 'coz he understand what the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a group menu with choice of rump steak, barramundi or Tucker Bag consisting of sausage made out of croc, camel, emu and Roo. The sausages were the hit and the rump was cooked to perfection. Will be going back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Overlanders Steakhouse also viewed

 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Overlanders Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overlanders Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing