We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nick's Seafood Restaurant

The Promenade, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia (City Centre)
1300 989 989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #754 of 5,211 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    131
    159
    90
    57
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW

Worst seafood in Sydney. Over priced rubbish. Don't bother eating at Nick's Seafood Restaurant there are plenty of better restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

We had a Fishermans Basket and it was fantastic although we were unable to eat all the chips because of the amount of seafood in the dish. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. Would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australian in New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

I was so disappointed in my meal here. I paid a ridiculous amount of money for a piece of barramundi, cooked to death, on a plate. No presentation, no lovely vegetables or anything. I felt it was very geared to the tourist market so I hope people don't leave thinking this is what Australian Fine Dining looks like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

We ordered mixed seafood, all the pieces was so fresh and tasty. The dressing of the plate was charming. Service people was friendly and smiling like other Australians on the street. Even you are sad there is always something to make you smile at the Darling Harbor especially durıng the sunset. Thanks for the delicious food and friendly approach to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great steaks but they were served on a cold dish and as such the whole meal was cold within minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is the 3rd time I've been to this restaurant & I must say I was disappointed in the service. When we were seated the waiter didn't come near us for at least 10minutes, there was no offered any drinks prior to that. When he did take our order the food was served within about 5minutes. You were no way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear NiceyG We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your previous experience at Nick's! We are pleased however to know that our chef catered to your needs and surpassed your expectations… We value our guests and their feedback and we hope to see you here again at Nick's. Best Regards Nick's Seafood Restaurant Management More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Friday night Darling Harbour what better than to be sitting in a good seafood restaurant close to the action. The rock oysters were a great starter followed by the the baby squid, with chips. The squid was a little on the chewy side but tasty. They then threw in a dessert at no additional cost and the fruit salad with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coonawarra Wine Region, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Nick's is what I would call an institution....but this one works just fine....honest food, not very sophisticated, but delicious....attentive service, good wine recommendation, very fluent service, didn't feel rushed nor waited for anything. Great views of the Harbour, in spite of the rain:) we can't wait to go back. Special thanks to the staff at Radisson Hotel for recommending the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Probably a good idea if the chef was to leave and start up elsewhere, as I don't believe this place will ever get its act together on the service. Set a record first for me - I've never waited more than two hours for a meal in my lifetime. It quickly became a joke - every time we complained, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear WalkersWA We apologise for the below standard experience you had with us. This kind of service is not usual here and your comments are valued. It was obviously an extremely busy service, but this is no excuse for us failing to deliver. We do hope you return. Sincere apologies from our Management Team Best Regards Nick's Seafood Management More

Penang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Visited this establishment last week with business clients,and was looking forward to the lobster.Ordered an double espresso first and when it came I took a sip and felt what seemed like a sugar stick and when i gently pulled it out if my mouth found a straight piece of glass with a sharp end in my mouth.I called the manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mohammed P This was an extremely unfortunate incident, and something that we have never seen in this restaurant. Rightfully so, this is very upsetting and again we apologise. We have gone through our records of the incident and have found that you were offered a $92.00 discount on your bill as an apology from us. It is sometimes difficult... More

Travelers who viewed Nick's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nick's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing