We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nick's Seafood Restaurant

$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Promenade, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia
1300 989 989
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Large groups
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Scenic view

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 657 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 172
    Excellent
  • 227
    Very good
  • 131
    Average
  • 76
    Poor
  • 51
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Steak and Fireworks

My wife and I were at Nick's on Saturday, April 18. We were seated at 7PM and had a nice leisurely dinner. We both had steak, I can't eat seafood and my wife wanted a change, and we both enjoyed dinner. The steaks were a little bit fatty, but very tasty. Service was good, the cheesecake dessert... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 19, 2015
cdndave1951
,
Calgary, Alberta
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW via mobile

We were shocked by the terrible service, the high price and the bad food. We ordered Lobster, the Lobster was not fresh and probably cooked days before, it was very cold and with many pieces missing despite we order $200 of entire lobster (officially it should to be 1,5 kilo, but we strongly doubt it). We ordered $50 bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

My wife and I were at Nick's on Saturday, April 18. We were seated at 7PM and had a nice leisurely dinner. We both had steak, I can't eat seafood and my wife wanted a change, and we both enjoyed dinner. The steaks were a little bit fatty, but very tasty. Service was good, the cheesecake dessert was delicious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ecuador
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 NEW

I walked the entire bay trying to find a seafood restaurant . Some had a few dishes and only this Nick's was truly dedicated to seafood (another Nick's near the northern end has all types of dishes including some seafood). Menu is quite good, prices understandably a bit high. All seafood is evidently fresh and we'll prepared. Waiters and well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Have popped into Nick's café a couple of times whilst walking around the harbour. The food is significantly cheaper than the main restaurant next door yet you get the same stunning view. Whilst the menu is pretty limited and the food looks dodgy it tastes really good for the price. This time around I tried the chicken roll (like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW via mobile

I ate hear with a few friends on an evening where the place was packed. We had a great view of the harbor. The prawns were great! One friend ordered a seafood platter and was disappointed that it was fried & they actually took it off the bill which was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 NEW via mobile

I had heard so much about nicks seafood restaurant especially there seafood platter for two but I when I had gone there myself with my husband for our wedding anniversary. And experienced it for my self I was hoping to have a big seafood platter that would take my breath away!! I and my husband are big seafood lovers. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Been here on many occasions for both lunch and dinner. Sometimes the food and service is excellent and when thy get really busy it just seems to fall apart. Pick your time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springwood, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

My wife and I were given a voucher for Christmas. After much deliberation we decided to use it for lunch at Nicks Seafood Restaurant at Sydney's Darling Harbour. The one regret we both had was that we had breakfast that morning. The lunch was a 3 course set menu with wine. The first course consisted of oysters, prawns, calamari, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

First of all our waiter, the location and venue were great but that is where it end. We have the hot and cold seafood plater for two. The mussels had not been de-bearded and the two out of five that I tried had broken fragments of shell in them. The blue swimmer crab when you picked it up had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Grace We are so sorry to hear that you left disappointed. I have passed on all of your comments to our kitchen Team and I can assure you that they are taken very seriously. We pride ourselves on our fresh and high quality product and attention to detail when it comes to our presentation. I do hope you return... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We went for breakfast on a Saturday morning. Waited 35 minutes for a coffee and at that point the food hadn't come either. When we told the waitress we were leaving and no longer wanted our, obviously, uncooked order she told the host that we were leaving and he tried to demand that we still paid. Don't waste your time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear blakeherbert I apologise for what occurred. You were obviously in our Nicks 103 café. You should not have had to wait so long and our Host should not have approached you to pay when you were leaving without consuming anything with us. Understandably you were frustrated. I have gone through you feedback with the café Team and I thank... More 

Travelers who viewed Nick's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nick's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Promenade, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney
  • Phone Number: 1300 989 989

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 150
  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nick's Seafood Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?